Ratings based on 1,748 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KANSAS

CLEAN RESORT, FRIENDLY STAFF, AWESOME BEACH

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: CLEAN ROOMS, FRIENDLY STAFF, HUGE SELECTION OF FOOD AND DRINKS AND THE BEACH.
Cons: RESORT WORKERS ARE CONSTANTLY WORKING ON IMPROVMENTS AROUND THE RESORT SO I'D SAY IT'S BEING DONE.
Location: LOCATION WAS AWESOME. RIGHT ON THE BEACH.
WE STAYED HERE FROM DEC 15-20 2015. I READ A LOT OF REVIEWS ABOUT THIS RESORT BEFORE BOOKING MOST OF THE BAD REVIEWS. I CAN TELL YOU THAT 99% OF THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS WERE EXTREMELY FABRICATED. OUR FAMILY OF 5 HAD A GREAT TIME. THE ROOM WAS AS ADVERTISED. CLEANED AND RESTOCKED EVERY DAY. THANK YOU MAYOLINA!! THE STAFF WAS AWESOME. TREAT THEM AS YOU EXPECT TO BE TREATED AND THEY WILL BEND OVER BACKWARD FOR YOU. TIPPING A BUCK OR TWO HERE AND THERE GOES A LONG WAY. THE FOOD WAS FINE. MORE CHOICES THAN YOU CAN POSSIBLY IMAGINE. LA CARTE DINING WAS VERY GOOD. KOYTO WAS THE BEST. MANY MANY DRINK CHOICES AND THE BEACH WAS SIMPLY AWESOME. A SPECIAL THANKS GOES OUT TO ROSA IN THE PREMIUM CLUB LOUNGE SHE IS THE BEST. JORDY, JIMMY AND ISMAEL THANK YOU FOR MAKING US FEEL WELCOME. IN CLOSING, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS RESORT TO A FRIEND AND I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN SO PLEASE DONT BE TOO QUICK TO JUDGE AND DECIDE BECAUSE OF THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Distinguished Guest, First, we would like to thank you for choosing us as a preference for your holiday. Second, we also want to thank you for your interesting and outstanding comments. Furthermore, it was a pleasure and honored to have the opportunity to share with you during your vacations. Additionally, we also want to thank you for believing and giving us the privilege to be part of your holiday. Our hotel everything that offers to all our clients is with the only intention to them our clients feel comfortable and happy as well because you are important for us. Moreover, Rosa, Jordy, Jimmy and Ismael those people as you mentioned already are wonderful as well as our all our staffs, they are very approachable, professional dedicated and passionate for what they do. Lastly, we glad you have enjoyed everything from out hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in a not very distant future. Our best regards from Punta Cana Director, Barceló Punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moses Lake Wa

Very nice hotel and great beach

Posted Dec 28, 2015
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at our paradise and unique hotel. On behalf of Barceló Punta Cana, would like to thank you for your interesting opinion about our hotel. We are so happy that you have had an amazing time in our hotel. We hope to see you next time. Best Regards, Director, Barceló Punta Cana
3 out of 5
by tennie from PA

Not so picture-perfect

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
I requested a non-smoking room, but I didn't get that. I was told my the service desk, the hotel doesn't have non-smoking rooms. It was just horrible.I had to use my asthma pump the entire time because, my room smell like cigarette smoke. The hotel refused to accommodate me. They advised I talk to hotel.com. also, the resort didn't offer free wifi.I had to purchase wifi service.overall, I had a bad experience at Barceló Punta cana. I will not return to this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Jose Maria Ribas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all. Thank you so much for visiting our distinguished hotel. Secondly, we also want to thank you for your important comments regarding to our hotel. Moreover, we do apologize for the inconvenience that you have faced during your stay at our hotel. Barceló Punta Cana hotel, always bring the best services and accommodations for our consumers. In addition, our hotel provided non-smoking rooms that help people to prevent for future smoke; our hotel is very responsible and serious about the lifestyle of the clients. Barceló Punta Cana also provided maintenance staff to maintenance our hotel smell well and healthy to bring a quality of life for the clients. In the other hand, our hotel provided excellent internet for all our clients. We will work hard to improve and get better for the next time to accomplish the expectations of our clients. We hope to see you next time. Director Barceló Punta Cana Marcos Castillo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UIO

Beautiful beach

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Well it's a nice place, with a wonderful beach very close to your room. The ocean view from your window it's amazing. Food and drinks are no so good. It's a familiar place highly recommend if you are traveling with your kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2015 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are really happy that you have visited our remarkable hotel. We also thank you for your comments; we really appreciated that. We well take in consideration your significant comments about our gastronomy. In fact, our culinary department is working hard to improve our service and to provide good quality foods. Furthermore, we are affiliated and follow the quality management system (Iso 9001) and the international Food Safety Program (crystal standards) those are our management system which we are working for the security and satisfaction of our clients. We hope you can come back. Best regards, Director Barceló Punta Cana
2 out of 5
by Brooke from Charleston, SC

