Ratings based on 3,563 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Second time .... enjoyable and pleasant. Had a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good service,friendly personnel, excellent place

Posted Aug 19, 2017
For me this hotel is the perfect place to do anything from relaxing to all kind of activities that you into.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx ,New york

Very disappointed with the facility's

Posted Aug 18, 2017
False information advertising 9 pool and 13 restaurants 3 are under construction and 2 you have to pay for that didn't stated in the information online. The local people comes in on the weekend and they are horrible move your belongings of the chairs at the poolside they crowded the bar area you can't get a chance to order a drink and their children are wild .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful hotel with a great beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel was amazing. The Thai restaurant was the best one out of the rest. The rooms were clean and comfy. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
over all evrything is fine weather is fine room clean is fine and food is fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Welcome back...

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: What's not to like!?! However, to pick only 1 thing - the staff! People and customer service make the biggest difference.
Cons: I understand the logic & business sense behind the towel cards but I believe there may be more convenient ways to achieve the same results.
Location: Quick and easy ride from the airport. Multiple excursion vendors on-site. Excursions not far from resort. Local downtown a short ride as well.
This was our second family vacation with Melia Caribe Tropical and we had as much of a great time as the first trip last year. The resort is top-notch, excellent in every way. The food is spectacular! The staff is so courteous and friendly! We enjoyed fresh coconut water by the pool, Zumba on the beach, and just general fun throughout. Even if I tried, I could not find one thing to complain about. Yes, it is a big resort but there are 4 trains to shuttle people between the main lobbies and restaurants over to the beaches and pools. Otherwise you could flag down one of the many tenders shuttling guests all over the resort in golf carts. You can even contact reception for golf cart pick-up to shuttle you between the beach/pool to your room to the lobbies/restaurants. If you desire to go to Palma Real for some shopping, they also have quick and easy transportation from the Tropical lobby. Melia Caribe Tropical and the LEV3L at Melia caribe Tropical are incredible and a brand that we trust and will continue to use for a long time. Looking forward to next year's vacation already!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Great location and food. Staff was the best of all. Rooms could use an update. The beach area wasn't great, but not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very nice resort on the beach

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Staff very friendly, outside surroundings clean, rooms clean and great a/c. Take the day trip to Saona Island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Needs improvement

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Pretty
Cons: Check in and check in staff, provide a schedule of activities, stop misrepresentating the amenities.
Location: Sailing, paddle boarding, kayaking on site.
I read the reviews prior to booking, they were varied, so I booked anyway. Here is a summary of pros and cons from my experience...hopefully you can make a better informed decision: Pros's 1) pretty resort /nice pool 2) shade near pool and beach IF you put your towels out early in a.m. to reserve lounges 4) decent selection of food 5) staff is mostly friendly, especially if you tip Con's 1) TERRIBLE check in process. Took 1.5+ hours to be helped, room wasn't ready but no one would give me a straight answer as to why. Finally able to get into my room after 6 p.m. AND it wasn't the room I paid for!! Reservation was for 1 King, I received 2 twin beds (not to be confused with doubles/full size). I couldn't change rooms easily so gave up and stayed in the room....frustrating start to my trip. 2) the description and pictures showed online are a misrepresentation of the resort. The pool shown is for Level members only, which you pay more for at the time of booking. If you don't know to do that, you are out of luck! 3) You have access to 2 or 3 pools at most (one of which is a 15ft wide infant pool). Website lists 10...blatant lie. 4) Website says 10 restaurants, 2 are for Level members only, another 2 are extra $$, 1 doesn't serve dinner so you have 5 choices for dinner. 3) you REALLY feel feel like a second class citizen if you don't stay at the Level, no one wants to feel like that on vacation 4) too much seaweed on beach, scratchy and gross
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for my Wedding and for the kids!!

Posted Aug 12, 2017
I had my wedding there and the staff was amazing and the food was outstanding. The food at the buffet was good, but all the other restaurants were even better. My guests had an amazing time. There is plenty of things for kids to do other than just pool and beach. There is a good balance. This was an absolute memorable wedding/vacation