Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice beach

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Beach,Pool and smoking area's
Cons: Staff personality and knowledge of things .Restaurants availability. What is available for your in room bar and fridge. Also when doing this review y
Location: Location is good if you do not plan on leaving resort. this is a group of resorts that is far off main road. Any excursion is a bit of a ways off.
Nice beach. Nice Hotel. Half the staff rude and unknowledgable. Half the staff very nice. All restaurants are buffet. Can not get food on your time table. All Restaurants close down a couple of times during the day and all at the same time. No food before 7am and after 10pm. Only one bar open after 10pm. They only stock your bar in room every 2 days. We asked to remove beer and all soda from fridge, asked only for diet pepsi and water in fridge. For 2 people in room we only got 2 diet pepsi and 2 water for 2 days. What was nice in the in room bar was The liquor dispensary, but if you need a mixer you have to go to market and buy it cause they wont stock enough in fridge. They have soap in bathroom but no shampoo or conditioner or lotions so bring your own. For smokers, no smoking in rooms or restaurants. You can smoke anywhere on grounds outside including pool area and also on your balcony or patio. can also smoke on patios of restaurants where you can also dine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Wonderful place to stay. I only wish the pillows would have been better. Never had a more enthusiastic staff experience. Planning on going back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

mediocre at best

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I filed a complaint and no one answered me. Someone was able to open the balcony screen door at 5am and get into our room. I have yet to hear from management. Rooms and bathroom outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: jBeach
Cons: TDrawers wouldn't open and close, clock radio didn't work, TV remote didn't work, had troubles with safe. Hallway floors always wet from condensation.
Location: Good shopping too far away. Great beach though. Construction going on with lots of vehicles and workers in the area.
It rained continually for 11 of the 13 days we were there. English speaking guests were in a minority and in many cases ignored. Food OK. But wasn't kept warm enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better places to stay in dr than this one.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed in many resorts, in Dominican Republic. The service in this one , Riu bambu, was poor . My rooms a/c did not work , blew around the hot air... Called 2x. Was serviced 2x. Still did not work. When called a third time, no one came. In fact , when I called front desk , I was hung up on, so I gave up. The beach is beautiful, the food was good, but not excellent ,... There are better places to stay in the hotel zone of arena gorda. I will not return here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Do not book a hotel stay here.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing that I really liked about this hotel.
Cons: The staff needs to be more attentive, friendly, clean, and provide better service. The place can be more clean, updated, and have things working.
Do not waste your money here. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. To start off the hotel room are very outdated, the beds are very uncomfortable, and the room phone did not work. We reported the room not working to the front desk so that it can fixed, they stated that the phone will get repaired that same day. We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and reported the phone not working every single day sometimes twice a day to the front desk and by the time it was time to leave the phone was still not working. The pool was dirty, the comforter and beds had a bad smell, the eating areas are not air conditioned, the beach area is dirty due to cups, cigarette buds, stuff left behind, and algae not being cleaned by the hotel staff. The worst thing about this hotel is the staff and the food. The staff is not friendly at all, they are not helpful and they seem to have a bad attitude/negative with the service they are suppose to provide. The food was horrible, we got food poisoning, the food doesn't have any flavor to it, and the plates were dirty. We even found a dead roach on a plate where the clean plates are kept. Never again will I return to this hotel/resort. I really expected more from a RIU hotel since I have visited some in Cancun but they are not the same at all. Seems like a totally different chain other then RIU. Do not book a trip here unless you want to have a bad time and experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough. Great entertainment

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Front desk officers failed more than once to be helpful. They took forever to address issues like there was no water in the villa, the tv never worked, taxi service to airport. We were disappointed at such service, while the hotel itself was beautiful, well kept and entertainment was outstanding.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice but needs remodeling urgent

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Nice beach, the hotel ground is beautiful and well maintained. staff ok. The rooms are outdated, they say the beds are queen size but they are full size. So we had two beds and a sofa bed in our room. The sofa bed was dirty and very uncomfortable. There was cockroaches in the hallway. There was tons of food available, but All tasted like cardboard. I've been to excellent Riu hotels before, that's why I booked this one. But it was disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Moldy Room

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Our room smelled very moldy, especially the bathroom. Towels arrived smelling moldy. Our clothing and belongings started smelling like mold from being in the room. Pool entertainment was fun, maintenance and housekeeping were very kind, however buffet staff were rude and bothered by our presence. Planning excursions or nights out off-site were difficult because hotel coordination was very disorganized. I wouldn't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry CT USA

Nice hotel, beautiful place.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Small trouble with check in, but after all we are very happy. Beautiful beach one minute walk from room, swimming pools for everybody, there is great place for families with children of any age and adults. Food amazing....any kind....every day different. Water sports for active people...most of them included.... The best place for people interested in scuba diving, Great stuff instruktors from Scuba Caribe.....and affordable prices and very professional.