Ratings based on 1,289 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Nice pool but rooms were troublesome

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Clean property with great staff and a fantastic pool. Decent food selection. HOWEVER, experience was soured by rooms. Stayed for 3 days. First night had extremely noisy neighbors who showed up at 3am, woke the baby, and then proceeded to complain (screaming through the wall) about baby not letting them sleep at 8am. That was passable but the worst part of the stay was we were switched into a room the second day that was JUST painted that morning. We didn't think much of it at the time as we spent the day outside in the resort. However, at night the paint fumes were still extremely strong to the extent both of us got major headaches, baby was sleeping but seemed restless. We called receiption at 11pm to be moved into another room for the night. While they were able to arrange another room, they insisted we needed to pack up all of our stuff at 11pm, wake the baby to move the crib and all. We found it a bit ridiculous that we could not merely just sleep in another room for the night. At checkout the next day, no mention of the room issue or offer of anything. Very disappointed by that. I would not recommend this resort again. P.s. Beach was also not insipiring but gave the property a pass as the hurricane that just passed may have played a part in that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Wenny, eConcierge, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide us with your candid review. We deeply regret your disappointing experience, and would like to extend our sincerest apology for the issues encountered within your rooms – this is certainly not our standard. Nonetheless, we hope you can accord us at some point in the future a renewed opportunity to deliver a better stay. Warm Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Tired, Run-down hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Poorly maintained hotel with uncaring and poor management and higher management staff with very poor attitude. They DO NOT CARE about their guests and service in restaurants is worst than 1 star when the hotel gets busy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Wenny, eConcierge, Hotel Management
Dear Honey, Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review us. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us to identify our highs and lows, and for that, we are most grateful. We have passed your remarks on to our management team, as we believe there is always space for improvement, and we hope you can grant us at some point in the future a renewed opportunity to turn this experience around. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from voorhees, nj

Excellente!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Just returned from 8 days at Dreams Punta Cana. Beautiful property with natural plants and animals, gorgeous beach and excellent staff! No major issues. Some propane smoke on two evenings but that came from another property. Also some minor stomach trouble but this is to be expected in the DR. Loved our stay and would recommend it and would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa as your wedding destination, and for your review. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are thrilled to confirmed you enjoyed everything that we have to offered. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Nightmare at Dreams, management unresponsive

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: not much
Cons: everything, especially door security
Start from check in process tried to push us timeshare sales push to go breakfast we said not interested but kept pushing about 20-30min.It was unpleasant from beginning.Restaurant quality was just okay, All over experience was BAD, I could have left resort but didn't because we were there for wedding at Dreams. A drunk guest violently banged and kicked the door basted open just like this….I was very scared because the door shouldn't open like this at all, door frame wasn't secured to the wall. We packed moved to another room after 45min, even so I couldn't sleep because of horror incident. New room had broken chain lock. I was expecting some follow up from resort manager by the morning, I stopped preferred guest service after breakfast. Surprisingly they know nothing about last night incident and offered nothing to our scary experience and inconvenience. Manager said I will check in tomorrow, hear nothing.This is absolutely unacceptable very poor customer service. Didn't pick up bags when scheduled waited 30+ min almost late for depating flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Dear Michelle. On behalf of the entire management team at Dreams Punta Cana Resorts & Spa, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the scary experience you had that night. Unfortunately, even though we have rules, we cannot always control guests when they been drinking, and for that we are sorry. We also apologize if you felt that the way our staff handle the situation was not the correct one. Our goal is to make sure that each and every one of our guest are fully satisfied and feel safe, so we apologize to have given the wrong impression this time around. We have also forward your comments to the correct department for proper follow and to take the corrective measure to prevent this from happening again in the future. According to our records and the report made by our Night Manager, you were provided an upgrade to a Honeymoon Suite as compensation and gesture of good will. We are sorry no one followed up on this the next morning. We will reinforce our customer service standards in our next training sessions. As service oriented company, we truly hope that this have not ruin your vacations we us and hope to host you again soon to show you we are worth it of your patronage. We remain at your service. Respectfuly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Ristorante Portofino
Cons: More dominican typical food
Location: Great near everything
Good experience overal, very please with the staff, the long swim pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Dear Manny, Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa as your wedding destination, and for your review. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are thrilled to confirm that you were satisfied with our service, dining options and luxury amenities. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Ok but disappointing

