Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia pa

This what a vacation is called .

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The staff , grounds , pools food and everything in beetween .
We came stressed and tired to the hotel, but left rejuvenated and happy. This hotel has been the one we measure all other hotels against, and so far they have all come up short. Travelling with a baby can be something of a challenge. At Riu Bambo the staff was so helpful, fetching extra towels, looking after, playing and even carrying our little daughter around . Every evening we had the buffet, and every evening we were surprised how much it was changed from the day before. The food was incredible good, and very beautifully and tastefully displayed. I am a great lover of coffee, and the morning coffee was a tasty and delicious way to start the day, even when our adventurous daughter was trying to elope from the table. Riu Bambo has a long pool (though none of the staff could tell me exactly how long), and ending the day with some laps in the quiet evening after our daughter was sleeping, was pure joy. All in all, my wife consider this, the best hotel we have stayed on, and can highly recommend .
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a wonderful experience

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Lovely Hotel overlooking the sea . Staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a junior suite, which for 4 people is too large, but i won't complain. Room was very modern, all amenities. Hotel premises are very nice, with great pool area and private beach. The Restaurants down by the sea, which specializes in sea food was great. Good quality food and good staff/waiters. The lounge area outside was also very cool, live music in the evenings overlooking the carribeam sea, and if you are into shisha, you can smoke that too. Overall a nice hotel, and from this experience will consider other RIU RESORTS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Decent hotel near the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2015
We stayed at RIU for a week. Overall the experience was good. 6 out of 10 of us became VERY sick throughout our stay because of the drinks and food, which was a huge disappointment. The hotel staff is very unprofessional making crude comments to the women in our group making them feel very uncomfortable. Not a big variety in drinks and overly crowded. Not nearly as nice as previous RIU's vacationed at. Probably would not go back.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

The food was the best

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Nice Food
Cons: More availability of kayaks and sea sport, you have to make reservations for one or two days after.
Location: The location in front of the beach is good, they provide free transportation to near malls every day.
It is a very nice Hotel for a budget vacations, the amenities were good enough to keep us 7 days without boring. The Food was nice, usually, all included hotels food is not as good. About drinks, ask for specific brand or you will get the homemade liquor which is horrible, for example, Red Label whisky or Jimador tequila.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 Days in Punta Cana....it was ok

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The reception staff was ok, but unless you spoke spanish the bar staff ignored you alot.
Cons: Treat everyone equally...English speaking too!
Stayed at the Riu Bambu. When you first get there you are impressed with the lobby and the greeting you recieve...someone brings a tropical drink for your group which is quite refreshing. Take a few steps towards "La Plaza" which is the main bar just outside the reception area and you are met with the stench of what seemed like rotting fruit or even sewage! The smell stayed there for our entire stay, it was putrid! When we got to our room we immediately looked for a receptacle to charge our dying phones...there was ONE in the whole suite, in the bathroom. The receptacle was HANGING out of the wall! Exposed wiring! I have a picture of it and will upload it off my phone when i get a chance. There were ants ALL OVER the bathroom, we complained to the cleaning lady and she handed my wife a can of bug spray....cant make it up! The bug spray must be just as watered down as the drinks here because the ants remained for our entire stay. The drinks are horrible, watered down and the cheapest liquor their can get their hands on. From what I hear this is the norm at all the resorts...I cant say for certain. The restaurants were OK....but I never thought I would MISS the FDA...no food safety precautions whatsoever! I can go on and on but why bother. The towel guy asked me for my flip flops.....enough said! I would come back to Punta Cana but not at the Riu Bambu....the Iberostar next door looked nice. Oh and before i forget , Ive never seen so much seaweed in my life!
4 out of 5
for Families
by Eric from Washington D.C.

Great family getaway

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Our family had a fantastic time on our 7 night stay at the Riu Bambu, and overall felt it was a great value. The beach and the buffet were very good. We were pleased with the service and the activities as well. The evening entertainment was not the greatest I've seen, and sometimes the quality and strength of the drinks from the bar was not great. But again, overall, we were very happy with the Bambu and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2015
My only real complaint was the heat-but that's what I get for going to a beach resort in August! The hotel was beautiful and clean, and the staff was very helpful. My room was comfortable-if the beds were a bit harder than I'm used to, it didn't matter because I was so tired at the end of the day. The specialty restaurants were great, and there were some very interesting things to eat each day. I enjoyed swimming, drinking, playing ping pong and bingo, and the entertainment shows each night were top notch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Rooms are very dark Bed are not comfortable Beach had to much seaweeds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The hotel is nice, close to the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Cons: Rooms need to be remodeled
Location: The location it's O.K. there is a lot of trips you can take but be sure to compare prices from one agency to another big difference.
The rooms need to be updated, too old. Employees at the restaurants aren't very helpul. Around the pool employees take a long long time to discard the empty glasses and garbage.
5 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Marcos V from São Paulo

Resort Club hotel Riu Bambu!!! Top!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Resort muito bom. Todos os restaurantes são maravilhosos. Pessoal muito atencioso e simpático. Passeios estavam no preço que imaginamos. Spa é ótimo. A parte ruim é o entretenimento a noite. Achei meio fraco e um tecladista fingindo que toca algo. Às vezes tinha só CD tocando. Faltou música de qualidade ao vivo. Outra coisa ruim foi a infestação de algas que teve. Dos 7 dias q estive lá só consegui entrar no mar no dois primeiros dias, depois estava impossível entrar no mar e investou a orla toda. Mas a piscina é ótima, com bares muito bons!!!!