Ratings based on 2,981 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Nice resort, extremely large, lots of walking, great food. Will go back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Ripped off and held hostage

Posted Feb 10, 2016
I was charged 200 dollars for my friend to come stay with me. They took my cash and then threw us both out for nothing. Held me hostage for 4 hours in a trailer. Then charged my credit card 500 more dollars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Great resort and stay!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Family suites are close to the beach and pool, very roomy and the decor is updated. Our only complaint about our room was the restocking of our snacks and mini bar was inconsistent. The food in the restaurants was better than the typical all inclusive resort. We were frequently offered rides on golf carts which was nice. Our biggest complaint overall was the extreme up selling to try to get us to buy into Melia's vacation club. Ask me/offer once and if I say no then let me be--I just don't like to deal with that on vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Great experience

Posted Feb 7, 2016
For the cost it was excellent! Very convenient with easy access to everything a Caribbean vacation should have! Excursions pick up in the lobby and the beach is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
This trip was my first vacation I took and the experience was great. Starting from the staff to the great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Overall great experience with a great beach!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
We just got back from this hotel and overall was a great experience. Pros: The beach is the most important feature to us, and it was just what we were looking for - was terrific. Grounds/Rooms are well kept including housekeeping coming several times a day to refill the snacks. Pool area was very large and clean Plenty of bar areas for unlimited drinks. Adults only LEVEL area was updated and kid free! The buffet food was a typical all-inclusive (not great but not bad either). There were some great dining options at night (our favorites were the Thai, French, and Capri restaurants). Cons: Very large property and waiting for the "train" to pick you up can take awhile. It was about a 10 minute walk from our room to the lobby (not terrible). To our surprise, the staff was not very fluent in English despite the amount of US visitors. We travel alot of Caribbean destinations and I guess we've just taken it for granted that these resorts should have plenty of bilingual employees. SPA area was very nice however the massages we received were inexperienced (felt like self-taught massage) and exorbitantly overpriced considering the service we had. We would certainly have skipped the $500 couple massage after this. Most the staff was very accommodating EXCEPT the bartenders. I know mixing drinks for everyone gets old, but at least acknowledge customers when they approach the bar. Otherwise, everyone else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

Great Stay, will return!

Posted Jan 30, 2016
The resort is beautiful! The staff was very polite and friendly even the ones that didn't speak English. There are peacocks, flamingos and beautiful birds that live on the resort. The room was nicely kept up and the housekeeper was friendly. Take money for tips and souvenirs. The food was okay but after a while we went to outback & papa johns at the mall close by and started to miss American food. The beach was stunning and sand was soft and white. There are a lot of solicitors that can spot American tourists from a mile away so just say "no thank you!"mosquito bites are just now catching up to me a week after our return but other than that, it was well worth the money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Nice hotel,close to the beach

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Good restaurants, Clean building, Nice beach
Cons: Variety of food should be improved
Location: Snorkeling on the site.
We enjoy from the first to the last day. Nice people, good service, good food. Beach is amazing. We would recommend this resort to our friends and go back. Do not buy from the near beach market next door...They will basically still from you.Be careful with the "deep see fishing" company located near this resort: We pay for 4 hours and got back in 3 hours...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location! Beautiful resort...

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The quality of the food. The grounds are well kept.
Location: The resort is easy to get to from the nearby international airport. There are bars and shopping centres nearby that one can access easily.
The resort is truly a lovely destination for holiday makers. BEST food of any resort I have visited in the Dominican Republic. The private beach was quite difficult to swim in due to an abundance of seaweed, however their pools were great! The pool bar was the highlight for me! The rooms are lovely - spacious, clean and comfortable. Highly recommend this place. It is a big resort - it can cater for up to 4,000, so things can go wrong sometimes (for example, our bags were sent to the wrong room, but this was quickly rectified). Patience and assertiveness is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2016
The staff was really good and the food also was good