Ratings based on 2,819 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

My beach wedding

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Staff is available, attentive, and friendly. Food is great. Mostly, I ate filet mignon at the French restaurant, giant lobsters at The Grill, or room service. I spent much time in the spacious pool (probably the size of three olympic pools stretched into a nice tropical design with a bridge, break water, bar, volley ball area, etc). Liquor is everywhere (in the pool, in the room, everywhere) I got lucky playing roulette in the small casino. I had my wedding here. The photography staff was PERFECT, so was the cake, beach wedding, and wedding planner. Get the wedding video if there is money left. Take a taxi from the airport to the hotel and back to the airport when your trip is over. It's $70 one way. This is much more affordable and headache free than rental car process. 10 day rental was $480 and very complicated considering some D.R. car insurance rules. If you're into getting steamed, chilled, baked, chilled again, rinsed, and tenderized, then try the full couples massage at the spa. Last, buy the Hennessy Pure White, spiced rum, and mango infused in the duty free. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Looks a few years old, but the stay was fantastic!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Biggest concerns being the staff and food quality, my wife and I were very pleased at how attentive and nice everyone was, not to mention how fantastic the food was. We ate at 7 of the 9 restaurants and were delighted at all of them. The resort is further from the airport than most, which was about a 40 minute drive. This created a very quiet and isolated environment that added to the excitement of being on an island. This also provided a very quiet and "empty" beach. I never felt crowded nor did i have to wait in any lines. Towels, chairs, drinks, and food were always readily accessible. I enjoyed the garden, which had flamingos, turkeys, iguanas and beautiful landscaping. The main pool was very large and provided louder areas with music and activities as well as quiet areas for romance and rest. Overall, my wife and I were very satisfied with our trip. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The facility was clean. The food was average at best. The beach was beautiful. Entertainment at night was terrible. Gratuities included but it seemed some of the staff were searching for tips. Although staff was friendly it seemed their friendliness was a bit forced. There was exception though. The reception staff across the board were nice and helpful, as well as the concierge. Also the gentleman who scheduled our return ground transportation was nice and helpful. Our bed was not comfortable. The room was clean and most of the time stocked. The room was a bit dated and needed some updating. Overall, it was a relaxing vacation. I just do not feel the need to return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Food was great. Wifi slow to non existence and service was slow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Wonderful resort!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The resort stay was excellent. The food at the 7 restaurants was superb and the variety nice. Being on the beach was an added luxury. We were out of the room and on the beach within 2 minutes. The resort itself was nice and well laid out. The large open lobby was a great place to relax with a drink and cigar. The staff were wonderful. Warm. friendly, and they worked hard to meet the needs of guests. We plan a return trip in January
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Had a wonderful stay at this hotel, met all my needs and more, if you want active or just lazy then this is the perfect hotel and location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

frustrating experience

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: Hotel managers should hire honest people who do not steal the money that keep guests in the rooms.
Some hotel employee stole my $ 800 dollars. This has been very frustrating, to steal so much money. It was definitely one of the people who go to the room to do cleaning or to verify room. After having a good time and have good attention, see that you have stolen a bad experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Love it!!! True paradise!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This resort is awesome!!! Adults only with 24 hour room service at no extra cost! Doesn't get any better than the friendly staff. The food was great as well!!! I'll definitely be back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The Hotel itself was well laid out but in need of some maintenance. Examples being , Light fixtures porely mounted, jetted bathtub had seen better days and the mattress on the bed felt more like a box spring. The Sandy beaches were well maintained and while the Ocean was amazing to look at it was to rough to do much else then wade in. For us the shining star of this resort was the staff, customer service was some of the best we have experienced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Better than the pictures.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and well kept beautiful grounds.
Cons: The food could be better. Good, but not great.
Location: Locatin is ok. The water around the other side of the island was more calm.
The grounds are beautiful and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The beach is very scenic but the surf was rough. The food is good but not great. I would return to This resort.