Ratings based on 3,346 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful Resort with Great Restaurants!!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: I like the resort's decoration, the choices of meals offered, the daily breakfast abundance, the clean rooms, the fun pool, the friendly staff, beach!
Cons: Nothing expected from the resort or staff (great job). I do think some travelers should improve their arrogant behavior regarding communication issues
Location: Very closed to the crystal clear beach, fun at the pool, volleyball, racquetball, zumba dance the fun way and water activities!!!
My daughter and I decided to take a 4 day getaway to Punta Cana, and chose Melia Caribe Tropical! We were both very impressed with the friendliness of the staff... The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. I requested the room to be closed to the beach and pool area-only a three minute walk. The staff at this resort made sure we were comfortable at all times; from the waiters at each restaurant, to the cleaning lady who attended our room, to the staff at the pool making our drinks, to the zumba dancers Alex and Nelly, to the groundskeeper who offered us fresh coconuts from the palm trees!!! I can't express how satisfied we both felt!!They made our stay a very special one for us!!! I have a lot of gratitude towards them...One thing that bothered me was actually behavior from the travelers, some were arrogant and were getting upset at the staff because of the communication issues! Not everyone speaks English in the world!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from prior lake mn

Go somewhere else

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Gross dirty room hasn't ever been dusted. Poor service, workers just don't want to be there you can tell, they expect a tip even for crappy service. Wish I would've stay somewhere else for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Beautiful and large resort

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The beach/pool area was beautiful.
Cons: The check in process - horrible and long. Need to get this improved!
Location: Never left the hotel resort.
As with many other reviews the check in process was extremely long. Not sure why when you have a reservation but it took an hour. We were the lucky ones in our group to get a room but the others had to wait an hour before they could get into a room. Also they need a better map of the grounds and explanation of the food. We had to walk around a lot to find things and then told there were areas we could not go. Once we found our way around the place was beautiful and we were able to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful resort.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Everything about the hotel is very good.
Cons: The rooms could be remodeled.
Location: Close to shopping. Some of the excursions were a little disappointing.
The resort is absolutely beautiful. The housekeeping and restaurant staff were very accommodating. We had one small glitch. The air conditioning exploded in our room and had a flood at 9 am. The resort was moving us to another room but wasn't quite as accommodating. The assistant facility manager told us that the room would be ready in a couple of hours. We had to cancel one of our excursions and went to the beach. When we returned to move to the other room it still wasn't ready at 5 pm. In fact, the reservation desk knew nothing about moving us. After talking to other guests, it sounded as if management needs some training. But, we didn't let that spoil our vacation. The rest of our stay was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Resort is beautiful, rooms could be upgraded.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Evening action, shows and live music.
Cons: Rooms
We had a great time, weather was perfect, beach very nice. I think the rooms are in need of some upgrades. We did not go off the property, but with all the restaurants available there was no reason. Food and service was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing Resort to stay with your family, kids.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. It was my second family vacation there. I would recommend it to everybody.
The staff is really fantastic, food is fresh and delicious. The hotel is very nice, provides shows for kids and adults. Everybody is entertained. I would recommend this resort to people that travel with children. The Kids Zone is very nicely set, with swings and play sets outside, swimming pool and also indoor with separate rooms for play.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Mar 8, 2017
My family and I just got back from Melia at Punta Cana. The check in took almost an hour, which was very unnecessary. They gave us a hard time about having our room close to the other family traveling with us. The room was clean, however our safe and TV didn't work upon arrival. The staff was quick to come to the room though and fix both of these. There were 3 of us in our room, and each day we only were left 2 towels and no wash cloths. The only way we got what we wanted was if we left a note and a tip. One of the days they cleaned the floor and left a puddle in the bathroom, which caused one of my family members to slip and fall. The food was average. There was a fair selection, very similar to other all inclusives I had stayed at. We went to a few of the restaraunts which weren't bad. One thing I didn't like was staff was not helpful at the buffets. Almost had to wave someone down in order to get water/coffee/etc. The beach space was very nice! Unlike other resorts I had been to, there wasnt someone bringing you drinks at the beach. The pools were clean and enjoyable. The resort is large, and luckily have the trains to take you around which is helpful. Overall our experience was okay. There were some improvements that could have been made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Resort...(All Inclusive)*

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Had a amazing vacation. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, butttt don't forget to bring extra cash for hidden fees and tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Excellent service.!!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great staff, restaurants & services. First timers in Punta Cana and Melìa made it a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Wonderful resort

Posted Feb 24, 2017
This was our 1st trip to punta cana and the melia caribe tropical. When we return it will be back to the melia caribe. The resort met and exceeded our every expectation and i could not imagine staying anywhere else when we return. Absolutely beautiful grounds, very peaceful and quiet. Pools were kept extremely clean, beach was wonderful to stay on, alot of fun to be had. Great job everyone at Melia Caribe Tropical.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Lusidania Jiménez / Web Community Liaison, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are very glad to know we have exceeded your expectations and more. We hope having the privilege of your visit in a near future.