Ratings based on 1,804 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful resort

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The grounds, pools, food, rooms, size of resort,
Cons: Staff not overly friendly but their ok. Need a PA system to announce events like Vball so ppl interested know where to go.
Location: Didn't leave resort except for excursions. Not much near resort-would need to take taxi if you left.
Beautiful and large resort on the beach. Great pools and great food. This resort is like a small town with shops, small casino, club etc The buffet is really good and grounds are kept up nice! Has large golf carts that go back and forth being resort is so large. You can also walk the resort as its not THAT big. We never left resort except for excursions. Walked beach at night but ran I to a couple shady guys so excited carefulol at night if you walk beach. resort very safe. They have activities during day like volleyball, bingo etc It's just hard to find where it's at! Wish they had a PA system for announcements
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Great place with good food and service. You got for what you pay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

repeat visitor

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I was at the same hotel several times. Over time quality of service keep decreasing, especially last visit was disappointing. On first few visits staff were friendlier, I had VIP status and it was great. last visit they eliminated VIP status, on few restaurants that they used to offer breakfast and lunch they do not offer anymore so on only one place you can have breakfast or lunch from time to time will be wait to get in. Half of servers were the same friendly as before but half of them were not as friendly so you need to try to bring their attention if you need coffee or whatever. I was under impression I found place I will keep going back but I changed my mine after last visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Large resort with a large attitude.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The Bahia Principe most survive on its location because it's staff (for the most part) was rude and unaccommodating. Requests such as extra pillows or explanations on unjustified charges were met with ignorance and grief. The food was always the same and of low quality. It wasn't the worst trip I've been on, but it will be our last to Bahia Principe. Disappointing way to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: nothing at all. full experience was terrible.
Cons: everything, overall terrible experience.
Our experience at this resort was terrible. Werer robbed of our money by the people who clean the room on our second day of our vacation. Customer service was terrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW.PRT. Beach California

Enclosed

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and lots of pools plus access to ocean.
Cons: Cost for my 7-yr old was very high. We extended our stay hoping sharing a room with a friend would off-set the price; not enough to make it worth it.
Location: Pools, beach. We spent a lot of time at RAD Park. A wakeboard & water playground downtown Punta Cana.
The place was huge. After waiting in a transit-van in the parking-lot of airport for more than an hr. we where taken to the wrong front desk to start with. The resort itself is huge, room was nice enough, cleaning lady Rosa very nice. If you going there to eat drink and be marry, its there; pools, bars, food, beach. That was ok for some of the time but activities are not all inclusive. We spent days outside the resort at RAD Park, a wake-board park, not laying around eating and drinking, so for my daughter and I the cost was pretty high. We won't stay there again. Also be very careful of activities you do book, we had to confirm them a few times each, we found that out by missing our horseback ride, and the dunebuggy rental was a big let down...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
I had to wait to be checked in at 4pm because the room was not ready. Confirmingredients activities was very difficult after paying for it on expedia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX, USA

Great first trip to the Dominican!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
I 100% recommend Grand Bahia Principe! We stayed at GB Esmeralda and it was everything we could've asked for. I mean, the whole resort was gorgeous and extremely well kept, but Esmeralda was luxurious. The junior suite & the bathrooms were spacious and always kept clean each day we stayed. honestly everything in our room was A+. The staff was amazing! Super nice and helpful, they never let you lift a finger. It really helped to get around easier because I know Spanish, but the staff is still really efficient in other languages. My fiancé & I appreciated Richard at Esmeralda so much for his service. The beach was beautiful, and all the amenities that this resort included was everything and more! The only thing that was a little on the minus side was that all the food tasted bland but presentation wise, it looks and smells amazing! But we're from the US though so it's a given that we're used to a lot of flavor in our food (lol). However, it was okay! This resort really makes it so that you can relax & enjoy your getaway. We will definitely return! thank you Grand Bahia Principe! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Recommended Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Nice facilities and pool. Beautiful beach, well connected through train.
Cons: Limited availability to night restaurants. Those that pay for "privilege" pass can access. Seems unfair that hotel charges for extra things.
Good experience, excellent staff which stands above all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from azusa, california

Disappointed

Posted Jan 3, 2017
No wifi, only in lobby or you had to pay $80 extra to get it in your room. No one at the front desk was helpful it was sorry I don't know. You can only make reservations at two of the restaurants. Room was dusty and smelled like mold.