Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

2 very bad experiences dinners and leaving

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Room was nice.
Cons: Read my complaints above
We had a very bad experience upon LEAVING THE HOTEL. WE WERE BY THE GATE OF THE COMPOUND AND THEY DID NOT LET US LEAVE. Our taxi had to bring us back to the lobby and they at first insisted that we did not return the plastic card that is used as a key. But we had been told by the staff upon leaving that we did not have to. Then they said this was not the reason we could not leave but that the reason was that we had drunk a Champagne bottle in the room and did not pay for it. We never saw any Champagne and surely did drunk any. They then asked us if we have moved rooms during our stay which we responded we did not so they insisted that in order for us to leave the hotel we had to pay for the Champagne bottle they insisted we drunk. We ended up paying $28 for Champagne so they let us leave for the airport! it felt like being in a Banana republic? Second complaint is that this is an all inclusive resort. We paid $2250 for 2 for a trip from Chicago to Punta Cana from Thursday night to Sunday morning. It says 5 stars but in the hotel we realized that we could never eat at any of the 8 restaurants since the guests who are vacations club members ( time share type ) have priority and only they can make reservations. So they come first and we had to wait 1.5 hour and by that time there were still 10 people ahead of us the first night. It was the same each night at all restaurants. We ended up eating every night at the only restaurant we could which was the buffet restaurant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, I would like to offer you our apologies for any incident that you have had during your vacation with us. We respect your point of view with the champan bottle but we have explained to you the situation. Regardind the a la carta restaurants, we have a beeper system. The guests of the Palladium Travel Club & The royal suites can make reservations in advance. Every day we try to help our guest. I will share your opinion with the rest of the team. Best regards, Banesa Maria Burque Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Fun place to stay, something for everyone

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, property is really big you can get lost! It's right on the beach so it's convenient. Our air conditioner didn't work, I complained 3 times and nobody ever came to check it, so that was frustrating, especially because it's humid here. We stayed in the Junior suite and room was large enough for 5 people! I can't say enough about the staff they are amazing, they cater to you, there's activities throughout the day, it's great!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear Diaz, Thank you for to share with us your comments. I will check the incident of a/c with the maintenance. Have a nice day!! Regards from Bavaro. Banesa Maria Burque, Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

Good food and nice beach!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The hotel was nice and large so bring some comfy shoes. They have a variety of pool swim up bars and the ocean is picturesque! Hotel staff was friendly. The room needed slight repair but considering the size of the resort this was anticipated. The landscaped grounds were beautiful. Booked this trip with Expedia. The flight was canceled and my family had to miss 3 days due to the flight being changed by the airline. The hotel will only work with Expedia for a refund of the three days we weren't there and expedia is not very helpful or easy to work with in regards to hotel refunds. I am still waiting for compensation and the hotel is trying to charge a cancellation fee for one of the nights we weren't there that was out of our control.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear Maurice, Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments. I will take note and I will share your opinion with the rest of the team. Have a nice day!! Best regards, Banesa Maria Burque Resident Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Positives and negatives.... depends what you want

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The pools, beach and grounds were great. The wait staff at the restaurants were sub par. I found the mattress in our room very hard and uncomfortable. Not a lot of the staff spoke English very well making ordering difficult and sometimes wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry to know that your experience was not very good. I will take note and I will share your comments with the rest of the team. Best regards, Banesa Maria Burque Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms exceptional clean grounds

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Great accommodating staff exceptional clean grounds clean rooms by her staff in main lobby very kind put a smile on your face for sure must do Japanese restaurant the chefs and waitstaff funny you were leaving there laughing the food is great the steakhouse is also a must staff also wonderful order the New York strip 👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to share with us your excellent comments. I am glad to know that you have had a nice vacation at Grand Palladium. Have a nice day and Merry Christmas. Banesa Maria Burque Directora Residente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Palladium Bavaro suites and spa

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Hotel staff very accommodating this has been our third trip back to grand Palladium would definitely go back there again The grounds are capped next to perfect very clean the bar staff in the main lobby are awesome definitely will put a smile on your face must go to the Japanese restaurant that cooks and wait staff are a lot of fun you'll leave there laughing and happy with the food you've ate the steakhouse is also great staff wonderful food and great order the New York strip very good 👍😀 The beach is also beautiful plenty of chairs to sit on
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am glad to know that you have had a nice vacation at Grand Palladium. Thank you for your comments and for your time. Have a nice day and Merry Christmas. Banesa Maria Burque Directora Residente
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice resort

