Ratings based on 766 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Good location. Nice hotel. Recommend to stay Ambar 2. Originally was located in Ambar 1, but room was full of bugs and shower didn't have hot water. Called front desk and was moved to Ambar 2 which was much nicer and newer. Close to beach and variety of food options. Got sick one night and the hotel provided medicine and assisted. I had a great time and would recommend to stay at Ambar 2.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Staff was very friendly, great hotel and amenities. Beautiful and relaxing beach, but a lot of seaweed. The pool is very nice, but they should definitely do something about keeping in cool. Don Pablo is by far the best restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Perfect place to relax

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: No kids allowed. It was perfect because you could actually relax with all the fun included.
Cons: The bars closed at 11.3, which was to early for us who wanted to have fun.
The hotel was great. A great pool, buffet and restaurant. Also we were very pleased with the bars and staff. The only negative thing was that the AC in our room did not work. We call so they could fix it and they went into the room like 1 or 2 hours later, so we had to wait in that warm room until they arrived. After 3-4 athemps on fixing the AC, they had to change our room and we lost a lot of time, so we where a little dissapointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, poor staff

Posted Aug 23, 2015
I you want to stay at this adults only hotel make sure you don't book in August, it's almost deserted. And I paid top dollar.... The hotel is great, the whole complex in fact. Beautiful. Food is average and staff is slow to respond to your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel great amenities, warm friendly staff.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
I stayed for 5 days and I must say had a great experience will definately do it again and will recommend to all my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great trip!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Great service
Cons: Air conditioning could have been cooler.
Location: I already put that in my overall comments
The food was great. Had many options at the buffet for food selections. Also had nice specialty dining options. There was always plenty to eat with a great variety. Just got back this past Saturday. The hotel expressed they were sorry that the beaches were throwing more seaweed on the beaches than normal. The grounds people were doing their best at trying to keep it picked up. The beaches were beautiful despite the seaweed. The ocean was fine to swim in. The beaches are quite sandy and no rocks in the swimming area off the shore line. We did 4 excursions during our time. We did the Dolphin Explorer, Eco Safari, Sonoma Island, and went on our own excursion by renting a taxi and went to Macaw beach. These were all great. The hotel was wonderful. I had 5 people in my family, so we had 2 rooms, one on the 2nd floor and one on the 3rd floor in the 63000 building. The second floor room was quite comfortable with their air conditioner. The third floor where I was on, the air conditioner could never get the room "cool." It was just "satisfactory." I did call the maintenance and they were prompt in coming to look at it. It was working according to them. We survived. Outside of the air conditioning, everything was really wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Vacation

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: More english speaking staff throughout the resort.
This resort was everything and more than we had expected. I knew we purchased the ALL Inclusive resort, however we did not know it wal ALL ALL Inclusive. Starting with the variety of restaurants on the premises, variety of food, drinks, nonmotorized sport activies, close proximity to the beach, etc made this trip awesome. The only thing we did not like was the amount of seaweed washing up on the shore. Besides that, I feel that we got more than our monies worth and will definitely visit this resort again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Service is awesome

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Hotel staff are really nice. Rooms are very clean and big. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Satisfactory Hotel...3 Stars

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Food was decent and hotel is overall clean. People are blunt but friendly. Most of the staff do not know English.
Cons: More activities, improve drinks.
Location: Near beach
This was my first trip to DR. Although I did have fun, I was expecting more from the resort. The food was mostly American but good; Drinks were either too sweat or too strong from the cheap liquor. They do not offer many activities throughout the day and especially at night. Mostly, during the day you can hang out at one of their many pools (Closes too early - 6pm) or at the beach and at night you can chill in the lobby for small activities such as karaoke (Everything ends by 10:30pm). Also, In the hotel description they mention many activities as golfing, tennis, banana boat,etc. Most are not free; Only mini golf, tennis and kayaking were free. If you want to try activities outside the resort, there are promoters everywhere in the resort. Most of the day activities are over $100. Be prepared to $$$ to have fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

clean property, close to beach, great food

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Arriving at the property it was very clean and appeared well kept. Check in took longer than expected (they had my last name wrong) but we finally got a room. The room was very spacious but had not been cleaned yet. They told us that housekeeping would be there in about an hour. While waiting we tried to cool the room down but noticed the AC was on its coolest setting. Then we tried to turn the ceiling fan on but it would only spin on low. We called for maintenance and waited 3 hours for them to arrive only to tell us "maximum" (major language barrier). Housekeeping eventually made it but never stocked the mini fridge. After 6 hours, we requested a different room as it wasn't cool, fan didn't work, and fridge not stocked. They moved us to a smaller room but closer to the pool and beach. The fan worked, fridge was stocked, but AC was the same. We finally unpacked. The "all inclusive" was not truly and "all inclusive". We had to wear a wristband the whole time so staff would know not to charge us but it only covered house drinks (no upgraded alcohol) and food. Tipping was expected (not generally common for all inclusive) which was fine with us as we like to tip for good service. The food was AWESOME!!! The property is huge and has at least 10 different restaurants, 3 buffets, and multiple snack bars to eat at and all the food was amazing. The concierge service was just OK. We called one night at 10pm and asked for a bucket of ice (no ice machines in the building) and after