Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Personal agradabpe y buena playa

Posted May 14, 2016
Muy buena, lo unico las camas muy duras. La comida buena yvelnpetsinal exvelente
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst food in my life

Posted May 5, 2016
Worst food in my life! I will never go to the Riu Bambu again. We didn't have one good night sleep due to the extremely uncomfortable beds, and the food was the worst I've seen on any vacation I've ever been on
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Close to beach, Still not worth it!!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The beach, that is it.
Cons: The rooms. the staff. the bars. the food. Everything except the beach
This hotel has a beautiful beach, That is where the good stuff ends. The rooms are OK but the beds are literally like sleeping on boards. 3 days out of 7 we either did not have hot water or had water rushing under our door from the hall way, from an unknown issue that was never properly explained. The fix for that was to cover the spill with towels and then stand outside our room at 10:30 at night and talk very loudly till the mess was cleaned up. The good times do not end there though. Then you get to the buffet which is a veritable feast of lack luster food. It is the same stuff everyday and their is perhaps one or two things on the buffet even worth eating. If you are lucky enough to get reservations at the "restaurants" as they call them you are in store for a slightly better eating experience. All theme restaurants are actually buffets and not true restaurants at all though. Everything in the theme restaurants is pre-prepared and simply waiting for you to choose the least unappealing sounding thing and trust me when i say, you will not be disappointed because it is all indeed unappealing. Then there is the bars, We were there for 7 days and drank quite a lot and did not once catch a buzz. For those of you who have chosen the all inclusive vacation you know that one of the biggest perks is being able to consume as much alcohol as you like for one price. All in all not what I expected out of my vacation. Do your homework and please PLEASE go somewhere else!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach outdated resort

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Overall the resort was outdated. I don't recommend for people with food allergies or sensitivities since nothing is labeled. The beach was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice hotel: Beautiful Beach.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Room and beach.
Cons: Food variation and staff attitude.
Location: Location is excellent.
Stayed in building 17 3/30-4/6/16. Nice location and standard room. Booked deluxe room but they were all out back and not as nice as standard room. Expedia need to do a better job describing what you get for upgrade. Staff not friendly, all buisness with no smile or dialog. Traveled with another couple and staff seemed frustrated when asked to have rooms in same general area. Took 3 attempts to get it right. Food marginal for all inclusive. Had minor GI issue towards the end of trip. Steakhouse good. All other specialties not worth your time. Buffet OK. Minor variation to menu. Don't bother booking transfers to/from hotel. Taxi ($40US ea way) and much more convenient for a group of 4. Only 1 ATM in entire 5 RIU resort area about a 20 min walk from Bambu. Would expect more (like 1 per lobby). Tipping not required but is expected. Beach excellent and clean. Plenty of loungers but many broken. Pool small and loud with resort Ent staff screaming all afternoon. Only 3 bars in resort. 2 near pool, and sports bar which is a joke. None convenient to beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hinckley, IL

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was so friendly and fun. This was also affordable. The grounds were very well kept
Cons: When trying to making dinner reservations, the times were limited. You could make dinner reservations for nights. The times were limited.
Location: There were several excursions you could go on if you wanted. The were enough activites throughout the day for kids and adults.
The beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is being renovated one buidling at a time, so that was not a problem at all. I would stay there again. The food was buffet style for breakfast and lunch. For dinners there is a choice of Italian, Mexican, Steakhouse, Asian Hibachi and buffet. There are several choices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Nice hotel with a beautiful beach

Posted Apr 4, 2016
This hotel is older but it was clean, comfortable and the staff is genuine and sincere about wanting your stay to be great. The towels had an odor. But that was the only negative thing that I found.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2016
In general good but it can be better. Food is good but selection is limited. Beach is not cleaned and a lot of broken chairs over there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Solid for the price

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Friendly and mostly helpful staff, decent food at the reservation restaraunts for dinner. Rooms were dirty, sticky, musty. Air conditioner was old and didn't work well, made the whole room uncomfortable- rooms could definitely use an update. Everything on the grounds was nice, it's just a bit cramped poolside. The quality was as good as the other Rius I have been too, the difference is these Rius had considerably larger pools, swim up bars and space around the pools for the same # of guests than this did. However the beach here was the best I have been to in the Caribbean, easily. Overall it's not so much that I wouldn't recommend to a friend- id just give them a disclaimer about what I said above, and maybe recommend they go to the Riu Palace Punta Cana as a nice alternative. Overall though, solid resort for the money and a great trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

Grway hotel, very close to beach!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Got free upgrade from Bambu to Palace! Decent buffets, great food at the restaurants. Perfect beach, good pools!