Ratings based on 3,386 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful nature.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice resort. Great to walk around. Plenty of restaurants. Beach had too much sea weeds. Staff was not very friendly and was lazy. Also, during checkout, they tried charging me for something without telling me, laying that it's for something else. I asked for recipe and when I saw that, the guy argue that they told me at check-in, which was not true.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Better All-Inclusive Available in the Area

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and the food was decent.
Cons: Service could be alot better, check in could be improved and they could stop pulling a bait and switch on the rooms that people pay for.
Location: Beach, water activities
Check in was slow. Actually it was slower than slow so that made the experience at this hotel start off on the wrong foot. The whole check in process was completely disorganized and hectic. For the life of me I could not figure out why. The hostesses walking around seemed to pick and choose who to offer welcome drinks to so that was another strike. Once I finally got to the counter to check in I was told my room wasn't ready yet (I reserved a king room close to the beach) so I was given my wristband and told to come back in a couple of hours. Well when I came back to get my room keys they changed my room to a double bed in the front of the resort the farthest away from the beach. SMH. That bait and switch is ridiculous and from the looks of it I wasn't the only person they tried that with. Now onto the food, drinks, and service. The food and drinks were decent however the service was a hit or miss. Seeing that this is an all-inclusive resort one would expect excellent service however I had much better service at an airbnb that I stayed at before heading to this resort. The beach was nice. There is seaweed but nothing too crazy. One annoyance however is the fact it's hard to find towels. Like towels were non-existent. I now know that this resort is on my ban list. The negatives definitely outweigh the positives and I can not deal with the bait and switch when it comes to the rooms. That is not ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful resort!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We had great time at Melia caribe tropical, the resort was beautiful, the hotel grounds were well maintained, very clean, you feel like you are in tropical forest, variety of food to chose from, great activities for adults and kids on the beach, great entertainment in the evening as well. We were a bit far from the beach, so had to take trali, I would defently come back .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you shared your vacation experience with us. Also happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us as we strive to make every single visitor feel welcome and comfortable. Once again want to thank you for all the kind remarks, looking forward to welcoming you back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceptive internet pictures

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room we were assigned was nothing like the internet pictures. The slideing door would not close and bugs came in the entire stay. Our room was not cleaned for 2 days despite having asked front desk. The communi ation between staff and my family was horrible. The staff were bery rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your opinion with us. Your comments are much appreciated as they work as a powerful tool in order to keep reinforcing our services and facilities. Be certain we have taken well notes about your constructive review and have spoken to our departments involved. We are passionate about customer satisfaction; our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships, which is why we deeply regret you experienced circumstances which tarnished your visit We would like to thank you again for your feedback. We truly hope you give us the opportunity to host you in a future and provide a totally pleasurable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Has it all!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The Service , staff friendliness , beach, free water sports, foam party, gardens/landscape, lounge areas, no waiting .
Cons: Activity flyer, or schedule. There were some activities like the foam party and nightly events we did not know about.
Location: Beach is the best!. Mall within walking distance, and small flee market down the beach.
Cant get much better then this place. Service was excellent all the way around, restaurants, beach & pool service, bars, room service, front desk and guest services. The front desk called our room twice to make sure we were happy with everything. The maintenance and ground keepers also were very friendly and willing to help you if asked. Food was good at most restaurants,the buffets were very good. Mediterranean restaurant was my least favorite, with French being the most enjoyable. The kids zone is like a resort for your kids, my 6yr old loved it. We felt comfortable leaving him there for short periods between checking up on him. Beach or pool chairs always available, no long wait for food, drinks at any bar, or room service. The ground and gardens are unbelievable, so much work go into this resort. The beach was better then I expected! We usually don't repeat the same vacation, but we enjoyed this place so much we will make plans to return soon. Thank you Melia for a GREAT vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear J, Thank you for your review. We all at the resort always love hearing and reading our guests comments and even more to hear that the whole experience was fantastic! We sincerely hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again in a future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Huge grounds, beautiful restaurants, good food!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Huge grounds, beautiful restaurants, good food!!! Beach was great, plenty of lounges, towel service, etc We used hobie cat sailboats and kayaks every day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay! We value the trust you have put in us and would like to thank you for that. It’s always a pleasure serving you and we certainly look forward to doing that in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Huge resort, so be prepared to walk a lot

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Dominican Republic is great, with awesome people. I definitely recommend this hotel, BUT i also strongly recommend looking at others in the area since their might be ones that have all amenities closer to the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Freiby, Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate you shared your experience with us. Also happy to know that you had a great time. Our goal is to build strong and trusted customer relationships, which is why we feel exalted by the service provided by our coworkers. We truly hope you give us the opportunity to host you in a future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Incredible Trip!!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This resort had it all!! We upgraded to the Level Suites. Well worth the money! We were treated like royalty. The rooms were clean, the food was delicious, the nightlife was so incredibly fun and the staff was the next we've ever seen (and we travel 2x a year). My children had the next time. Mirian from the kid's club was AMAZING!!!! I wish she could come home with us!! The most amazing woman we've ever met. If recommend this resort to anyone, kids or no kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Kristen, Thank you for taking the time to submit an awesome review of your recent stay at The Level at Meliá Caribe Tropical. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our great atmosphere, created by our team members who strive to create authentic experiences. We hope to see you back again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

nice hotel by the beach with astonishing landscape

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: the staff ; the landscape; and location
Cons: service at dinner time
Location: i just relax and did nothing other than nothing
Beautiful landscape in a hotel with very friendly staff, spacious rooms, and an interesting variety of restaurants. The food presentation was quite inventive and pleasant to see. However the flavor and taste not always was at the same level of the presentation. We liked the French restaurant; the others were quite bland and not appealing. The service at dinner time is slow; be prepared to wait for some time from the time you order the food to the time it arrives. But since you are on vacation.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Miguel, Thank you very much for your opinion. We are glad to know you have loved our beach and astonishing landscape. We also appreciate your observations and we hope having the honor of hosting you back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing

Decent resort

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The resort for the most part is clean. The dining area by the beach was often ridden with flies likely due to placemats that weren't lifted and cleaned between guests. The rooms and linens were clean and fresh. The waitstaff at the beach dining area were not very friendly and were very slow to bring water or coffee. This wouldn't have been a huge deal if both had been available for self service. The food was good and options were varied. The family area was very far from the lobby and main dining. The trolley that was supposed to run every 15 minutes was not reliable. The waiting areas had very dirty upholstered furniture which should be changed out for wooden benches. The furniture smelled moldy. The bar areas were very far from beach areas. The facility needs an additional bar at the opposite end of the beach. The resort doesn't have a shower to remove sand before entering the pool area or rooms. Sunscreen cost $25.00. The resort was not efficient in picking up luggage for transfers. They would schedule times but then either show up very early or not at all in our case. Security didn't seem to do anything to keep people in check. Yelling at 3-4am isn't really acceptable anywhere. The family areas were often bombarded by drunk people swearing and discussing inappropriate things in front of children. I spent a lot of money for the frustrations I experienced. I also added an additional person onto my room and was overcharged by $480.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you for having shared your valuable feedback. We sincerely regret your expectations were not as expected and we would like to extend our deepest apologies for any inconvenience. You may rest assured that the relevant departments will take corrective measures in order to avoid these kinds of outcomes from recurrence and definitely we will improve our services and facilities. We sincerely hope the above mentioned, do not deprive us to have the privilege of your visit in a near future.