Ratings based on 2,950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Posted Dec 6, 2016
One of the best experiences I've ever had in Punta Cana. From the moment we arrived at the resort until the end. The food was incredible! There was a nice variety of restaurants to choose from. The bars were very nice. The rooms were extremely clean and well stocked. All of the staff was overwhelming friendly and made for a very enjoyable stay. I would absolutely return to this resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel and beach. Would go back no hesitation

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Everyone and everything!
Cons: Apart from the rain showers nothing.
Location: Did not have time or energy for trips and with facilitates at hotel we did not miss out
Staff were amazing and nothing was any trouble. Always cheerful food was good with lots of variety there is always something for ever taste. The on site entertainment was the best we've experienced in a long time and did not miss one show. Fabulous time had by all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans,LA

Honeymoon/Vacation paradise

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Awesome staff. Awesome views. All around great time. Can't say enough good things about this place! A must visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not excellent

Posted Dec 2, 2016
we stayed here for our honeymoon and while the staff was nice and the food was good, our experience here was not excellent. First, $300 went missing from our hotel safe and though an investigation was opened, nothing came of it. The excellence honeymoon suite that we were in had plaster falling and leaks in the bathroom and the balcony. The air conditioner was not functioning properly. They offered to switch our room but we would be downgrading with credits applied to our room. We were at an all inclusive with no need to use the credits and we would not be reimbursed for the downgrade. All in all we would not return to this hotel. The people and the island are beautiful and we will probably return... to another hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WATERBURY, United States of America

Beautiful resort located on beach

Posted Dec 1, 2016
We stayed at the resort 7 nights and had rain for 4 days straight. Still had a wonderful time. The staff was exceptionally attentive at all hours of the day. There are several restaurants and bars to choose from day and night. You can do as much or as little as you please.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Paradise. Such a beautiful place.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Excellent hotel. So, so beautiful. Everyone who works there was always smiling and friendly. Restaurants are wonderful. Pool is beyond belief. Beach and pool loungers plentiful and so comfortable. Really enjoyed the evening entertainment. We want to go back!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vi

Average Resort

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Landscape and pool. The spa is very nice.
Cons: Customer service from restaurants. Safety on slip and trip on walkway between buildings when weather is wet.
Location: Resort is about an hour away. Not much to do outside the resort.
Just came back from a week staying at this resort. This is our first time staying at all inclusive resort. The resort looks nice even it is somewhat old. The restaurant staff aren't friendly. Most of the time we have problem in talking to them due to language barrier. The beach is clean but the water is very rough (it's on the Atlantic side). Shows every night are below average due to its terrible theater sound. Walkway between buildings are wet and slippery whenever raining outside. The resort needs to do something about this safety. Someone will trip and fall one day. We upgraded to the club level. We almost had to call service every night to have bottle waters delivered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel BUT TERRIBLE MANAGEMENT

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: HOTEL NICE BUT MANAGER TERRIBLE
Cons: THE MANAGER REPLACED
THE MANAGEMENT AT THIS HOTEL IS BAD DOESNT CARE ABOUT THEIR CLIENTS. NEEDS TO BE REPLACED
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Third time to Excellence Punta Cana

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The staff are amazing.
Cons: The entertainment seemed to cater to the younger crowd. We enjoyed the activities more 6 years ago than the ones this time which did not appeal to us
Location: Excellence is located pretty much away from other facilities but they have a travel people come in everyday who can set you up with activities.
This was our third visit to Excellence Punta Cana and it won't be our last. The staff are the best we've found! The food is wonderful - our favorite is Chez Isabelle for dinner and Las Olas (right on the beach) for lunch (wonderful service by Christian both there and in the evening at Agave (another favorite). The guy who refreshed our in room bar everyday gave us exactly what we requested after we left him a note. Rooms were always clean each day. We enjoyed sitting/drinking at the Cafe Kafe Bar (our favorite). We took along our Yeti cups which the bar staff happily filled with delicious cold drinks and brought them out to us on the beach. It did rain a couple of times but until the last day, we were able to still sit out on the beach. My sister and I enjoyed the free horseback riding one day. Can't wait to go again! Highly recommend this to anyone who wants to be pampered and just chill out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lea, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana once again as your holiday destination, for sharing your experience with all Expedia users and for being a loyal guest to our resort. We are honored to have received such a high rating review from a valuable guest and to know we have met your standards on both your past and present stay. Thank you very much for your amiable words regarding the services and the quality of food encountered. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from Excellence Family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, United States of America

Excellence Punta Cana was Excellente!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The Service from the staff and their genuine friendliness! It was great that is was an adults only.
Cons: More restaurant choices for lunch and breakfast and the beds were just a little to firm.
Location: We were not able to go on our Small group snorkeling cruise due to the rain and there is not much to do close by the hotel.
We could have not asked for a more accommodating staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left they were so welcoming. The activity staff was amazing!! We had a very rainy week, but they worked so hard to keep everyone busy and happy. The biggest disappointment for us was the beach, not very nice water at this time of the year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your getaway destination and recommending us to all Expedia readers. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic time at our resort. We are also thankful for your remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the friendly and attentive services that made your stay so relaxing and enjoyable. We also appreciate your feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you soon and provide you with another excellent stay! Warm regards from Punta Cana!