Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The spa was no spa!!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
They are remodeling the spa.. You can hear construction noises all day.. The staff manager were rude and the food was not to my standards... This place is not close to 4 stars .. More like two stars....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for you comments. Our company has informed to all touroperators four months ago about these improvements. These works are being done at the request of our guests. Best regards, L. Tajes Resident Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Everyone on the staff was friendly and very helpfu

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Everything one would need is there.
Cons: I don't know, seems very good to me like it is.
Location: Fun, fun, fun
Wonderful in every way. I think that says it all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by l.Tajes., Hotel Management
Dear John thanks a lot for your feedback and enjoy. Thanks for preferring Palladium. L.Tajes R.Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Very lovely vacation

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Very good way to celebrate our birthday we such a wonderful experience looking forward to visiting again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Crystal, Thanks for your comments, nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Best regards, L.Tajes Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiscinsin

Very nice hotel pools, spa, restaurant

Posted Jul 12, 2016
I have great time I will bring more friends soon, I was my slef in the hotel moist like pools are nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comments, it will be a pleasure to serve you again. Best regards, L.Tajes Resident Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Leak

Posted Jul 4, 2016
If u want to take a shower u have to climb in the tub..literally! The roof over my tub had a leak and of course the drops of water would fall on my head. I asked to be moved the first day, I called 4 times & finally was moved to another room the following day. The air conditioning was not cold enough, & the rooms smelled musty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all thanks for taking your time to provide us your opinion about Royal Suites. Thanks for your feedback even is not so positive and we are working on it to improve all this points. Best regards, L.Tajes Resident Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT USA

Huge beautiful facility...Food could be better

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Facility is huge, Food is the same in all of the buffet restaurants for breakfast and Lunch. Dinner restaurants are a hit or miss. Japanese is good (needs reservations) but sushi appetizers were stale and dry. Brazilian restaurant was probably the best restaurant. Indian and Mexican restaurants were way off and the food did not hit the marks. The facility has aggressive and annoying sales people at every corner and Hey work hrs at really ruining your vacation. It's daunting to get them to understand "No Thanks" and for the reason of harassment from their on site sales trying to sell you massages, time shares, souvenirs etc etc...WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest,thanks for your coments. We are working hard to give our guest the best service and food. About the sales people we will try to improve it therefore the guest can feel free.We apologize for this inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moved to Grand Palladium Turquesa

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The drinks and food was excellent. I was considered a Vip guest which have me equal access to all 3 resorts belonging to the Grand Palladium; Bavaro, Spa and Casino, Turquesa . I would not recommend traveling here alone. A lot of the staff in the restaurants were too aggressive with hitting on me because I was alone. It's one thing to let me know how available you are but there should be a boundary when the women does not act interested and let's you know she has a significant other . The casino was a huge disappointment; does not compare to the casinos in the United States and was smaller than many restaurants located at the resort . They sprayed very good for mosquitos ; not one bite on me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by La Dirección, Hotel Management
Dear Peaceful, Thank you very much for providing us feedback of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not meet your expectations. . It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and revert the negative impression you had on your recent stay. With kind regards, The Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Cons: Customer service and cleanliness
Customer service was terrible and upon checkin the room wasn't clean. The expedia representative at the resort was unhelpful and disappeared whenever an issue arose. I would NOT recommend this hotel and on top of that, I would not recommend the mobile booking process to anyone. If an issue arises and you verbally call about it - they proceed as if there is nothing wrong and upon check in the guests are charged in excess of $1,000 +
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us feedback of your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not meet your expectations. Please, be informed that check-in time is 3pm. Concerning the booking process and the representative, we want to inform you that are not managed directly by us. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and revert the negative impression you had on your recent stay. With kind regards, The Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh,pa

Nice resort, food OK, bathrooms not the cleanest

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: very large grounds, makes it feel as if though you are in a small city not cooped into a resort!
Cons: rooms need updated. food could be better. guests should be able to make reservations to restaurants in advance rather than waiting in line.
Location: we did dune buggy attraction, it was awesome. Enjoyed the snorkeling excursion.
the hotel was nice, we had a good time. The food was not bad, but also not anything to rave about. The bathroom was a bit in disrepair but we did not spend much time in the room. lots of merchants selling on beaches and hotel grounds which got annoying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2016 by The Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for providing us feedback of your recent stay and having chosen our resort to spend your holidays. In order to offer better facilities and services to our guests, we would like to inform you that all the rooms will be renovated during this year. Concerning Restaurants Reservations, It may happen that some of the restaurants do not have availability at a certain time. We are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your Food & Beverage expectations despite our wide range of Restaurants. We really appreciate your suggestion and we have forwarded it to our F&B Director. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. With kind regards, The Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simpsonville, SC

Nice Hotel Resort for a Relaxing Vacation!!

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Very clean. Beach is nice and not to crowded.
Cons: The food was cold most of the time. They need to improve on this and it would be a perfect place for vacation.
Location: There are severals tours you can do ranging from sightseeing tours to snorkling tours, etc.
Very nice Resort!! Room was very nice and cleaned everyday. Staff was very helpful and polite. Food is good but they need to improve on keeping the food warm. Most of the time the food was cold. This was the only downside of our stay at this Resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Lali, Firstly, we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and for the time taken sharing with us and future guests feedback of your recent stay. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for providing us feedback of the issues you had with our food service, we have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Director in order to avoid it happens again. We hope to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards, The Hotel Management