Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

No too bad, but not good enough !!!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The hotel is accessible and close to the beach, l noticed since l arrived a weird smell in the room and diferentes places at the hotel, but it wasn't all the time, the staff is friendly but not so helpful until you ask, they spend more time talking to other members of the staff or looking at cell phone before to pay attention on your needs for a drink or information. I reported the TV remote control wasn't working since the first day to the last day (call more than 3 times to the lobby to send some one to fix it) but nobody show up to fix. The first day they have a black out at night in all the hotel, at 10 pm approx, it was for about 10 minutes. The food is OK but isn't the best, all is kind of buffet so you have variety of food to choice. I stayed at a USA Deluxe room but construction people were working in some room buildings, so the noise was very uncomfortable, specialty in the morning (they start working at 8 or 9 am) and they are not really friendly. The Internet at the lobby was good it is free, they said the Internet in the room is for additional charge. Nite club in Riu Naiboa, "La Pacha" is free entrance for guests, but drinks have cost, l was only one day there and looks more a niteclub for staff people than guests, it was overcrowded for the guys for the staff, no very fun, l only stayed about 30 min and l got bored. For the price l paid, the hotel don't deserve it, next time l will check other options.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice beach

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Beach,Pool and smoking area's
Cons: Staff personality and knowledge of things .Restaurants availability. What is available for your in room bar and fridge. Also when doing this review y
Location: Location is good if you do not plan on leaving resort. this is a group of resorts that is far off main road. Any excursion is a bit of a ways off.
Nice beach. Nice Hotel. Half the staff rude and unknowledgable. Half the staff very nice. All restaurants are buffet. Can not get food on your time table. All Restaurants close down a couple of times during the day and all at the same time. No food before 7am and after 10pm. Only one bar open after 10pm. They only stock your bar in room every 2 days. We asked to remove beer and all soda from fridge, asked only for diet pepsi and water in fridge. For 2 people in room we only got 2 diet pepsi and 2 water for 2 days. What was nice in the in room bar was The liquor dispensary, but if you need a mixer you have to go to market and buy it cause they wont stock enough in fridge. They have soap in bathroom but no shampoo or conditioner or lotions so bring your own. For smokers, no smoking in rooms or restaurants. You can smoke anywhere on grounds outside including pool area and also on your balcony or patio. can also smoke on patios of restaurants where you can also dine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Wonderful place to stay. I only wish the pillows would have been better. Never had a more enthusiastic staff experience. Planning on going back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Famous Brand, but Overused Hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Good Famus brand, but highly overused hotel. I didn't expect a lot, but few things that I do like and don't: Pros: - friendly stuff - big good positioned connected hotels area - a lot of choices to eat, drink, have fun - great atmosphere - nice drinks - great ocean Cons: - overused equipment in all over in the area (you know that feeling when you don't want to seat and be, because it's old,over clean and overused almost everything: from bar to the pool/ocean chair. - overused broken bed - not working and broken AC - dirty looking overused food plates - quality and selection of food - absolutely NOT good, no taste, not recommended, after 2 days - bored and not healthy, eventually you only gonna choose to eat their good pizza to the rest of your stay. - lots of loud music - annoying friendly offering of every 5 mins of something to buy at the beach - there is nothing to see at the evening, shows are sucks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

mediocre at best

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I filed a complaint and no one answered me. Someone was able to open the balcony screen door at 5am and get into our room. I have yet to hear from management. Rooms and bathroom outdated.
3 out of 5
by Ashok

All-inclusive resort below par

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The quality of the food and drinks was below standard for an all-inclusive resort, especially at the so-called specialty restaurants ( Mexican, Italian and Asian). The drinks in the room were all local Dominican brand and most of us who drank more than one of those got a headache. The fitness room was actually part of the resort next to Riu Bambu and at least 15 minutes walk. While the beach and sand were excellent and it was in the high 70s and low 80s when we went from Dec. 30 to Jan. 6th, the daily evening entertainment was not of a high enough quality that anyone would pay for if it was not included in the all all-inclusive price. Besides the announcements were mostly in Spanish and so loud that even when they spoke a few words in English, it was hard to understand what they were saying due to poor sound clarity. The clothes we sent for washing for their laundry service took 48 hours instead of 24 hours at most hotels. The Wifi service was spotty, worked well but its strength kept going up and down like a yo-yo. Overall certainly below par and I would not recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: jBeach
Cons: TDrawers wouldn't open and close, clock radio didn't work, TV remote didn't work, had troubles with safe. Hallway floors always wet from condensation.
Location: Good shopping too far away. Great beach though. Construction going on with lots of vehicles and workers in the area.
It rained continually for 11 of the 13 days we were there. English speaking guests were in a minority and in many cases ignored. Food OK. But wasn't kept warm enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better places to stay in dr than this one.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed in many resorts, in Dominican Republic. The service in this one , Riu bambu, was poor . My rooms a/c did not work , blew around the hot air... Called 2x. Was serviced 2x. Still did not work. When called a third time, no one came. In fact , when I called front desk , I was hung up on, so I gave up. The beach is beautiful, the food was good, but not excellent ,... There are better places to stay in the hotel zone of arena gorda. I will not return here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Do not book a hotel stay here.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing that I really liked about this hotel.
Cons: The staff needs to be more attentive, friendly, clean, and provide better service. The place can be more clean, updated, and have things working.
Do not waste your money here. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. To start off the hotel room are very outdated, the beds are very uncomfortable, and the room phone did not work. We reported the room not working to the front desk so that it can fixed, they stated that the phone will get repaired that same day. We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and reported the phone not working every single day sometimes twice a day to the front desk and by the time it was time to leave the phone was still not working. The pool was dirty, the comforter and beds had a bad smell, the eating areas are not air conditioned, the beach area is dirty due to cups, cigarette buds, stuff left behind, and algae not being cleaned by the hotel staff. The worst thing about this hotel is the staff and the food. The staff is not friendly at all, they are not helpful and they seem to have a bad attitude/negative with the service they are suppose to provide. The food was horrible, we got food poisoning, the food doesn't have any flavor to it, and the plates were dirty. We even found a dead roach on a plate where the clean plates are kept. Never again will I return to this hotel/resort. I really expected more from a RIU hotel since I have visited some in Cancun but they are not the same at all. Seems like a totally different chain other then RIU. Do not book a trip here unless you want to have a bad time and experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough. Great entertainment

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Front desk officers failed more than once to be helpful. They took forever to address issues like there was no water in the villa, the tv never worked, taxi service to airport. We were disappointed at such service, while the hotel itself was beautiful, well kept and entertainment was outstanding.