Ratings based on 2,594 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach and pools

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Great hotel. Will come back and stay in future trips to the Dominican Republic. I will recommend it to friends and family. Clean rooms and friendly personnel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Family trip to a beach resort

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Pools, beaches, staff.
Cons: Print entertainment info. We find out several days into the trip that info can be found on a phone app, but we wanted to switch off from our phones.
This is a lovely hotel. The grounds, room, common areas were all very clean and well maintained even thought its a huge complex. Food was great and all the staff were very friendly. The pools and beach were amongst the best we've seen (although the sea was rough most days - fine for my older kids but would need to be careful with younger children). The first room we were given only contained one single person sofa bed for the kids. We asked for a room with extra sleeping space and were given a one with two single person sofa beds. However, we were told that most rooms only contained the single sofa, so beware if you are booking for more that 3 people. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Beautiful resort. Friendly people & excellent service. First time in Punta Cana. I will be c back next year with friends & family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nasty, Smelly, Overcrowded Resort

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything listed above
Location: Not much of anything to do nearby
Arriving at the resort, we couldn't get a room so they transported us to another part of the resort to get a room. This took nearly 2 hours. We had 3 rooms and NO room keys worked so back to the front desk and back in a line of unhappy customers with the same issue. The staff did not help and when asked to go tour rooms to open them, they would not. 3 tries and they finally worked. The keys where brought down daily to keep trying new ones to get one to work. The room was smelly, damp and dirty. Floors where wet and mildew spots. This hotel was run down and the picture on the internet are very deceiving. It was hard to get a drink if you wanted one. They expected tips or would not serve you again. The food was the typical buffet, nothing great! The restaurants where hard to get into. We tried to book these the 1st day and were told they were already booked so we only were able to eat at a few and 2 where BUFFETS!! Don't count on getting anything they say that is included. Beaches were over packed. No seats at pool or beach all day. People put towels on every seat and you have to wait til evening to get a seat. Just all around and cheap resort, overcrowded and smells funky! Would never go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation

Posted Jan 10, 2018
We had an amazing experience on our first time to DR. We were upgraded to Esmeralda which was the Best!!! Great location, very close to the ocean and excellent staff. Our three bartenders Juan, Juan, & Charlie were phenomenal. Definitely recommend staying at this resort. Will be back for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Couple's vacation

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: It's large with lots to do. Good food and great beach! Very beautiful place!
Cons: Updated rooms and better drinks.
We stayed there for a week over New Year's Eve for a getaway vacation. The pros: The resort is HUGE! So many pools and areas of the resort to explore. It is like a whole town within itself. The beach was clean and had staff continuously cleaning all day to keep it looking great. Staff was also available to get beach chairs or move them etc. Overall very pleased with the beach where we spent a majority of our time. The grounds were beautiful and kept immaculate. There are even 3 tram lines to save time walking from place to place which came in very handy. There are many restaurants to choose from and we thought the food at the buffets was great with great variety. With the all-inclusive you can only make 3 reservations at the al la carte restaurants which we were unaware of but it wasn't a big deal as we enjoyed the buffet the other nights. I would make the reservations upon arrival though because it seemed there was very limited capacity. Even days in advance everything was all booked up everywhere so we did not get to use all of our 3 reservations. Guest services was helpful in squeezing us in to at least 2 though. The cons: The beach bars close at 5pm and the lobby bars close at 11pm so if you want to keep drinking after that you have to buy a bottle at the lobby shop. The drinks were mediocre but not unlike other all-inclusive resorts I've been to. Our room could definitely have used some updating and also reeked of a mold/mildew/musty smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
staff friendly, spent a week here with 2 kids (4 and 2 years old) and had a fantastic time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Disappointing Stay

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Everywhere you go, workers begging for tips. I couldn’t enjoy my stay due to this. The rooms are outdated and mattresses old and uncomfortable. However, The grounds are beautiful and entertainment was great. Overall a very mediocre experience at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good choice

Posted Jan 7, 2018
I was nervous from some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised by this place. The entire hotel is huge, maybe a little too big as you need to take a trolly to get around and very crowded but the place is beautiful. The Beach here is phenomal. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I took my wife here for her 40th birthday and the butler (yes we had a butler at no extra charge) he brought a birthday cake and a bottle of champagne, all free of charge. I would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pearland, TX, USA

Very nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Aged rooms

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Entertainment was great. Each kid got a nice toy for Christmas. New years party was great. Staff attitude was great. Plenty of food, cofee and drinks. Facility and rooms are very clean. Cons: Beach chairs and umbrellas for the non priviliged areas are not enough. Guests reserve them with their towels and you have a hard time to get some for your family. Beach is small and very crowded but beautiful. Room furniture is old. Matresses uncomfortable. Bathroom doesn't have good extraction and gets soaked all over. Electric outlets are worn out. The plugs don't stay in place. Our friend got an electric diacharge in the bathroom. The TV cable was peeled off and the image had snow. Other: The food was average for all inclusive.