Ratings based on 2,396 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Nice family hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
You have everything you need to have a fun family vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Bartenders litlle to greedy And hotel stuff really helpful Hotel grounds very clean and neat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great hotel can't wait to visit again the staff very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Beautiful resort-rooms disappointing

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This resort is beautiful - the beaches and landscape of this resort are exceptional. There are many restaurants and the food is good. The rooms however have a lot to be desired. The rooms are showing a lot of wear. There is musty smell that never left the room and is also in the closet. The bathrooms have a lot of hardwater stains. There is a stocked refrigerator and chips in the room upon arrival. Some days it was restocked, somedays not. One day we didn't get hand towels or pillow cases. Housekeeping was very inconsistent. Just an FYI, you do not flush your toilet paper anywhere in this resort. It gets thrown in the trash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic resort, I would highly recommend!!!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Service, Pool, Beach, Restaurant Options, extensive breakfast and lunch options.
Cons: The rooms need some modernizing.
Location: Location was perfect!
Fantastic resort, I would highly recommend!!! The food and service massively exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were close to the beach and pool, which was an absolute treat and worked our really well for us. The service was second to none, and i'm seriously considering going back already! The resort even had flamingos and peacocks walking around, truly felt like paradise. Only snag is that our rooms were not great, and the attention to detail was just not there (in terms of replenishment). Our TV was not working properly but this was not much of an issue as we spent little time in the rooms. Great experience, and Melia Caribe helped use create some wonderful memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from miami, FL

Relaxing Visit to Punta Cana

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The resort was very nice with a great beach. Great hotel staff, everyone was pleasant and very helpful. The THAI restaurant was excellent.
Cons: The check into the resort was very upsetting, long lines, long delays and unhappy guests. The main lobby check in was not organized.
Location: stayed inside resort, no comments
we held a family destination wedding in Punta Cana. we enjoyed our stay and had great weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Nice Hotel,

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the beach
Cons: Internal movements, trains are very scarce
Location: Shopping mall just outside, beautiful beach lots of activities
Hotel grounds are enormous, trains go back and forth to and from the beach, they do take a lot to pass by. Some rooms look newer than the others. Some rooms are closes to the beach others are very far away, but in all you should be fine anywhere. Staff was a bit slow, but worked their way around Food was OK, very good on specialty restaurants Beautiful beach and nice pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Melia: never again

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Bad service. Very low maintenance. Dirty. Average food. Good beach. Overall experience: no recommendable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

food is great

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The marketplace restaurant and Agora (both buffet) lots of options and the taste is pretty good
Cons: Depending where your room is the restaurants/pool could be really far away, and if so, the trains to the lobby, restaurants, pool, etc take too long..
Location: there's a mall and shuttle bus every 10 mins to the hotel, golf is included with $65 cart fee (Cocotal golf club), downtown 10min drive
Staying at an all inclusive resort can all go down the hill if the food is bad, boring or repetative. In Melia even though it is repetitive (buffet), the main menu is always changing and the taste is pretty good. The restaurants I tried: Capri, it was salty. I prefered the buffet much better. The dominican restaurant was actually tasty :) Japanese Hokkaido and American Steak & Lobster you actually have to reserve and pay (this is not included in the all inclusive)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Could be so much better.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: large beautiful property
Cons: why twin beds? either king or 2 twins. we traveled as a family of 4 with 2 kids, we had a room with 3 beds.
it was just ok. nothing special. nothing to writ home about. our pillows smelled, the restaurants had long waits so we stuck to the buffets, we got a room for 4 people that came with 3 beds, it took 3 days to get a 4th bed in there.