Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

The food was the best

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Nice Food
Cons: More availability of kayaks and sea sport, you have to make reservations for one or two days after.
Location: The location in front of the beach is good, they provide free transportation to near malls every day.
It is a very nice Hotel for a budget vacations, the amenities were good enough to keep us 7 days without boring. The Food was nice, usually, all included hotels food is not as good. About drinks, ask for specific brand or you will get the homemade liquor which is horrible, for example, Red Label whisky or Jimador tequila.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 Days in Punta Cana....it was ok

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The reception staff was ok, but unless you spoke spanish the bar staff ignored you alot.
Cons: Treat everyone equally...English speaking too!
Stayed at the Riu Bambu. When you first get there you are impressed with the lobby and the greeting you recieve...someone brings a tropical drink for your group which is quite refreshing. Take a few steps towards "La Plaza" which is the main bar just outside the reception area and you are met with the stench of what seemed like rotting fruit or even sewage! The smell stayed there for our entire stay, it was putrid! When we got to our room we immediately looked for a receptacle to charge our dying phones...there was ONE in the whole suite, in the bathroom. The receptacle was HANGING out of the wall! Exposed wiring! I have a picture of it and will upload it off my phone when i get a chance. There were ants ALL OVER the bathroom, we complained to the cleaning lady and she handed my wife a can of bug spray....cant make it up! The bug spray must be just as watered down as the drinks here because the ants remained for our entire stay. The drinks are horrible, watered down and the cheapest liquor their can get their hands on. From what I hear this is the norm at all the resorts...I cant say for certain. The restaurants were OK....but I never thought I would MISS the FDA...no food safety precautions whatsoever! I can go on and on but why bother. The towel guy asked me for my flip flops.....enough said! I would come back to Punta Cana but not at the Riu Bambu....the Iberostar next door looked nice. Oh and before i forget , Ive never seen so much seaweed in my life!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2015
My only real complaint was the heat-but that's what I get for going to a beach resort in August! The hotel was beautiful and clean, and the staff was very helpful. My room was comfortable-if the beds were a bit harder than I'm used to, it didn't matter because I was so tired at the end of the day. The specialty restaurants were great, and there were some very interesting things to eat each day. I enjoyed swimming, drinking, playing ping pong and bingo, and the entertainment shows each night were top notch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Rooms are very dark Bed are not comfortable Beach had to much seaweeds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The hotel is nice, close to the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Cons: Rooms need to be remodeled
Location: The location it's O.K. there is a lot of trips you can take but be sure to compare prices from one agency to another big difference.
The rooms need to be updated, too old. Employees at the restaurants aren't very helpul. Around the pool employees take a long long time to discard the empty glasses and garbage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 5, 2015
My family and I went on vacation for a week to punta Cana and we stay in RIU bambu. I will make it short and detail . The first day was the worst day for us, they gave us a room that had a bad smell like they haven't clean it for months and the ac didn't work. Lucky the front desk representative victor who was kind and professional and offer us another room which was better but not great. Overall the room was fair. The food and the drinks are horrible especially the "fake" cocktails that tasted more than water than liquor. The beach had lots of seaweed and isn't clear. The best part of our trip was when we did excursion to other places in punta Cana . Honestly this resort should be rated a 2 stars.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Generally a good value for the money

Posted Aug 2, 2015
We had a good time overall but a few concerns: the intermittent smell of used waters is something that should be addressed, and the absence of lifeguard on duty during the day hours is a big concern. We spent a week in the hotel, overall the staff was very friendly, the food was overall of good quality, the animation team is comitted to make the guest comfortable. Regarding the themed restaurants there was not a significant difference between them and the main restaurant. For example a Mexican restaurant without Mexican music.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA


Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: the palm trees
All your staff need to be retrain, They have NO idea what service means too much seaweed in the beach Non-enjoyable. Your buffet is always the same nothing change from one day to another. very poor experience No happy I Don't recommend this Hotel at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Here's my review that I sent to Expedia. I cannot find a place on Riu's website to review it... "This hotel was billed as a 5 star hotel but is nowhere close. The rooms are old, dirty and beds are uncomfortable. Room Towels all smell like mildew- intensely. The resort is on an Atlantic beach so the ocean drops off sharply is not turquoise and beautiful as billed on the website. When we were there late June the beaches were filled stinky seaweed and unusable. We paid for additional wifi which only occasionally worked. Upon arrival there Bathroom had mild in the toilet and hair on the floor and toilet. One of the Asst managers was beyond rude and condescending when I addressed these issues and did absolutely nothing to compensate. We had cash stolen from our room on two occasions and debit card was hacked. The workout room is not on property and a joke. Not enough chairs at pool for the property. The only positives were friendly staff and fun pool activities.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorado, P.R.

Hotel bueno fascilidades comodas

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Muy bueno fascilidades comodas y muchas actividades, limpio muy buenas atenciones, le faltaria unos carritos para poder moverse dentro de las instalaciones y para llegar a la calle caribeña