Ratings based on 3,498 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlos b

Wast clase to the lovy

Posted Jul 22, 2017
the first 3 days they gime twin bed went i pay for king bed they gime the bed in my 3rd day wast incombinence
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlisle ,pa

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and clean. Staff is very friendly and efficient. The food is okay. My room was not close to the beach or the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great hotel with very comfortable beds, beauiful spa, and great food! Only down side is the check in process took over two hours to get into my room. Also received our wrong bed preferences and they then they change it right anyway. Other then that, we had an amazing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Had a great stay at the hotel despite having read some of the negative reviews here. Check in took forever, but no longer than I've experienced with similarly sized hotels or resorts. Food was pretty good and the staff was so nice! Beautiful resort overall, I would definitely make another trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The best place ever. We stay for 6 day and for sure come back next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Value Resort-Not High End

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Melia tries to bill itself as a step above the value based resorts in Punta Cana but the Caribe Tropical is not. This is a value/3 stars resort. Do not get tricked into paying more for this resort. If you like value, go with the others and save $500-$700...same quality of food, service, amenities and building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

PLEASE READ BEFORE BOOKING

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: nothing.
Cons: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE give people tours of the place. The resort is massive, which is nice, but if you don't know where anything is then it's useless.
Location: There's a beach and a pool.
I've waiting so long to write this because I've been so upset with my stay at this hotel. Every time I talk about me and my husband's stay I get emotional. To start off, we got to the hotel and people just start grabbing your stuff telling you that they will bring it to your room. It was very nice, my husband was a little nervous about it but I wasn't. We got in line to check in and the man was very nice who helped us. He did take a very long time though. He eventually said that we couldn't get a king bed so we had to deal with 2 double beds. My husband and I were on our honeymoon. So I told the man "Is there anyway that we could get a king bed even if we have to wait because we're here on our honeymoon" the man then got very short with me and said "there's no rooms left sorry should have came sooner" so my husband and I got to spend our 5 day honeymoon in separate beds. I complained online to expedia and they said they'd have someone contact us and no one ever did. The resort is MASSIVE. No one helps you or tells you where to go or gives you a tour of the place. They literally just say here's a map good luck on your own. My husband and I got lost on our first night. Everytime we tried to flag someone down they acted like they didn't see us. I was in tears because we hadn't eaten in almost 24 hours and we were in a foreign country in the pitch black and had no idea where we were. The customer service was awful and it honestly ruined my entire stay. I could go on and on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful resort

Posted Jul 16, 2017
It's a beautiful resort we had a wonderful time. The only thing is, the resort doesn't have family entertainment & our family are big on entertainment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Bad hotel and service

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Very bad experience since the first day, will not recommend or go back to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
all service and room was amazing , restaurants and all stuff was very nice