Ratings based on 3,054 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Excellente!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Lovely grounds, lots of choices for sun or shade near the pool or the ocean. Like all Punta Cana locations the water can be rough. Swim up rooms are great. Wonderful staff. Jeannette, David, Santos, the staff at the Excellence Club, everyone went out of their way to be as friendly, helpful and accommodating as possible. Resort is just the right size, not too big. Adults only is a plus. Atmosphere is laid back and very friendly. Lots of activities if you want them. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it staff was GREAT!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: the layout and all the pools
Cons: The Food
Location: Very Good
Had a Blast Beautiful Place & people the environment was very welcoming would recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Posted Mar 21, 2017
For the amount of money we spent, my husband should be able to wear shorts and golf shirt to dinner. Thai restaurant excellent. Not too much flavour at others. Buffet excellent for breakfast and lunch. Would have appreciated choice of buffet for supper. Beach was excellent. Very nice that reservations weren't required for restaurants. Dress code is reason we will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good times

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Communication concerning "proper attire" needed for dinner.
Location: Never left resort. No need to!
Great time, good food, good cocktails and great staff. One complaint, the need for "proper attire" for dinner was not communicated clearly before arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great hotel, staff wa Excellente!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We had a great time but one suggestion is to leave poolbar open an hour later till sunset!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pro: Clean,good food,great drinks. Con: Crowd 65 and up
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston area suburb

Week of relaxing!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: very relaxing by the pool, or beach and couples are friendly drinks are amazing! Relaxation get a 10!
Cons: food quality I found to be below sub par! We ate in every restaurant found ourselves very disappointed with food quality!
Location: Basically stay at the resort its the best choice not to leave for any reason. You will wish you stayed !
We just returned march 18th, the staff is great, we upgraded to the excellence club which was a great choice our room was a bit dated and not initially meeting our expectations, however, that was immediately handled professionally and for the remaining duration of our stay the staff did a great job. Food was the biggest disappointment, we ate at every concept and tried many items from each of the menus. If you expect five star experience you will be very disappointed, I give the food service mainly culinary wise a 1.5, and for those considering the Bike tour....DONT DO IT! it is very nasty, uncomfortable in many ways and will leave you sickened by what you see. Our guide was nice however...just don't do it! High light was the pool and beach relaxing all day long..everyday! Expedia this is only three star property at best, anyone who rates it otherwise has been to few 5 star properties.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana and for writing this review. We are pleased to read that you had relaxing and memorable stay in our resort and the refreshing pools and the service provided were able to exceed your expectations. On the other hand, on behalf of all the staff and the management at Excellence Punta Cana, we kindly extend our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations, since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the food quality, services, and facilities. At Excellence Punta Cana, we take great pride in providing the freshest of ingredients and creating both simple and also creative dining experiences. We would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you if the ingredients are available. Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken. Nevertheless, we do hope that despite the inconveniences you had through all your stay with us, you can give us the opportunity to welcome you again in order to have the chance to show you the real meaning of service that you expect from us. Please receive our warmest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

Great place to vacation

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The staff was very nice and helpful and they had their stuff together, very organized. The food was great at most restaurants. Really enjoyed the activities they had aswell. The buildings need a tiny bit of maintenance which is understandable since they take quite the beating by the water. We hear they are closing down for renovations. We can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana as your getaway destination and recommending us to all Expedia readers. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic time at our resort and the quality of food encountered and the services & activities provided went above your expectations. We also look forward to welcoming you soon and provide you with another excellent stay! Warm regards from Punta Cana!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Salem Wi

Facilities and staff were amazing

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the fact that it was adult only. We specifically chose this resort for that reason. All of the restaurants were very close to our room.
Cons: I felt that the food was just mediocre. The breakfast buffet @ Toscana was the best. Wished the rooms would have been cleaned @ a regular time.
Location: They had many concierge locations on the property to help plan a off site excursion
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They make you feel like you are the most important person on the property. The grounds are kept very clean and no matter where you were on the resort there was always someone sweeping or picking up. We had a great time in the area that our room was located and met many new acquaintances' The drinks were great and the bartenders were all very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Duane, Allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana and for sharing your experience with all Expedia users. We appreciate that you added remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us, mentioning the beautiful facilities and the services provided that made your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. On the other hand, we deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality of the food. We would like to remind all of our guests that if you want to eat something that is not in our restaurants, please let us know, and our Chef will be more than happy to prepare a special meal for you if the ingredients are available. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised has been addressed for the appropriate corrective actions to be taken. We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience. Receive our warmest regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

Wonderful adults only!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
First time in Punta Cana and we made an excellent choice for our group of 8! Loved hanging out in the pool and our "backyard" with the "neighbors!"