Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota-Colombia

Vacaciones en el RIU Bambu

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Todo
Cons: Establcer zona para fumadores
Estuvimos con mi esposa 4 noches y 5 dias y la experiencia en general del hotel fue muy buena. La variedad y calidad de la comida y bebidas es acorde al precio pagado, por mejorar mayor oferta de comida de mar y mariscos, ya que estos solo los vimos en la cena de navidad, que realmente estuvo muy buena. El area de piscina, bar y playa estan en buenas condiciones y el personal es atento en general. Un aspecto muy negativo es que el hotel no tiene establecidas zonas para fumadores y entonces te encuentras gente fumando en los restaurantes, halls, salas de espera, generando un ambiente terrible y muy molesto para los no fumadores. Mi experiencia fue muy agradable, de resaltar el chekc in y el chek out que es muy rapido y sin complicaciones Volveria a este hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great staff

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: We were told we could you all the properties and we're denied at Rui Marco and Rui palace Also children were too involved in adult entertainment
Arrived at 5am check in is not till 3pm but they accomidated us also everyone is so friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel at any cost!!!

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Money was stolen from the room. No reaction from the management !! Food below average . Beach was dirty and never cleaned. Ants and cockroaches in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia pa

This what a vacation is called .

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The staff , grounds , pools food and everything in beetween .
We came stressed and tired to the hotel, but left rejuvenated and happy. This hotel has been the one we measure all other hotels against, and so far they have all come up short. Travelling with a baby can be something of a challenge. At Riu Bambo the staff was so helpful, fetching extra towels, looking after, playing and even carrying our little daughter around . Every evening we had the buffet, and every evening we were surprised how much it was changed from the day before. The food was incredible good, and very beautifully and tastefully displayed. I am a great lover of coffee, and the morning coffee was a tasty and delicious way to start the day, even when our adventurous daughter was trying to elope from the table. Riu Bambo has a long pool (though none of the staff could tell me exactly how long), and ending the day with some laps in the quiet evening after our daughter was sleeping, was pure joy. All in all, my wife consider this, the best hotel we have stayed on, and can highly recommend .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a wonderful experience

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Lovely Hotel overlooking the sea . Staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a junior suite, which for 4 people is too large, but i won't complain. Room was very modern, all amenities. Hotel premises are very nice, with great pool area and private beach. The Restaurants down by the sea, which specializes in sea food was great. Good quality food and good staff/waiters. The lounge area outside was also very cool, live music in the evenings overlooking the carribeam sea, and if you are into shisha, you can smoke that too. Overall a nice hotel, and from this experience will consider other RIU RESORTS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Decent hotel near the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2015
We stayed at RIU for a week. Overall the experience was good. 6 out of 10 of us became VERY sick throughout our stay because of the drinks and food, which was a huge disappointment. The hotel staff is very unprofessional making crude comments to the women in our group making them feel very uncomfortable. Not a big variety in drinks and overly crowded. Not nearly as nice as previous RIU's vacationed at. Probably would not go back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by rosana from Santo André

decepção

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
contando que o wifi do hall do hotel era péssimo e todas as pessoas tinham problemas, no meu quarto tinha um cheiro horrível, as paredes estavam mau pintadas, o telefone não funcionava e ainda não nos serviam na piscina e nem na praia. Mas o maior problema que ainda não falei é que acho que a água que nos serviam estava contaminada, pois tive diarréia enquanto tomei aquela água, por ser rede Riu e já ter ficado em um Riu em Cancun, este é bem inferior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bonita J

Great Vacation

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Orbitz
This is the 4th time I have vacation in one of the Riu Hotel Resort. It is a great place, excellent restaurants the chefs always have a big smile and they try to accommodate the guest with whatever request one may have. The beach.... awesome.. lots of palms trees .. I love. This year I thought I will try a different Hotel just to see. Well, ... I will not say the name of the Hotel, but the room was dirty, the lamp on the night table did not work, the safe-deposit box did not work...the upholstery on the furniture...WOW..dark bleu and worn out that combine with black furniture imagine.. and the beach.. bear, no a tree, palm or other, not an inch of shade, no parasol nothing.. so much so that the following day I requested a transfer to the Riu. Unfortunately they had no room available, so I had to wait a couple more days, but at the end I got a beautiful vacation. Highly recommend the Riu Hotel Resort. Ooh!! thank you for the Riu hat guys, I love.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Buenos Aires

Buen hotel en relación precio/calidad

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Todo muy bien realmente. Estuve poco tiempo, por trabajo, pero el hotel está muy bien, en especial la gastronomía. Es verdad que por momentos se siente mal olor en la playa pero creo que no es atribuíble al hotel. Personal muy amable y atento. Es un incordio que no haya wifi en las habitaciones (año 2015...) pero como contrapartida la que hay en el lobby y zona de piscina es muy buena (aún hay señal en la playa).
4 out of 5
by PABLO B.

Couple Trip

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Orbitz
I have to change rooms twice because of hotel inefficiency. Besides attention was not the better plus the food at the different buffets were not good enough. Just one of the restaurants had air conditioning system. The rest have been hot hot and hot.