Ratings based on 3,022 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianola, Ia

Excellent Experience. Can't wait to go back.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel is spread out, never left the resort. Plenty of bars, food and staff to accommodate to your needs. The beach and pools were spectacular.
Cons: Beds were a bit firm, other than that can't complain about much.
Location: We never left the resort other than to leave for airport.
Hotel is spectacular! Top notch staff and amenities. Everything was so beautiful, definitely exceeded all expectations. Our first trip to Punta Cana and we can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Excellent amenities!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Poolside service, always ready to say yes and exceptional food options!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellence is excellent

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Food, beach, entertainment and alcohol everything at your disposal
Cons: some of the equipment like the bikes and miniature golf courses could be updated
Location: Their is not much to do nearby, all the excursions you had to be transported to
Great hotel with friendly staff, food was good to excellent depending on where you eat. The beach was huge with plenty of chairs to go around the waves were rough but tolerable. Entertainment was excellent as well I would definitely go to this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

BEST vacation ever!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: All inclusive, swim up room-great service
Cons: hotel getting nice remodel
Location: Location was the best--no need to anything else.
Excellent location, staff was incredible. Room and Pool and Ocean just wonderful. great relaxing during the day and great energy at night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, N.Y.

Outstanding hotel & it is close to the beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I had a wonderful experience. The staff was extremely helpful, pleasant & tookcare of my every need. The food was amazing, you are truly on vacation at this hotel. I recommend this hotel to everyone & I can't wait to go back & get pampered. I wish we would have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Awesome experience in the Dominican Republic!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great Location Awesome Beach Excellent Pools Plenty of food and beverages Excellent service We will be back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salem, Oregon

Staff came through with over-the-top service

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Two years ago we visited The Excellence in Punta Cana and experienced the most impeccable service. So much so we returned this year with 7 other family members. To our disappointment, the service was not as great as before. However, there were a couple of staff employees that went over and above customer service and made our visit, once again, extraordinary....They being Reynaldo German at the front desk, and Victor, the concierge. The activity staff were pleasant as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Roxanne, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Punta Cana with all Expedia users. It is very satisfying to know that you had an enjoyable time in our resort. Thank you for the generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning some services which made your experience enjoyable. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We all look forward to serving you soon and provide you with another amazing getaway! Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Cons: Bedding, especially pillows, was not comfortable, menu options could use improvement
Overall good experience, nice staff, pool, beautiful beaches, food menus could be improved
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful resort!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Nothing that we could point out.
Returned yesterday after a glorious week in Punta Cana. The resort is beautiful, clean and well cared for. All the restaurants were great. Our favourites were Chez Isabelle, Spice and The Grill. Breakfast buffet in Toscana was far better than any we have been too. We opted for a basic garden view room and were very pleased with it. Always clean, tipped the staff who then left us towel origami surprises and fresh flowers around the tub. The bed was too hard for our liking so we asked for a mattress topper which arrived within 1/2 hour of our request. Made all the difference!! Pool waiter service was very good. Lots of selection on the drink menu. We found the drinks to be stronger than past resorts we've been too. The pools are lovely and clean. Saw the staff checking levels quite often. One of our favourite things about the resort was the nightly entertainment. The Circus and Brazilian show are not to be missed. And there were lots of daily activities around the pool to take part in, with great prizes if you happened to win. One thing we would advise on not trying was the deep sea fishing. We were told there would be lots of fish to be caught but unfortunately out of 8 on the boat my husband was the only one to catch anything. And the 6-8 foot swells made many of us very, very sick. So unless you are accustomed to rough seas then stick with the catamaran ride that doesn't go past the break. We will definitely be returning to this beautiful resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Let us thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as host of your vacation and for writing this review. We are thrilled to know that you found an enjoyable time in our resort and you got satisfied with the quality of the food & drinks encountered and the friendly service delivered by our staff. Thank you very much for your positive remarks. It will be a great honor to welcoming you again and provide another amazing experience. Receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Paradise!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Staff make your stay truly special - attentive, polite, always going the extra mile and with a great sense of humor. We've never been more spoiled.
Cons: A bit more attention to room housekeeping.
Location: Remote location, miles of beautiful, empty beach. Straight from the postcard. You don't have to leave the place - just stay and enjoy.
Pure indulgence. From the moment you arrive until the last minute the staff make you feel really special. Beautifully kept gardens, fantastic views (it is worth to pay extra for the ocean facing room), great restaurants with a very good quality food and lots of all day entertainment. You can just do nothing, lay on the beach and keep ordering drinks or you can have some fun as they offer plenty of attractions (played mini-golf first time). Visit to the botanic garden at the back is a must. We are already planning next year visit to their other resort in Mexico.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jacob & Magda, Thank you very much for recommending Excellence Punta Cana to all Expedia users. It is a satisfaction to know that you had a memorable stay at our resort, and the gorgeous facilities, nature & ambiance were the perfect scenario for your relaxing getaway. We appreciate your positive remarks regarding the services provided and also your constructive feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future for one more amazing experience. Please receive our warmest regards from Punta Cana!