Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a very good vacation!!!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Well we stay for one week it was very good , we really have a good time , the room was comfortable, every day we have room service cleaning the room , the outdoors was very clean , the food was also very good , the beach was really pretty, the only bad thing I have to say it's the wifi , at first they tell you that you can use wifi for free on public areas , that free wifi sucks, I have finally to pay for wifi for 4 days because I was disconnected !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
waisting your money booking here! I believe they are renovating in a year so I guess that means you stop fixing things that break for your current guest !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Great hotel and staff altough not as participate like other places. The food is not as great as in Cancun, but it is more than good. Also, the hotel has plenty of natural views that are unique. Do not take any tours...they are expensive and low in quality.....if you are in Punta Cana, enjoy the resort, the beach and the facilities by staying there.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Disappointing for 3.5 star

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: The location, the pools for different age groups.
Cons: Customer service starting at the front desk, bar, restaurant and definitely improved the taste of food.
Location: The location is spectacular. The water is amazing. The pools accommodate all age groups. We took some tours within reasonable timing.
Their customer service is horrible. Check in is at 3PM we were given our keys at 3:30 and found the staff cleaning our room and they were upset that we had the keys, as if it was our fault. The bar service is terrible, George was worried about counting his tips instead of serving drinks. We made reservations for dinner that somehow didn't make it to the restaurant and the person in charge was less than accommodating. After we arguing that this was not our fault he gave us a table, the restaurant was empty, instead of him apologizing for the inconvenience, he was very upset and no one came to our table to offer drinks or pick up the plates... I overheard other guest complaining about the same issue. The food was bland, good only 50% of the time. The fruit taste amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from COLOMBIA

The Best Place Ever in Punta Cana, Dominican Rpblc

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: The shows are very cool, the dancers and the host makes a great job every night. Our favorites restaurants were The Asian Food (Hitachi) & THE BEACH.
Cons: Probably the staff needs to pay attention to take care of beach area, some tourist re not aware to keep clean this area. Too much wasting of food.
Location: We were in making boogie adventures, excellent. Also, we were sailing by catamaran with drinks inclusive. Finally, we were in an spectacular Island.
We' ve made check out yesterday from this hotel and I just have a word to describe it, LOVELY. The warm attention from their staff, the gentleness for every one and of course! the carefully service from the concierge and their group will make us remember this vacations forever. The pool area is fantastic and the coctails from La Plaza bar are good, I defenitely recommend the Lucumba and the Sangria. The restaurant staff is amaizing, they work as ants to provide the best service possible. My favorite meal was the breakfast, I recommend the eggs from the chef of this station, the waffles, the chesses and the cakes and muffins in the bars, from Colonial restaurant. People work there with care, I know because the last one leave the place around 12 a.m. and I guess some of them are starting very early in the morning in order to prepare the breakfast. I will regret of one thing, it is the fact do not give enough tip to waitress, I have to say everything is very clean and bright as possible. The beds inside the rooms are very comfortable, they will give you the best relax to recovering after a full day of activities. Even the sofa bed is comfortable, trust me, I have spent 5 nights on it ;). Finally, The Beach is amazing is like a piece of paradice, we only hope more people be aware to keeping clean their area in order to protect this spectacular place. I've to say thank you to Patrick, Juana, Antony, Victor and the other staff members. Definitely, we will see you soon!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Such a great trip

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Staff Food Ocean Views Well Kept
Cons: Maintenance issues
Location: Drinkpoint is a good local spot with a younger crowd. We had a lot of fun at this club. ORO club is awesome... GO CHECK OUT HARDROCK!
Honestly this hotel deserves more than 3.5 stars. It definitely caters to a younger crowd, and the pool parties were jumping. Entertainment every night was awesome. I know a lot of people stay at the hotels around this one, because the décor and rooms are nicer but everyone comes to our resort at night because we have way better entertainment. We had a renovated room (ask for one) I cant comment on if all of the rooms looked like ours, but we were really surprised considering the reviews. The staff is AWESOME... make sure you tip. Food surprisingly was good! We went to the steakhouse, Japanese and Mexican A LA CARTE. Delicious. Make sure you get up early and make a reservation. Well worth it. Buffet was pretty good. I really liked the fact that every night they added new items or changed it up a bit. It wasn't the exact same stuff every night. Breakfast was good too. My only con was our toilet, lol. We had to call front desk to get someone to come fix it a few times... and our double beds were not very comfy. But we were barely in our room so it wasn't a big deal to us. Pool parties were so much fun and our overall experience of this place was awesome. I was definitely a bit worried prior to booking because of the reviews but after staying here I would DEF go back. Its about a 30 minute drive from the airport and the casino and disco are close by the resort. (cant comment on those too much because we rented a car and went to the clubs off the resort.) STAY HERE!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Personal agradabpe y buena playa

Posted May 14, 2016
Muy buena, lo unico las camas muy duras. La comida buena yvelnpetsinal exvelente
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst food in my life

Posted May 5, 2016
Worst food in my life! I will never go to the Riu Bambu again. We didn't have one good night sleep due to the extremely uncomfortable beds, and the food was the worst I've seen on any vacation I've ever been on
4 out of 5
by JOSE MANUEL from BOGOTA-COLOMBIA

SUPERO LA EXPECTATIVA.

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Realmente la estadía fue muy placentera, la gente del hotel espectacular, meseros de los restaurantes y bares se esmeran que el cliente este bien atendido, los de las toallas no hay problema las veces que requiera ese servicio,encuentro confianza y generosidad en todo lo que brindan,la comida super deli...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Close to beach, Still not worth it!!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The beach, that is it.
Cons: The rooms. the staff. the bars. the food. Everything except the beach
This hotel has a beautiful beach, That is where the good stuff ends. The rooms are OK but the beds are literally like sleeping on boards. 3 days out of 7 we either did not have hot water or had water rushing under our door from the hall way, from an unknown issue that was never properly explained. The fix for that was to cover the spill with towels and then stand outside our room at 10:30 at night and talk very loudly till the mess was cleaned up. The good times do not end there though. Then you get to the buffet which is a veritable feast of lack luster food. It is the same stuff everyday and their is perhaps one or two things on the buffet even worth eating. If you are lucky enough to get reservations at the "restaurants" as they call them you are in store for a slightly better eating experience. All theme restaurants are actually buffets and not true restaurants at all though. Everything in the theme restaurants is pre-prepared and simply waiting for you to choose the least unappealing sounding thing and trust me when i say, you will not be disappointed because it is all indeed unappealing. Then there is the bars, We were there for 7 days and drank quite a lot and did not once catch a buzz. For those of you who have chosen the all inclusive vacation you know that one of the biggest perks is being able to consume as much alcohol as you like for one price. All in all not what I expected out of my vacation. Do your homework and please PLEASE go somewhere else!!