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Spa - was very nice and massage was amazing! I was so relaxed that I think I may have even fallen asleep. Ask for Dolores, she was very good.
Cons: There were no Spanish food restaurants on the grounds which was very disappointing. Also, there were vendors harassing people to buy stuff at night
Location: Location is about 40mins from airport and most excursions. Wish we would have gone closer to the airport
Hotel is dated, we were in building 2 on the 3rd floor. Our rooms air conditioning did not work properly. After, asking he hotel 3x to fix it, it worked well for one night and went back to not working well. Overall, there isn't escape from the heat on the resort. Even the lobby area has no AC. The bathtub isn't covered well with a curtain or door. Every time we showered we got water on the bath room floor causing us to sleep multiple times. We would use towels to dry it up but then had to ask everyday for extra towels. Beach was disappointing, I can't fault the hotel for this. Beach had tons of seaweed to the point where they had trucks on the beach trying to clean it up. Staff was friendly for the most part. Some were amazing while others couldn't be bothered. Even when I spoke to them in Spanish they pretended to not understand me. Entertainment - from the pool to the nightly shows, the hotel does what we they can to entertain you and they succeed. Grounds were nicely landscaped and the flamingos by the pool area were very beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Dear Lin, Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are glad to confirm that you were satisfied with our beautiful grounds, food offerings and evening entertainment. However, we regret that our accommodations and service have disappointed you instead. As a service-oriented company, we always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations, so we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Nonetheless, we have passed your remarks on to our management team, as we believe there is always space for improvement. That being said, we hope you can join us again in a not too distant future so we can deliver a remarkable vacation. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from staten island, ny

Nice hotel for families.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The teen zone. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and house a number of beautiful wildlife animals. the buffet and specialty restaurants.
Cons: The lighting in the bathroom is dim. Rooms are a bit small.
Location: Good location.The hotel is about a half hour ride to the airport. We we did an excursion in Bavaro which was a pleasant ride of 30 minutes into town.
We had a pleasurable stay at this hotel. The check in staff was helpful in finding us adjoining rooms for our party of five. However, we got a room on the third floor of building 4. There are no elevators in the buildings so we did a lot of walking since we often went back to our rooms several times a day. if you don't mind walking it's not an issue. My mother wasn't happy about the amount of walking that we had to do but since the grounds of the hotel are so beautiful the rest of us didn't mind as much. I would have preferred however, a pool view room closer the the beach. We had a tropical view which offered beautiful views of the grounds but if you want to be closer to all the action a pool view is worth the upgrade. .. the hotel is ideal for families who enjoy keeping active and entertained. There is something for everyone. I have two teen girls and the teen zone was a great place to play pool, ping pong, archery, rock climbing, video games tennis, and lots more. The nightly entertainment was great. A different show every night that really entertained. We felt that we rarely sat around waiting for something to do. The staff at the hotel all work very hard to keep guests happy. Some workers that stood out were our house keeper Angela. I don't think we've ever had a better maid service, ever! The whole entertainment staff were great and constantly making sure that guests are happy without being too pushy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Hello Rosemarie, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your review. We are delighted to learn that you had an amazing time with and us and were very much satisfied with the service provided in general by the staff and everything that our resort has to offer. It has been a pleasure to host you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

Wedding

Posted Aug 23, 2017
They really pushed their unlimited brand vacation club i.e. Time share pitch when checking in. Took forever to just get to room. Our door was kicked in Sat night by drunk guest. Move us but no one followed up or apologized or offered us a free massage for ordeal etc. Check out was a mess they didn't pick up luggage as scheduled so our driver and us had to waut an additional 25 min to leave. Kept asking for checkout card which they had. Very unorganized. Food was average at best. Only highlight was preferred club for drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf of the entire management team at Dreams Punta Cana Resorts & Spa, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the scary experience you had that night. Unfortunately, even though we have rules, we cannot always control guests when they been drinking, and for that we are sorry. We also apologize if you felt that the way our staff handle the situation was not the correct one. Our goal is to make sure that each and every one of our guest are fully satisfied and feel safe, so we apologize to have given the wrong impression this time around. We have also forward your comments to the correct department for proper follow and to take the corrective measure to prevent this from happening again in the future. According to our records and the report made by our Night Manager, you were provided an upgrade to a Honeymoon Suite as compensation and gesture of good will. We are sorry no one followed up on this the next morning. We will reinforce our customer service standards in our next training sessions. As service oriented company, we truly hope that this have not ruin your vacations we us and hope to host you again soon to show you we are worth it of your patronage. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Needs renovation

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Pool was nice and big. But was very hot
Cons: Staff friendliness and faster check-in
Location: Did not leave resort.
Stayed at this hotel for a wedding. On arrival, there was a long wait line to check-in only to find out that room was not available for another half hour. No AC in any public space. So when you are dressed up for a nice dinner you will be sweating waiting for your food. Staff was rude and did not care to work for an extra tip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Dear Guillermo, Thank you for staying with us and provide us with your review. We regret to learn that you were disappointed in our accommodations and that the service provided was not up to your expectations. Our maintenance department is available 24/7 to resolve any issues encountered within the rooms, we are sorry this was not the case with you. regarding our staff being rude, this is the exact opposite of what we pride ourselves on. We will reinforce our customer service standards in our next training sessions. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and show you we are worth it of your patronage. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, NY

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The food, drinks and the staff were amazingly friendly
Cons: Showers
My family and I had a great time. Food, drinks, staff were great. One small complain and it was not that terrible, please entertain with more bachata, merengue, merengue tipico. I am from New York. I listen to American music all day. When I travel I want to feel the culture and spirit of the island or country I am visiting. I recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Wenny, econcierge., Hotel Management
Hello OJ, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your review. We are delighted to learn that the service provided was ver satisfactory, and that you loved our food options, drinks and our staff. We apologize you were disappointed in our music selection. We have pass your comments to the correct department for proper follow up. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards,