Ratings based on 3,349 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

very good all inclusive mega resort

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Excellent hotel beach, very good food at all restaurants. I would recommend the Thai restaurant. Rooms are not cleaned regularly and the house keeping need extra help as so many rooms. Also check in took over an hour but rectified by offer of complimentary meal at paying Gabi restaurant. Staff are helpful and plenty to do as don't need to leave the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large resort confusing map

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Grounds were well attended to and beautiful
Cons: Customer service
Location: Raining .... no time to do other things
Confusion every time we had a question . Vague answers or wrong information
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Great family friendly hotel, had all that I wanted

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly, spoke very good English, everyone ready to help.
Cons: Better clarity on pools
Location: Tennis, swimming, beach and beach activities
This hotel was great for families with young kids. I came with my girlfriend and we were a bit thrown off by the hotel claiming to have 8 different pools; in reality, there was one giant pool with 8 different sections. However, the pool bar was fine and pool was clean. Location to beach was great, and food options were very satisfactory. Only downside was that it cost $43 to get access to the Japanese Hibachi restaurant and $45 for the Steak and Lobster restaurant. All of the restaurants my girlfriend and I dined at were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful Resort with Great Restaurants!!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: I like the resort's decoration, the choices of meals offered, the daily breakfast abundance, the clean rooms, the fun pool, the friendly staff, beach!
Cons: Nothing expected from the resort or staff (great job). I do think some travelers should improve their arrogant behavior regarding communication issues
Location: Very closed to the crystal clear beach, fun at the pool, volleyball, racquetball, zumba dance the fun way and water activities!!!
My daughter and I decided to take a 4 day getaway to Punta Cana, and chose Melia Caribe Tropical! We were both very impressed with the friendliness of the staff... The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. I requested the room to be closed to the beach and pool area-only a three minute walk. The staff at this resort made sure we were comfortable at all times; from the waiters at each restaurant, to the cleaning lady who attended our room, to the staff at the pool making our drinks, to the zumba dancers Alex and Nelly, to the groundskeeper who offered us fresh coconuts from the palm trees!!! I can't express how satisfied we both felt!!They made our stay a very special one for us!!! I have a lot of gratitude towards them...One thing that bothered me was actually behavior from the travelers, some were arrogant and were getting upset at the staff because of the communication issues! Not everyone speaks English in the world!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from prior lake mn

Go somewhere else

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Gross dirty room hasn't ever been dusted. Poor service, workers just don't want to be there you can tell, they expect a tip even for crappy service. Wish I would've stay somewhere else for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Beautiful and large resort

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The beach/pool area was beautiful.
Cons: The check in process - horrible and long. Need to get this improved!
Location: Never left the hotel resort.
As with many other reviews the check in process was extremely long. Not sure why when you have a reservation but it took an hour. We were the lucky ones in our group to get a room but the others had to wait an hour before they could get into a room. Also they need a better map of the grounds and explanation of the food. We had to walk around a lot to find things and then told there were areas we could not go. Once we found our way around the place was beautiful and we were able to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful resort.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Everything about the hotel is very good.
Cons: The rooms could be remodeled.
Location: Close to shopping. Some of the excursions were a little disappointing.
The resort is absolutely beautiful. The housekeeping and restaurant staff were very accommodating. We had one small glitch. The air conditioning exploded in our room and had a flood at 9 am. The resort was moving us to another room but wasn't quite as accommodating. The assistant facility manager told us that the room would be ready in a couple of hours. We had to cancel one of our excursions and went to the beach. When we returned to move to the other room it still wasn't ready at 5 pm. In fact, the reservation desk knew nothing about moving us. After talking to other guests, it sounded as if management needs some training. But, we didn't let that spoil our vacation. The rest of our stay was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Resort is beautiful, rooms could be upgraded.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Evening action, shows and live music.
Cons: Rooms
We had a great time, weather was perfect, beach very nice. I think the rooms are in need of some upgrades. We did not go off the property, but with all the restaurants available there was no reason. Food and service was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing Resort to stay with your family, kids.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. It was my second family vacation there. I would recommend it to everybody.
The staff is really fantastic, food is fresh and delicious. The hotel is very nice, provides shows for kids and adults. Everybody is entertained. I would recommend this resort to people that travel with children. The Kids Zone is very nicely set, with swings and play sets outside, swimming pool and also indoor with separate rooms for play.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Mar 8, 2017
My family and I just got back from Melia at Punta Cana. The check in took almost an hour, which was very unnecessary. They gave us a hard time about having our room close to the other family traveling with us. The room was clean, however our safe and TV didn't work upon arrival. The staff was quick to come to the room though and fix both of these. There were 3 of us in our room, and each day we only were left 2 towels and no wash cloths. The only way we got what we wanted was if we left a note and a tip. One of the days they cleaned the floor and left a puddle in the bathroom, which caused one of my family members to slip and fall. The food was average. There was a fair selection, very similar to other all inclusives I had stayed at. We went to a few of the restaraunts which weren't bad. One thing I didn't like was staff was not helpful at the buffets. Almost had to wave someone down in order to get water/coffee/etc. The beach space was very nice! Unlike other resorts I had been to, there wasnt someone bringing you drinks at the beach. The pools were clean and enjoyable. The resort is large, and luckily have the trains to take you around which is helpful. Overall our experience was okay. There were some improvements that could have been made.