Ratings based on 1,840 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Wished we stayed longer!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Everything!
We went to celebrate our 20th anniversary. From the moment we walked into the lobby, the staff was super friendly and helpful! We were upgraded to a room in one of the luxury resorts, which was such a treat. The beach was gorgeous, the beverages were delicious, and food was bountiful. We were able to book a very romantic dinner at one of the a la cart restaurants (El Portofino). We did not bring our children, but we noticed how family friendly the resort was and plan to bring our children the next time we come. Although I speak Spanish, all of the staff spoke flawless English. The facilities were impeccable and ornate - felt like we were in Disneyland with the castle Décor in Fantasia. The shows were also fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Trip was amazing! Stayed at the fantasia. Staff were all friendly and we had the best experience! No complaints! Anyone tells you anything bad about this place doesn't know how to travel! Food was amazing! Beach was great! Would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The resort was beautiful, clean and the staff was Great! We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Fabulous vacation!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We loved it! The hotel was beautiful, the beach was amazing, the pool was just as fabulous and the food was delicious! We will definitely return!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stomach illness , no room on beach or pool areas,

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Air travel, taxi to and from ok. We both had stomach ills the whole stay, no room on beach or pool area. Rain 4 out of six days. We stayed 6 days. Refrigerator didn't work in room. Never again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort with all accommodations

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The resort is very nice and basically a city in itself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Cons: Old, outdated rooms. Poor quality of linens. Service is mediocre at best.
This stay was a major let down. Resort is as advertised, however the 'Punta Cana' resort within the property is even less than disappointing. Buffets were dried out and flavorless with a very weak selection. We opted to upgrade to the Ambar - Green resort and it completely revived our experience. 'Punta Cana' resort is NOT as advertised on Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice hotel, nice staff. Weird smell in the room but when we asked to change room, it wasn't a problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Close to beach and wasn't too noisy
Cons: If they say the fully stocked mini bar daily then it should be fully stocked everyday, update website, be able to make reservations more than only 3 x
Location: Not close enough, both excursions we had to make a switch to another vehicle and pick up more people and one trip we spent close to 2.5 hrs in travel!
I reserved this hotel because of full stocked fridge in rooms, never done always had to call. Oh and the fridges are slightly cooled not cold. Had to pay extra for safe( you need it) Ask about travel time if you choose to buy any excursions, not ever told, wasted a lot of the day in a bus. If you want to do the non-motorized sports you need to ask because they will not explain this to you either. We had to figure out ourselves what or where things were as well as what type of entertainment the hotel was offering each night. Large place need a map and they run out and takes days to get another from them. You are only allowed 3 reservation dinners, should offer more. The positive of our week was at Check-in. Our reservations were made at 2 different sides of the resort and Kerwin worked it so that we could stay on same side as our friend. The other side worked it to give us adjoining rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A hotel that needs a lot of improvement

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The food was great. The shows were great. Shuttle buses were convenient.
Cons: Lots of things. Better hotel management. More towel cards and more cleaned towels. Better waterproof in the bathrooms.
Four of us stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in 2 rooms. I had 3 problems with my stay. 1) I booked Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana via Expedia. When we went to that hotel lobby to check in, we were told that we needed to check in at the Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro instead. 2) On the first night of our stay, we had water leak in the bathroom of one of our rooms. Since it was very late at night, we didn't call the guest services to complain. We cleaned the water ourselves. Next day, we told guest services and they sent a guy to fix it. This should not have happened in the first place. 3) For 2 days in a row, we brought back wet towels to the Pool side Towel station and was told that they had no more towel cards to give to us. The guy told us to carry the wet dirty towels back to our room and bring them back the next day. The next day when we were there, we were told there were no more clean towels left. We checked for clean towels 3 times over the next hour, and finally got some clean towels. On the night before check-out, the same situation happened, the guy gave us a big plastic bag to carry the wet dirty towels and told us to bring them to the front desk during check-out. We called the front desk and was told that there was nothing they could do about these towels. We then had to take the shuttle bus from the pool area to the front desk and carried the bag of dirty towels with us. The guy at the front desk apologized, but it was such a stressful experience.