Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

great vacation

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Pros: The grounds and rooms are beautiful and well maintained. The location and the beach are excellent.
Cons: The lighting in the bathrooms needs to be brighter. Additional staff and refreshments should be available for late night and early morning departure
Location: Location was excellent!
We enjoyed our recent 7 day stay at the Iberostar Bavaro Suites. The majority of the staff was very friendly. At the lobby bar, Daniel, Leidy, Santiago and Reuben were outstanding! Mr. Eisy and Stefani of the entertainment team did a fabulous job and by the pool Angel and Juan were great!! The suites were clean and beautiful, however the lighting in the bathrooms was not bright enough. We had a 4:00 am pick up for our return and it was disappointing to find no coffee or light refreshments available. There was only 1 staff member behind the desk and he was less than efficient. I completed a preregistration on line prior to arrival, which did not seem to make any difference in our check-in. We had requested 2 rooms with 2 beds and were given 1 room with 2 beds and 1 with a king. Check in took a long time and they couldn't seem to find our reservation at first. But for the most part we really enjoyed our stay and plan to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Resort

Posted Apr 23, 2018
We loved this resort and will definitely be going back! Nothing negative about it. Beautiful grounds and the best beach. The staff is friendly and helpful.One wish would be the ability to control the air conditioning in room, we found it to be a bit warm!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south dakota

Nice resort with friendly staff

Posted Apr 22, 2018
We had a fabulous time. All the staff were friendly and engaging with patrons. The food choices were excellent especially the buffets, they offered something for everyone. We are already talking about coming back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2018 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking some time to post an update review about your experience at Expedia. Thanks for your positive comments about food,staff, and service in general. We hope to welcome you back soon, so do not hasitate to contact us in your next visit. Best Regards, Quality Manager Online, IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent value but solid 3 star hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2018
decent value but solid 3 star hotel - you get what you pay for
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Not all speaks English, food is the same everyday, not to many activities , just nice beach and hotel views
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much to stay in our destination and also for sharing with us your concerns about your experience. We are truly sorry that you could not get the positive experience we use to provide to our visitors. As you may understand the language speak in this country is Spanish but we have a trained staff that can communicate in English and also German, French and other but we will keep improving on that, as well as the food variety and activities offered. Please give us another chance to make you have a better stay. Warmest Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Amazing Wedding Week

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Pros: Stunning beach. Good food. Everything (on the resort premises) is walking distance. Fairly priced tours / activities. GREAT staff.
Cons: Food at the restaurants, which was hit & miss. Casino was a little dark/dingy. Not letting chair hogs use towels to reserve all the good pool chairs.
Location: Dune Buggy tour was fun, but definitely NOT extreme adventure level. Dolphin Discovery was great, kids loved it. Didn't do anything else.
My fiancee and I stayed here for our destination wedding week (ceremony was NOT at the Iberostar). We had some problems requesting that everyone in our Group get rooms next to each other, but besides that our time here was amazing. What you have to understand is that it's not a five-star all-inclusive. So if you go into it expecting the 5-star treatment, you'll be disappointed. If you go in with realistic expectations, however, you should love it Because we brought 11 reservations to the resort, and because it was our wedding week, we actually got upgraded to an ocean view room right by the pool (which was AMAZING). The rest of our family got put in rooms right by each other, but did not get the king-sized beds they'd requested (got two queens / doubles, which were still big enough for two people). Food at the buffet was better than I expected (once again, keeping in mind it's not a 5-star resort). Food at the restaurants was more hit and miss (given we all had high expectations for them). So, make your restaurant reservations as soon as you can (Steak House, French place & Jambalya were the best). Also had a fairly easy time getting beach chairs in the shade. Chairs hogs reserve the good pool chairs SUPER early though. They start clearing out by 14:00 or so, but makes getting shade at the pool in the AM hard. Anyways, I was ready to move in permanently, and literally everyone in our group ADORED it. I'll def. be visiting more Iberostar resorts in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2018 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel Iberostar and for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you had an exceptional experience at our hotel. It is wonderful to hear how you describe the details of your stay; these words are certainly music to my ears. We appreciate your positive comments in an immense way and thanks to the good service of our collaborators and the beauty of our facilities, your time with us was unforgettable, thanks for your comments of beach, food, premises, activities, staff and service in general. In the same way we want to apologize for any inconvenience presented during your stay. We will share your comments with the management and the departments in charge so that they know that their work and effort are serving as it should be. Again, thanks for everything. We will be at your disposal if you need help for your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Is an okay place, but not nearly worth what it costs. We had multiple problems: we never received a bed for our daughter which was included on the reservation so she slept on the couch the entire trip, the wifi didn't work the first day, our airport shuttle came to get us 20 minutes late, and the drinks were no good. Problem is, the staff wasn't even pleasant about trying to resolve any of the problems. Definitely would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, we thank you for having chosen our destination for your vacation. It is not nice to receive bad reviews, as we work just to create good memories. We are sorry that we failed with you by making you have a good experience. We do not know the reason why you did not get the extra bed, because our staff works very fast with the requests but we will be pending on that and the others incidents you reported. Please give us another chance to make it better. Warmest Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great food, good pours, beautiful beach!

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Was a great time! Food was great, not cheap with the pours, beautiful beach to walk & swim, great staff, large rooms, nice pedicure - what’s not to like!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much to stay in our destination. It is nice to confirm the great experience you had while staying us and we just hope that you decide to come back for another one. Warmest Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Still one of the best hotels in Punta Cana

Posted Apr 18, 2018
The Iberostar Bavaro is one of the oldest resorts on Bavaro beach. Although old, it’s well maintained and updated. The layout is perfect for relaxing in a Condo like setting. We did have difficulty getting Hot water in our shower the first two days, but they fixed. We were supposed to have a King bed, but instead had two “Queen” (actually Full) beds that were worn and uncomfortable. Over all would stay again, but need to fix beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and staff

Posted Apr 17, 2018
Our overall experience was great! Except for the power on and off in our room. However, the staff moved us to another room. We would love to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Quality Manager online, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you to stay in our destination and for sharing with us part of your experience. We are happy to know that overall you had a nice experience, except for the power, which we apologize for that. Please come back, so our staff can do even more for you. Warmest Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic