Ratings based on 1,346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pros and cons

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Fun and relaxing resort. Beach is very nice as are the pools.large resort but the carts come frequently to take you around. Very good variety of restaurants. Breakfast buffet by beach was very good. Rooms are large and comfortable. Grounds are very well kept. Weather was perfect! Massage was very good! Cons: rooms have no views of beach and in fact we were far from beach. Service was disappointing and surprisingly poor - had to ask three times for a Diet Coke. Cleaning of room was inconsistent but when done, it was done well. Would recommend a tour of premises at or shortly after arrival - orientation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but boring!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Specialty restaurants were mostly good.
Cons: Music at the pool!! Also music later in evenings at the lobby. Live music ended at 10 pm. That's just silly.
We stayed in adults-only Ambar section. Very nice facilities but the pool was very boring...no music. They would play bingo once each day and water-exercise class. Both of theses events involved their music system but that's the only time they ever played music. Pool bartenders not especially friendly with the exception of Juan, he was always happy and smiling. And everything you read about people saving chairs at 5 am is absolutely true. It's crazy! Not sure why the resort doesn't add more chairs as there's plenty of room to add some. We probably wouldn't stay here again - we prefer a livelier atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Was a very nice hotel. I would recommend it. It was too big for my taste but the service was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia beach, va

Posted Feb 6, 2016
It was paradise! We truly relaxed and recharger. Service was amazing!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Overcrowded

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros:
We stayed at Ambar at the end of January 2016. It was our 4th stay at Bahia, 2nd time at Ambar after 4 years. They have built a lot of new villas however hotel facilities, beach and pool area are overcrowded. There are not enough cheers on the beach unless you have to get up very early in the morning and try to find an empty one. A few times we could not exchange our towels in the afternoon. We were told to carry wet towels to our room and exchange them in the next morning. A couple times we could not find seats to watch an evening show so we didn't bother to go there. We could not reserve any restaurant on the second day of our arrival. We were told that we should do it on internet 3 weeks ahead. After we express our disappointment we were offered extra seating in French restaurant . But the invitation was brought to our room in 15 min before the time stated in reservation. Our room was cleaned only once a day in the late afternoon, so we have to ask a housekeeper to exchange our towels. Stuff in restaurants were very busy and disoriented. They started to take away food and clean the beach cafeteria around 4 PM even though it should be open up to 5PM. In overall we found out that Ambar doesn't provide an adequate for 4stars service and should not be considered as a luxury hotel anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN, USA

Amazing!!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Best all-inclusive experience yet. Great food, great drinks, great service. Can't think of any negatives
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Roxbury

Beach is overcrowded.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Very clean rooms
Cons: To improve beach, add chairs and umbrellas
Location: The location is good
The hotel consists of 3 parts. The part near the beach is old and suppose to be renovated long before building Amber2 and 3. The new pats are far from the beach. and when it is hot it is hard to reach your villa, so you take a small bus. Adding much more rooms 2 times more then it was before they never added beach chairs, so to have chairs and umbrella you have to go to the beach at 6:00 a.m. otherwise you would be on the sun without chair. They have 3 lobbies in Amber. I do not understand why. From lobby to lobby you have go around the hotel. It was very difficult to make the reservation to a la-carte restaurant, but when you go, there were almost empty. Last year we were in Esmeralda, it was much better, but we decided to go adults only, it was disappointment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

My second experience with this hotel.

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Do not stay in Luxury Bahia. The only luxury there is the word in its name. Personnel is mean and unfriendly. Don't want to help with accommodations at all. We had to go at midnight to the beach to reserve beds, because during the day it is absolutely impossible to find even one. Transfer service to the airport was absolute horrible. Rep from bus company didn't even had our names on the list and yelled at us for asking what happened. We paid almost 4K to be treated like that. We ended up paying for taxi, which we were told would be $40 by the same guy, turned out it was $60 and that after we already paid for transfer when we booked a trip with Expedia. Stay away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but very very large.

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Nice hotel but too big for my taste. All in all a great time and the staff was very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beaches

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The pool staff.
Cons: The rest of the staff acted like they didn't want to be bothered most of the time.
We stayed at the Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar adults only part of the resor January 20 - 26. Our room was clean and in the middle of the resort, which was ok since we were half way in between both pools. It was a walk to get to the beach though. Overall, the resort was nice. The food on the buffets was not the best for breakfast and lunch, but we learned to have fresh omelets made and found a great place by the beach grilling hamburgers, brats, pork, chicken, and turkey every day for lunch. We ate at 5 of the restaurant for supper and each one of them was delicious. The Olivia was by far the best and our waiter Jose was by far the best waiter we had the entire time. We had issues with getting our mini-fridge refilled daily and the wait staff seemed annoyed to have to fulfill our requests. We enjoyed the staff at the pool bar! Lino, Carlos, and Omar were a delight. We had a great time, but would probably try another resort if we were to come back to the Dominican Republic.