Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Pools and beach lounging

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Big, but not too big to enjoy everything that it provided. The pool area and the bars were great. Special shout out so Eduardo, Madeline, Marcelino!
Cons: The rooms can be modernized- hair dryers, outlets, etc.
We went to this Iberostar for 6 days, 5 nights- a group of 14 including one infant. There were many pros and cons at this hotel that we experienced, but overall we had a great time. Upon arrival, we got there way before check-in time. The process was a little long and it seemed as if some reps were more competent than others but eventually we were told to have lunch while our rooms were being cleaned and we had no problem with that. We had five rooms total- 3 in the 2 building, one in the 5, and one in the 4. This was not too inconvenient and we were happy that we were accommodated almost immediately when we asked for roll away beds and cribs. The buffet area is pretty large- gets very full for dinner so be prepared to search for a table although the waitstaff also tries to accommodate. It is extremely hot in there, which is a con. I know it is an outdoors resort, but its very uncomfortable to be sweating profusely while trying to enjoy a meal- especially when the bathrooms are air conditioned. That was a little weird. Needless to say, we ate at the buffet almost every night and ate at the steakhouse. The pool is really large, never crowded- we sat in the same seats every day. Bar was great- thanks to Randy!! The beach was equally pleasant although you had to get up really early to get seats. The animals and flamingos were an additional experience and the theater shows were entertaining as you can get in DR- the club was always empty and too much spanish music for our taste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. It is great pleasure to know that you have had a great stay thanks to all those aspects that you have enjoyed in our property. Come back soon! Cordially, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Resort was nice once we actually got a room!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Proximity to excursions, architecture, beach, staff (other than front desk which wasn't helpful).
Cons: Don't give away our rooms! Communication among reservation staff!
Location: Saona Island tour through Seavis Tours. Day trip to Santo Domingo (although Dominican Plus pawned our trip off on someone else)
We had called ahead of time to let the resort know (as well as Expedia was supposed to call) that we would arrive a day late, but that we still wanted BOTH of our rooms held. Even if that meant paying for the night we weren't there. When we arrived after 36 hours of travel (not their fault), they told us they had NO ROOMS! They had given ours away and no one at the resort would admit to taking my call to reserve our rooms. They offered to send us to their sister resort an hour away for three days, then have us come back. We did NOT want to do that as we chose THIS resort for many reasons (proximity to planned excursions mainly). They ended up putting us up for one night at a different resort before miraculously finding two rooms the next day. As of now, they collected our money for both nights we were not there, as well as money from whomever took our rooms. We are still in the process of attempting to get money refunded. The resort itself is wonderful, but this soured our stay for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf of the entire team of IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus we thank you for sharing with us your recent experience. It's so disheartening know that we have failed with you on this opportunity due to all the downsides you mentioned. Rest assured that we have taken notes about all the matters that you have described and that the Hotel Management is aware and will analyze in details your review with all the departments involved. Please give us another chance to host you under better circumstances. Cordially, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not one of the better Iberostar Resorts

Posted Jul 14, 2016
This resort is located on a nice beach. Pools are clean and pretty good too. That where good part ends. Now to the not so good part. Food is mediocre but we could deal with that. Service was also mediocre. Seemed like they just dont want to be bothered. Majority of guests were non english speakers from south america as well as some locals. Kids club was very poorly organnized and all communication was spanish language. Wi-fi signal which is an essential part in this day and age was almost non existent in the room as well as most parts of the resort. My kids were very annoyed that they had nothing else to do besides the pool and beach. After a few hours at the pool or beach we would have liked to rest in the room and watch a movie or a show. However, most of the time we were out of luck since over 90% of programmimg was in spanish. We have stayed at Iberostar in Punta Cana and Riviera Maya and they were great. We will just stay there next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf the hotel staff of IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus we thank you for choosing us for your holidays. We appreciate your kindness to sharing the positives and negatives sides of your stay. Please accept our apology for not being able to fulfill your expectations. Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to show you the improvements. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Better than a 3.5 star hotel - very nice

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Service. Everyone was really great to work with. Can get piña coladas/etc. almost everywhere (without alcohol too.) Very clean, and kept up to date.
Cons: Steakhouse was meh. Other restaurants excellent. There is lots of smoking here. It's not allowed in the restaurants or rooms, but IS everywhere else.
Location: Not much. There's lots to do at the beach. Higüey has a cool cathedral (and a Papa Johns, lol.) Bayahibe is a kinda cool bayside village.
We've stayed in the La Romana area twice now while doing humanitarian work, and 3 times in the DR. This was the nicest resort we've stayed at. The grounds are beautiful, and things are very well taken care of. Staff is terrific - and most of them speak English rather well. The rooms were very clean, nice comfortable beds. AC worked great. The bathroom was clean and bigger than I expected - shower was great. The places we've stayed before had issues. There was also never an issue with the power, which is common down there. The main buffet was excellent - the waiters took good care of us with the drinks (we don't drink alcohol, but had plenty of sodas/water.) The changed the foods up each night, and there was a pretty reasonable variety of hot and cold foods for breakfasts. I didn't dread having to go to the buffet when we did. The restaurants were generally good - although you can read a little in the negative section about some. You'll want to make your reservations for the week as soon as you get there - especially if you have a larger group. It is nice that they don't limit you on the number of people in your group - but it is harder to get a spot with a bigger group - so plan ahead. We had a couple of nights we had to do the buffet because they didn't have spots at any of the restaurants 3 days ahead of time. Not a tragedy, because the nighttime buffet is good. I would stay here again, and you won't be sorry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing -staff was rude and dishonest

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: It was smaller than most all inclusive which can be nice when you have children. No need to walk long distance to get to the restaurants or the beach.
Cons: The staff should be more service oriented.
Location: Go to the beach, eat at the restaurants of the hotel.
The hotel staff was not very friendly and they were very dishonest. They gave us a room where the shower was not working properly. We had to change rooms with an infant. They lady cleaning the room was very rude. There are 3 restaurants in this hotel where you can make reservations. We had made reservations to the Mexican restaurant and the staff was very rude when we arrived 20 minutes earlier even though the restaurant was half empty. They did not want to accommodate us at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review you have provided about your experience at IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. We are disappointed to read that your stay was less than fantastic and that our five-star service was not remarkable on your trip. It is never our intention to overlook any guest for the services we provide to everyone at the hotel. We have verified all the aspects of your feedback and shared them with our management team who will take the appropriate steps to make the improvements. We apologize to miss the opportunity to deliver an impressive service as we normally do with all our guests. We do hope to have a second opportunity to host you back and show that we are better than this, please do not hesitate to contact us should you decide so, we will be more than glad to have you back. Sincerely, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

In general - nice resort, but no ore than 3.5

Posted May 31, 2016
Cons: Guest services should be improved. General conclusion was that Guest Service staff does not care about their customers at all.
Nice family oriented resort, good meals. I would not suggest to go to onsite restaurants, their service should be much better. The server in Japanese restaurant (Oil) messed up all our dinner. This person did not speak English on expected level, was very demanding what we have to order as "required by the restaurant". Guest service was not very good at all. We would not say too many negative things about this resort but we will not go back again. The prices they are offering and service do not match!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus and for sharing your thoughts regarding your experience with us. We must take this opportunity to express our deepest apologies for haven't made your special occasion unforgettable. It surprises us a lot because our team is always trying to please our guests and we received a lot of praises on this. You can rest assured that we have shared your complaint with the hotel management; they will do their best to avoid this type of comment. We are looking forward to have the chance to amend your disappointments and serve you again. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from western NC

Great stay in La Romana area of DR

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautifully maintained with lots of tropical foliage. The food was varied and very good and we never tired of the buffet.
Cons: They should hand out the daily activities sheet upon arrival. We asked several people for this and finally found it at the towel stand.
Location: There is a small town nearby with some touristy shops, but there is not much to do nearby.
Our family of 3 including adult daughter enjoyed every aspect of this hotel. The room was great for 3. The beach is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know that you was satisfied with the level of services and facilities we provide. Your suggestion has been shared with the department concerning. We all hope to serve you again and show you the improvements. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from verona italia

Posted May 21, 2016
soggiorno senza alcun problema con un hotel veramente maglifico e situato in ottima posizione sul mare.spazi interni e giardini molto curati.ottima esperienza.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Absolutely beautiful and genuinely five star hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The room was huge and immaculate, as was the rest of the hotel. The pool and beach were both beautiful, with plenty of sunbeds.
Cons: With the exception of one substandard member of staff on reception, absolutely nothing!!!
Location: We stayed in the hotel as a trip to Santo Domingo would have set us back 100 dollars each way, and we were very happy to hang out by the pool!!
The hotel and grounds were beautiful - and far more so than the photos would suggest. It was also truly 'all inclusive', with room service and all drinks (not just local ones) included in the cost. The gym was excellent, as was the standard of the food. The majority of the staff were fantastic. There was a hiccup with one seriously substandard and rude member of reception staff messing up a much-needed pharmacy order - but this was remedied by his excellent co-workers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the stay and experienced the excellent quality of services and facilities we are providing. On the other hand, please receive our apologies for the mishap with one of our staff member. Fortunately, we resolved your problem without hesitation. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schöne Anlage am karibischen Meer

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Stand
Cons: Essen
Location: Strandhotel direkt am karibischen Meer.
Schöne Anlage für einen entspannten All Incl Aufenthalt. Die Zimmer sind etwas älter und nicht mehr ganz auf dem neusten Stand - jedoch mit allem ausgestattet was man braucht. Tolle große Poollandschaft gepflegte, parkähnliche Gartenanlage- diverse Restaurants, Wellness und Sporteinrichtungen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast Wir möchten uns zunächst dafür bedanken dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben Ihren Aufenthalt bei IBEROSTAR Hacienda zu bewerten. Das Feedback unserer Gäste liegt uns besonders am Herzen da es auf Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten aufmerksam macht und uns so hilft den Aufenthalt unserer Gäste noch angenehmer zu gestalten. Werden wir es mit dem Management zu teilen und sie wird die Dinge so gut wie möglich machen wird sich bemühen zu. Freundliche Grüße, Qualitätsmanager IBEROSTAR Dominikanische Republik