Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Troutman, NC

Great for family

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly, organized, family oriented
Cons: We didn't have hot water in early morning
Rudy at the desk was great. Accommodated us better then expected. The Hacienda is definitely worth the upgrade. It included use of internet and computer, a room close to the beach and a nice quiet breakfast and lunch buffet close to our room. We had 4 rooms and 11 people in all age ranges. All of us were very pleased, even the shuttle service was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse

I have nothing to compare it to

Posted Feb 3, 2016
I have never stayed in the Dominican Republic, or an all inclusive resort before so my ratings may be off. All I can really say is I have no complaints but nothing to rave about either. I stayed with my wife and two kids (9 and 12) and for the most part everyone walked away satisfied. The only minor hiccup we ran in to was at the kids water park. It says up to age twelve but it is Also only up to 150cm in height so my son was not allowed to stay, after playing for 10 minutes. I'm fine with the regulation but would rather see it up front before anyone got in and began having fun. Foodwas nothing to write home about but it was mostly good and there were choices for everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richond

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Cons: access to water sports
large resort, best vacation in years. have had better access to water sports at competing resorts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

A Wonderful Honeymoon

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel was really clean and they did a great job keeping the resort very tidy. Even the beach was extremely clean.
Cons: The staff able to answer basic questions for guests. Such as "bar" "restaurant" "beach"
Location: We went on the Snorkeling/Party Excursion with Sharks and Stingrays that took you to a lagoon at the end to drink in the beautiful water. It was fun.
I had done a lot of research on resorts in Punta Cana and read a lot of reviews. My husband and I went here for our Honeymoon, and we were very pleased with this hotel. As I have read many reviews, I wanted to give my experience through a 28-year-old who travels maybe once a year. -I didn't book a special room for our honeymoon, and I told the guy at the lobby that it was our honeymoon, so he moved us to a room closer to the beach free of charge! The resort is pretty big, but after the first day or so you figure everything out pretty well. They have trolleys going constantly, so if you're not in the mood for a walk, then they will pick you up every 5 minutes or so. -The language barrier is definitely a problem. Many staff members have no idea what you're saying. Even bartenders had a very hard time communicating with you. It is easier if you have a basic understanding of the Spanish language, as this will help tremendously. All staff is very nice, and as accommodating as can be. -The food was pretty good here. Many all-inclusive resorts aren't going to have the best food, so I was happy with it. They had two snack bars right by the pool area with a good variety of food. The main buffet was good, but nothing spectacular. They do try to mix it up, and have a lot of different options. One night they had a Mexican theme, and one was a seafood theme. But they have all sorts of food for everyone. We booked two Ala Carte Restaurants the first day, as you should.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Great experience, very big hotel need to travel by trolly everywhere. Lobby closes early, not a great selection of non alcoholic beverages, buffet food was great variety! Reservations to hotel restraunts are only avilable for 3 nights. Not a lot of beach need to wake up 6 am to get a seat at the beach or pool. Too many people selling stuff to you all day long
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great accomadations!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
The Resort is amazing. Staff is very helpful and caring about your experience. Very clean. A lot of variety of foods/drinks. Many activities to choose from. Beach was kept clean and service at beach was prompt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Great Vacation!!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Loved the hotel and my whole experience. I stayed at Bavaro and I recommend finding Julio Caesar in the lobby buffet; he was amazing and stayed friendly throughout my stay at the resort. The sports bar was a blast, especially when karaoke time started. The pools and the beach were so clean and beach volleyball was amazing. My only downside was the disco/club. The people are part of a much older crowd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience, good value Hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2016
I got a room very close to the lobby so the distance between me and the food was ok. Food could be better. Attention by staff is ok. Definetly a family hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Eh!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Positives: Nice grounds, beautiful beach, Good kids waterpark, and generally ok pools. Negatives: Staff is uneven (soms are excelent but most aren't even trying), Food is mediocre, lots of disorganization (i.e. shows, kids club, etc.) and the place also nickels and dimes you alot. Overall: Will not be coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall disappointing experience- find another

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: 1) its a big resort which can be a plus to have many options-although you will be walking and/or waiting for trams a lot. 2) buffet food overall ok
Cons: Crazy comments from people happy about paying extra for hacienda upgrades? you should expect that for the price you are paying!! Management attention.
Location: just stayed at resort-had to cancel an excursion due to Wife's injury at resort.
We have stayed at other all inclusive resorts and this one ranks last mainly due to the management (lack of) and how they handle things -they do not take ownership;) and issues experienced with rooms/ getting beach towels/chairs. Also, unfortunately my Wife was injured at the resort and it felt like the management could care less-the house keeper and bell service showed more interest and compassion!! Anytime we spoke with managers they always referred us to someone else and/or required a phone call to confirm anything. When your on vacation you do not want to have chase down everything and waste time doing so. Here are a list of positives and negatives for this resort. We will never stay at a Grand Bahia run resort again. Overall, disappointing, we have had much better experiences at other resorts and spoke to others staying here during our trip that felt the same. Too bad, may be with better management this resort could be much better and worth the price of admission. It does have potential. Hope this helps and you find a better rated resort.