Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deltona fl

Average all hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2018
All good,very nice,beautiful, good restaurants,easy access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never paid so much to sleep with the lights on

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Pros: Entertainment every night. Better than many resorts we have stayed at.
Cons: Bug problem, cleanliness, more dinner reservations, more chairs on the beach, update the facilities and do more maintenance around the resort.
Background for this trip - we have been to Punta Cana 7 times. We have traveled to the Caribbean over 15 times ranging from higher end resorts to lower end resorts. I will start off with my main issue with the resort. They have a cockroach problem. I understand that we were in the Caribbean and you should expect to see a cockroach here or there. The problem is that we saw them everywhere. We were greeted the first night by two critters in the bathroom. Okay, we saw a few reviews of roaches so we brought some peppermint to spray in the room. We then continued to see roaches around the resorts - in the lobby, in the restaurants, and in the shared bathrooms. As we sat around the pool we heard people complaining to other guests about roaches, twice, at two different pools. On the way to the lobby from the beach we heard a guest tell a story about a roach crawling across his face in the middle of the night. The person he was telling the story to replied back with their own story about the “largest cockroach I have ever seen was in the lobby”. This is a problem and needs to be addressed. You should not have this many guests spending their time talking about cockroaches. The rooms were outdated and overall cleanliness was subpar. The bed was very hard. We did not expect much due to the cost of this resort, but I was expecting it to be a litter nicer. Mini bar has a few sodas and two beers that are restocked daily. We had a pool view which was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2018
This resort is too large and manageable with a large group. It was impossible to get reservations at the restaurants. Every meal was at the buffets. The room was clean but had a leaking toilet with water all over the floor, a leaking ceiling and the beds/pillows were awful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pass on this one!

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Check in was horrible. Toilet overflowed in room in twice (and no, we did not put paper products down), beach and pool way too crowed - had to get up at 6:00 each morning to go find a spot. Pool had to be shut down one day when we were there. There were no reservations available for restaurants and buffet food was frequently out. Staff was crabby (I don't blame them) There is a reason this place is discounted - it is way too big and they just entice people with the price to fill rooms. The only nice thing about this place is the beach and the sunrise which can be found at any other hotel in DR!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Edison NJ USA

Bahia Principe

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: Beach.
Cons: NO INTERNET CONNECTION !!!
Location: Walk on the beach to stores. I lost recently 75 lbs because of eating right and walking.
My wife and I have visited Bahia Principe for the second time with the hope that after 5 years they will have free WiFi everywhere, but we were wrong. WiFi works only at the main lobby but the one you purchase for $50 for 7 days works in some areas, but the signal is not strong enough. The resort is huge and you must take electric trains/cars to go to the beach or to go to lunch. We asked to be placed close to the beach and we had to take the electric cars for dinners only. Our keys didn't work the first time, but after I traveled to the lobby they fixed it. The staff is extremely nice. Don't go for the vacation pkg presentation, because you would have to say good bye to half a day of your vacation. The food was good. Trust me. We travel twice a year to various resorts for the last 15 years or more. Be aware of Blue Travel. They asked me to be at the lobby next day at 1pm but the lady left already. I have her name in case somebody would ask. The male assistant in the Blue Travel office laughed at me when I complained and he said... Talk to Expedia with a smile.... I had to see them second time and they just told me to see them one day before I check out. I was at the lobby twice for nothing. At the airport I was waiting for 20 minutes in the line to Blue Travel to get the bus to the hotel, but they told me to go to another line with no Blue Travel signs. I wasted close to 50 minutes (including waiting on the bus for a driver) at the airport because of Blue Travel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Bathroom toilet not working properly. Preserved vegetables. Pools not maintained properly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Horrible Service and Room but Amazing Beach

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Beach was amazing but thats about it. The staff were rude, the room is not comfortable and they do not clean well. They actually gave us the same towels we requested to change. Not clean and i was expecting more than this. Very stringy and they do not do it correctly. Room and service was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana, usa

Fun resort!

Posted Mar 24, 2018
We enjoyed his hotel for the most part! We were in the Grand Bavaro part of the resort. It was a good experience with just a few draw backs. Looking back, the luxury adults only side may be worth the few extra dollars when booking! The Pros-even without access to the Luxury pools, you get access to 3 BIG pools, so there is not a lack of space, and we were there during spring break! We never had trouble finding chairs, the party or quiet time if we wanted! The bartenders are nice and the staff puts on a good show regularly down at the pool closest to the beach. The beach was nice, though it could be a bit difficult to find a chair in your zone and the set up was nicer on the luxury side with a private bar and nicer chairs. The food was good! The buffet had a nice selection every day-we didn’t have much trouble finding anything. We also enjoyed our meals at the other restaurants. Con here-only beer and wine in the restaurant for dinner (2 or 3 wines and one beer throughout the entire resort, this may be different on the luxury side). You can bring drinks from the bar in though. The snack bars were nice and the Las Olas by the beach had a great view and good service for breakfast and lunch and dinner with a reservation. The room was nice, good air conditioning and and they’re spacious and clean. Not the most comfortable bed/pillows but who’s there to spend much time in bed? ;) We had fun in the disco tecca and also the casino! Would recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Very nice hotel, great food the rooms were very clean. The hotel staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Next to the Beach

Posted Mar 19, 2018
The hotel is clean, nice, and beautiful. The only thing was the air conditioner, was not working for the last two days it was too hot to be in the room at night to sleep in. They couldn't do anything for us. Also, to do reservation for the restaurants, they were all booked and the only thing we got was two restaurants that we were not interested in and scheduled after 9pm. We mainly ate at the buffet, which was good! The staff was nice and pleasant to speak with. We still enjoyed ourselves.