Ratings based on 2,660 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff and service

Posted Apr 23, 2018
The staff was very nice but they were also very slow. Always took forever to get a drink. Also, if you don't book up your reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there it's almost impossible to get any. The manager couldn't even help us out after we complained and the restaurants were always at half capacity. Outside by the beach you get harassed all day long to take excursions or buy things. It gets annoying after a while. I just wanted to relax and not be bothered all day long
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful grounds but will not return.

Posted Apr 22, 2018
We had horrible service with getting beverages at all locations including the buffet and bars. Very slow (even when they weren't busy they appeared avoid you) and we always tipped thinking it might get better. No wait staff walking around pools for service. Juice cups were never available and plates were hard to find at times in the buffet. Housekeeping always missed give the correct towels. One day we only received a hand towel. Housekeeping did responded promptly for the towels. Another day we received 3 bath towels and no others. Found drops of blood on the comforter which was changed the first evening. Bed and dresser furniture in room is worn. Room was clean. Mosquitos are horrible in the lobby during the evening. The only good service was at the Italian and Japanese restaurant which were both very good. Setting up the specialty restaurants we were given incorrect information on dates and times. Check your confirmation paperwork. Due to the lack of service, we would will not return and we travel frequently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful Resort

Posted Apr 21, 2018
I would return to this resort again. I was overwhelmed by the grand size of the resort. When we booked our trip, we had no idea our room (villa) would be a 1/4 mile from the beach. However, upon check in, the desk associate politely let us know if we tip the manager we could have a room closer to the beach. We tipped and got the room. Worth it but, not necessary because there are always buggys with a driver to take you wherever you need to go pretty much around the clock. If you stay up to 6 nights you only get to pick 2 nights of dinner reservations at the fine dining reataurants and it's slim pickings for times. I recommend the Garden Grill and the Mediteranean restaurants. Don't worry about the other nights, the buffet is amazing. It is absolutly the best buffet I have ever been to for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our room was great. Air conditioned, comfortable bed, cleaned everyday, stocked fridge with n/a beverages and waters. We had to aks for beers everyday but got them. Slippers, robes, hairdryer, safe, and excellent coffee are included in the room. The beach and pool areas are breathtaking. The staff are prompt and polite. Overall, this place was amazing and I can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA, USA

Large property, multiple hotels

Posted Apr 19, 2018
7 Bahia properties = guest confusion. We were booked at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. On arrival we were shuttled to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro (yellow wrist bands). On our first day, we went to the pool at the end of our room block, only to be turned away at the pool bar because we were not "Ambar Blue or Green" guests. The remainder of our family was checked into Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana (green wrist bands). We ate dinner with them that evening, but upon arrival at breakfast the following morning we were told that we had to go to our own lobby restaurant for breakfast. Though they allowed us in "this one time", it left a somewhat less than stellar impression. Especially since our hotel confirmation showed us booked for the same property as the 18 other people in our group. For the first few days the staff seemed less than excited by our presence. We later learned that the majority of them work 12 days on and 2 off. Perhaps there was a shift change - about 4 days in the staff seemed happier and more accommodating. While no one was outright rude to us, other resorts in Punta Cana I've visited had staff that seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests. All that aside, the food and drinks at this resort were excellent. Best steaks I've had in the Caribbean and the desserts were awesome. Nice beach, though a bit lacking in beachside bars - we found one & I'm not sure if there were others. The pools were nice and it was generally easy to find chairs with shade.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

LGBT+ Travelers

Posted Apr 18, 2018
During our third day here in Punta Cana at the Grand Bahia Principe resort, a staff member decided to reprimand my boyfriend and I on how it’s not alright to be kissing because it's a ”family resort.” He told us if we kept kissing/showing affection to each other that we would be taken out of the resort. It was literally one kiss. Nothing was said to the hetero couples kissing next to us. At that point, we decided to leave to our rooms — luckily while this was all happening, my boyfriend was live streaming and got the whole thing on video, showing his homophobic reaction. While walking to our rooms & live streaming, we happened to walk past the same staff member, and he said that it was ”illegal” and that we could go to jail for it in this country. He followed us and asked us for our room number, which I thought was very inappropriate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY USA

Bahia Principe

Posted Apr 14, 2018
overall location was beautiful but staff was not friendly nor welcoming when first getting checked in. We were told to have a seat as our room was not ready at during this time we sat in the lobby for over an hour. When we finally went up to the desk staff member who originally Started to assist us was no longer working. A staff member quickly checked us in not giving us much information of the fAcility or even how to get towels or book dinner reservations. We were then brought to our room which was still being cleaned by the staff. The mini bar advertised was a misrepresentation of what was described when booking. Ice was not even option to obtain in the room. The fridge kept drinks semi cold but was clearly old. When getting our room restocked or cleaned services were replaced one day but not the next. I.e wash cloths, towels, or beverages. We were not explained how to keep power in the room by using cards given at front desk which also were to be used to obtain towels at the pool area. Lights in room were not functional . I was shocked by a lamp trying to get it to turn on.The power went out on our 3d night which resulted to us waking up from the heat in the room as the air nor fan were on.. The beach was very crowded and many women were topless which was not what I was expecting when having my child there. People were not asked to smoke in non smoking areas such as kids pool area,lobby, on golf carts which is frustrating with a child with you. Breakfast was the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Excellent Service and great People! They treat you like family. A good place to relax feel the breeze near the beach. A lot of activities to do, like dancing, clubing, theater, and much more. The drinks and the food is delicious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bavaro. Room 32103

No a/c.

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Room a/c went off. Spoke to someone about it. Nothing was done throughout our 9 days of stay. Grass was cut in the morning, and all of my clean clothes got dirty in the balcony. Power went out for an hour on our last night of stay. Called for an extra blanket, and I received a blanket with a horrible smell on it like it was never washed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Nice Resort

Posted Apr 7, 2018
We have been to 3 resorts in the DR. This one was clean and had tons of activities. Beautiful pools. The staff were very nice. It is a large resort if you like that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exquisite resort next to beach

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Overall I enjoyed this resort very much. The resort is huge with many different places to go to inside. There are many pools close to the villas and the main one next to beach is amazing. The staff is very friendly and try to help the guests as much as possible. Definitely a great place to stay at with family !