Ratings based on 2,670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Staff and service
Cons: Food quality
Location: Great beach
Nice hotel, great beach and pools, comfortable rooms, wonderful friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marshfield MA

Beautiful beach & very nice pool areas.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
The beach with the green colored water, palm trees, soft brown sand, and, occasional, waves make my vacation experience at this hotel. The pool areas were very nice also. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby and bar area was also very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syr., N.Y.

Hotel was very nice

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Hotel was very nice and very well kept. Hotel staff , mostly, was warm and welcoming. Some made you feel like you were right at home . The bartenders Omar, Luis and a few others were GREAT!!! Dining hostesses were ummm so-so. Overall, a wonderfull place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Staff is great. They always aim to please, regardless if you tip or not.
Cons: Bed is a little hard.
Location: Took the zip line tour, worth it. Also took the Reef Explorer tour, also worth it.
Second time in this hotel, first was 11 years ago. Service was great then, even better this time around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Friendly staff

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly accommodating staff throughout resort
Cons: Bed mattress is way too hard
Most relaxing trip that we didn't want to leave! We were hoping our flight would get canceled due to snow back home so we had an excuse to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great all adult resort

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Staff, bars
Cons: Just needs a little TLC. Older but well maintained
Location: Very quiet & secluded. Nice shops & activities.
Very nice resort. Needs a little tlc but beautiful. Nice not needing reservations for dinner. Our favorites were The Grill, Lobster House & Oregano. Los Olas is great on the beach for pizza & daily theme lunches. Our favorite bar was Cafe' Kafe' & bartender Luis was the best. Also the Martini/lobby bar. Staff was so friendly & attentive. The bird sanctuary/walking trail was a great plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not excellent...

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The Michael Jackson show (that you can also get at the Majestic)
Cons: Please see our experience - There is a LOT of room for improvement.
Location: We stayed on resort property. You can stay closer to the airport at a far nicer resort (for less money too).
Disappointing to say the least - From the moment we landed with the hotel's transfer service telling us they did not have our reservation for 4 even though we had the email confirming as much from them (and continued to tell us we were wrong while they walked us to our vehicle), to broken mini fridges, bathroom light that would not turn on, what looked like blood stains around the jaccuzzi, to a "garden view" that would be better described as a "swamp view," to having to wash our clothes 2 times when we got home to get the stench of the room out, dinner service that took forever, to almost being charged an additional $70 for the transfer back to the airport even though our confirmation clearly stated our party of 4 with 2 departure times. What was supposed to be a special and relaxing 40th birthday trip for our husbands and me with a baby on the way, turned into issue after issue and being told that we were wrong. The only saving grace was the weather and most of the staff being quite pleasant (a couple of them not so much). Next time we will go back to the Majestic, where we had a far better experience without a single issue. We've already told our family members who were looking here for their honeymoon to go to the Majestic or Riu instead... anyplace, but the Excellence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel, private beach

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Beach, staff, service everywhere.
Cons: Some of the dinners were not as good as others.
Location: Location is fantastic. Very private. It may be about 40 minutes from the airport but the beach is secluded and there are no other resorts in sight.
We were able to leave a day early due to the impending snow storm and were supposed to have a different room for one night at the Excellence which was fine with us. We just wanted to get out ahead of the storm. On arrival at the Excellence, we were warmly greeted by the staff and given glasses of champagne. During check in, Matias informed us that we would not have to change rooms as they had an ocean view room for us right away! Our room had a spectacular view. We sat on the balcony every morning and evening. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and lunch buffets as there are so many options. Dinners were fine. The portion sizes were not enormous which we liked. Our favorite restaurant was actually Oregano. The lasagna bolognese was wonderful. None of the restaurants were ever crowded and reservations were not necessary. The beach was always immaculately groomed. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. We will brush up on our Spanish, though, before we go next year so we can communicate better with everyone. I could go on but will end with this was our first trip to Punta Cana and we look forward to coming back to Excellence again where you are welcomed home upon arrival and felt as though you were with old friends right from the start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent vacation

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Wonderful large beach. Plenty of lounge chairs at the beach and pool. Relaxing laid back atmosphere for adult relaxation.
Cons: Have specific smoking areas in the common areas
Location: Easy approx. 45 minute trip from the airport. Wonderful snorkeling excursions nearby.
Spent a wonderful week of sun, sand, rest, and relaxation. Food and accommodations were great. I would strongly encourage the upgrade to excellence club level, the bonuses were definitely worth the little extra money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Top notch All Inclusive

Posted Jan 27, 2016
I've been to many All Inclusive resorts, and this is probably the best. The food was very good and no reservations were required at the themed restaurants. Beach is beautiful, soft sand with lots of cabanas. The rooms are large with a spa/tub in the room and a well stocked mini bar. Upgrade to the Excellence Club for private check in and access to the Excellence Club amenities and private beach area. Evening entertainment was very, very good!