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Great experience!! Loved the friendliness of the staff. This place is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear Tammie, Thank you for your time and good comments. Have a nice day!! Best regards. Banesa Maria Burque, Resident Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful resort

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The reaort was very beautiful and clean. The room we were placed in was not the room that was shown in our pictures online during booking. We were told it was a new room so perhaps the pictures were not updated on the expedia website. The only dissatisfaction we had with the resort, was the less then friendly and ambitious service of most of the employees. There were a few over the top affable workers that made up for the lack of friendliness from most of the others. The Restaurants had amazing food. Our favorite was the Indian food! And the service and friendliness of the staff was best there as well. The ocean and pools were gorgeous. There were plenty of options for things to do and places to relax. As far as booking with expedia, I am less then thrilled with my experience. The second we landed in Punta Cana, the blue travel agency did not seem to have our reservation, despite our confirmation papers and itinerary number. While they did accomadate us, the stuggle continued. The hotel did not have our name or room correct. By the 3rd day we had 3 different room numbers in the computer and were mistaken for multiple other people. This was a minor nuisance, but unsettling and inconvenient when it came to signing on wi-fi or making any reservation with room name. The most disturbing part of this trip was the blue transportation not being reliable for our pick up. This is a whole different issue that will require another email. I will not book through expedia again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole Renee, I appreciate your time and your comments. The opinion of our guests it's very important for me and for the rest of the team. I will share your feedback with them. Have a nice day!! Banesa Maria Burque Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Birthday Girl's Trip

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: We went to down town Punta Cana because we wanted a taste of home, and there was a Denny's there. CoCo Bongo is a very fun, entertaining place to be.
The resort was very nice. You did not need to leave the resort for anything. The food wasn't bad but it wasn't good. It was bland. I was expecting flavor, spice, something authentic...but it wasn't. The room was beautiful, always clean. The staff was great! The drinks were delicious EVERYWHERE we went.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear ANGELLIQUE , In behalf of the all Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your time and good comments. Have a nice day!! Banesa Maria Burque Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overall - worth what you pay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful! Our room was right on the beach, and we were also very close to the bavaro and punta cana pools. Also, our concierge Miguel was awesome and allowed us to make dinner reservations for every night of our stay! While it was definitely an off season, there were one or two night where the reservation definitely came in handy. This resort was very large - be prepared to do a lot of walking. That being said, we enjoyed exploring the other resorts, trying different pools & bars, etc. The sports bar was great for a late night snack and to watch american football and hockey games, which we could not get in our room. Overall, we thought the hotel staff were very nice and happy to help you - we had a few minor issues with our room, but nothing that wasn't resolved almost immediately. If you are going to the beach/pool on the bavaro side of the resort, make sure to look for Martires! He was the best bartender we had throughout our whole trip. You definitely get what you pay for with this resort. it isn't a 5 star resort, but it still has great amenities and friendly staff. For what we paid for this vacation, we couldn't even justify any complaints! We had a blast and wish we could go back already.
Cons: As mentioned above, we had a few issues with our room. Our tv did not work at first, however we called reception and they sent someone right away to fix it. Our air conditioning was a godsend, however it was VERY noisy and we had to sleep with the tv on each night to drown out the noise. Also, we had to slam our door every time we needed to close it, as it would get stuck closing it normally - we felt like we were waking up our neighbors every time!! My biggest complaint about this resort is the amount of outside vendors who are constantly trying to sell you something. Most will leave you alone with a firm, "no thank you," however we ran into a few who borderline harassed us - and this was in the hotel lobby. I would recommend to the hotel to get a better handle on this, as guests typically don't want to be hassled to constantly buy something.
Location: About 30 minutes from the airport, and not a far drive for the excursions we did
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Banesa Mª Burque, Hotel Management
Dear Tricia, I would like to give you thank you for taking time to share with ur and other readers your feedback. I appreciate your comments. Best regards, Banesa Maria Burque Resident Manager