Don't bother going Premium

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Nothing was right with the hotel. When we checked into the hotel we said we were premium and they made us stand in the front desk line. We finally got to the front and they said you have a separate check in area - wasted a half hour. We booked 2 suites and asked for adjoining. We were put on separate floors, but next to an elevator which broke our 2nd day and never got fixed. We couldn't call the other room because our phone was broken. The power blew out blow drying our hair. We weren't given the same things in the fridge and didn't get robes or beach towels in one of the rooms. The premium club bar is so far out of the way it's dumb to go to it. The wifi drops a lot and isn't hotel wide. There was path construction everywhere making it hard to get around. Nobody walks around offering drinks and the bar lines are long. We won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Jose Maria Ribas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Barceló Punta Cana hotel. We also want to thank you for your important opinion regarding of our hotel. We also want to apologize for any inconvenience that you have faced during the time you were staying at our hotel; this is not our standard or policy. Our hotel delivered good facilities and accommodations for all our clients to satisfy their need. Furthermore, our hotel always makes sure that everything is in perfect conditions, well organized and excellent for the stability of all our clients. Moreover, our hotel has an excellent and efficiency maintenance staff that continuously follows up our hotel and upkeep to the hotel. They constantly make sure that everything looks well without any troubled. Additionally, our club premium bar provided good services, they always tried to bring excellent, balanced, variety foods and also purified beverage. On the other hand, in terms of the construction, our hotel is innovated and created some rooms and updated son places from it to generated good expectations with better options and entertainment to enjoy for our clients for the next time. Lastly, our hotel will work hard to improve the services and accommodations to become one of the best hotels in the Dominican Republic. We hope to see you next time. Director Barceló Punta Cana Marcos Castillo
5 out of 5
by Fantasia from Brooklyn

Amazing Time

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was perfect, from the atmosphere to the staff, to the unlimited DRINKS & the amazing food. I kind of wish they went into the Dominican Culture with the food some more and try not to really cater to the American dishes so much, i mean we are in DR. But other than that, everything was GREAT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Jose Maria Ribas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for staying at Barceló Punta Cana hotel. We really appreciated your significant comments. Regarding to your important comments from our culture; we always try to provide good quality services to our clients, this is our main objective to make them feel comfortable and happy with our rich culture. From our historic, we always have been characterized for being an amazing destination, with good food, music, beaches and entertainment. In Fact, one of the most important things is our charisma and the joy of our people which makes our country an amazing destination for vacation of the tourists. Barceló Punta Cana always will have the pleasure and privilege to share the Dominican culture with the tourists. We would like to see you next time. Warmest regards, Director Barceló Punta Cama Marcos Castillo
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Avoid this hotel like the plague.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: This place isn't going to get better. This particular hotel is not set up to cater to the US market and it is a 2-star hotel at best
Location: Get a cab and ask to be taken to Boca de Yuma to eat seafood at a local restaurant.
I will never again stay at this hotel or any Barceló property. Expedia only gives me 1500 characters so here are the highlights: -Facilities are in dire need of repair. Rooms are dirty, maid won't give you enough towels or will reuse -Staff is friendly but ineffective. I had to call maintenance several times to fix a leak in the bathroom. This went on for days. Eventually my wife had to tell maintenance how to find the leak, which turned out to be a broken pipe in the shower drain upstairs -Food is mediocre at best with very limited options. Limited selection of snacks with no healthy options between main meals -Restaurants are small and reservations are hard to get, or you may have to wait in line to get a table at the buffet Service is poor; waiters will take your order and then bring you the wrong item or nothing at all. Worst of all, we went during the off-season; I can’t imagine how crowded the restaurants are with 100% occupancy -Expensive and limited Internet service -Don't book airport transportation with Barcelo, you will have to wear 2 bracelets and put-up with disrespectful staff -The resort caters to the local market on the weekends, you will see a lot of young people drinking and making out in the pool - A good portion of the hotel (about 25%) is under construction. Some of it has already been renovated. We had a couple of rooms in the newer section and the rooms were small and still were in need of maintenance I may need to set up a website to tell the story
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2015 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are truly happy that you have visited out hotel. We really appreciated your significant comments about our hotel. Regarding to the inconvenience that you have had; we do apologize for any issues that you faced. Our hotel has one of the best maintenance services. Our maintenance department and housekeeper department always maintains our hotel in good and excellent conditions. In point of fact, our hotel always ensures the satisfaction of our clients. For sure, we are working hard to improve our services to make our clients feel enjoyable. Furthermore, our security department always provides good vigilance service, so, that issues like these do not happen in our hotel. Moreover, we would like to remark that the handling and security of our Food and Beverages is one of our main priorities and this is the reason why we are affiliated and follow the international Food Safety Program (the Crystal standards) which evaluates and audits all the levels of quality in food and beverages as well as everything related with the quality and hygiene periodically. As an exceptional hotel, our satisfaction is the stability of our clients, is for that reason that we will continued working and improving our services to satisfy the needs of our clients with the main goal to create good expectations for the present and future generations. We hope you can come back. Warmest regards, Director
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I implore you to not use Barcelo

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, NOT INCLUDING apathetic, un-apologetic check-in staff
Cons: leaking ceiling, broken elevators, broken bathroom doors, broken beds, not listening to jackhammers and table saws while trying to relax.
Location: get as far away from CONSTANT construction noise as possible
do not use hard earned money on this resort or Barceló. it was our worst resort experience. use Iberostar or Riu or any other but this. I shudder to think of the guests whose first introduction to resorts was this wreck of a resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by Marcos Castillo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are truly thankful for visiting our distinguished hotel. We do apologize for any difficulty that you have had in our hotel. We do understand and appreciated your comments about our hotel. However, our hotel has one of the best maintenance services for any circumstances like this. In fact, our maintenance team always word hard to maintenance our hotel in good conditions is for that reason that Barceló hotel punta Cana is one of the best from our beautiful island. Best regards, Director Barceló Punta Cana
4 out of 5
by vladismir from New york

Very good food

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Good time
1 out of 5
by Carlos B.

we went for a wedding

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Orbitz
The worst hotel, dirty, smell bad the room the food hoorible