Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great treatment

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The resort treated us wonderful. Great restaurants and pleasing staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. There is nothing more important to us than our guests' satisfaction. Positive reviews such as yours provide additional motivation to our staff members, who work tirelessly to offer each and every visitor an excellent holiday experience. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Cruise like feel with food choices, shows
Cons: FOOD taste, better able to communicate with staff, towel situation improved.
Location: As with an all inclusive you don't always venture off the property. The last day we walked off the property to a little mall to buy souvenirs...
I read a good number of reviews before selecting this deal but still booked and was wary about what to expect. Overall, no big issues. Check-in: We arrived around 1pm. I had communicated with the hotel prior to explaining I would be early and asked if that could be accommodated. Also explained that my preference was 1 room with a king bed and the other with double beds. We didn't get into our room until about 4:30p/5p! The check-in staff did not seem to have a good command of English. In my experience roles such as these usually, are held by people who do speak the native language as well English well. I found it difficult to communicate and it didn't make me feel comfortable. However, most were friendly. I definitely believe that if we were native Spanish speaker the service would have been better as noted by watching the interaction with other guests. Transportation: Our package included transfers. While we waited for our room we set up our return trip, this person also handled excursions. He spoke English well. Dining: As noted in plenty of reviews about this hotel, the food leaves a lot to be desired. HOWEVER, there are shining moments here and there. Breakfast at the buffet was very good. I would stay far away from the seafood restaurant. The Italian restaurant w The reservation slip says no open toes and long pants for men but seafood place didn't enforce this. My 70+ year old father was turned around to walk back to the room and back up the 20+ staircase. NOT HAPPY
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Regina, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Thank you for pointing our the areas of your stay that you did enjoy. That said, it is disappointing to know that we were unable to fully meet your expectations. Rest assured, we have forwarded your comments regarding our food selection, your dissatisfaction with our dress code ad reservation system, and the difficulties experienced at check in. We guarantee to take every necessary action in order to improve in these areas. Please know, there is nothing more important to us than our guests' satisfaction. We truly hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future, so we have the opportunity to prove this to you. We are glad to know that you would be willing to return. Once again, we thank you for your preference. We hope to welcome you back soon. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great time in a great place

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: I liked how clean it was and how nice the staff was.
Cons: Check in took a little too long. Also i was told that i would have free Wi-Fi but had to pay.
Location: Location was great i was right on the beach and not far from most excursions.
Hotel was wonderful and very clean. Staff was very friendly always greeting you and making sure your stay is as perfect as possible. The bar in the lobby was the best and the bartenders were the best! I will be taking another trip here as soon as possible!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by scarletta, Hotel Management
Dear Ashlee, We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are glad that in general we were able to have satisfied your expectations. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our service, our food selection, and the overall quality of our holiday offering. That said, we are constantly refreshing and renewing our services and facilities to ensure that our guest want to return year after year. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We are definitely looking forward to host you on your next visit to the Dominican Republic. We guarantee your next visit will be far better than your last. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The resort, the grounds and staff were exceptional. The pools and beach were great! The food was horrible. The best restaurant was surprisingly the Asian food. The dominican food was bad. The drinks were bad. Watered down, full of sugar. By day 3 I stopped drinking. If you are looking for good good and drimks, dont stay here. Water pressure in the shower awful. Called maintenance 2x. They tried to fix it but no luck. I'll stay somewhere else next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by scarletta, Hotel Management
Dear Nala, We are truly sorry to have failed to meet all of your expectations. There is nothing more important to use than our guests' satisfaction and, therefore, knowing we failed to provide you with an excellent holiday is very disappointing. We guarantee we will do everything in our power to improve in the areas you mentioned in your review. That said, we do thank you for pointing out the places were we did manage to please your tastes. We truly hope you change your mind about us and return for a future visit. We guarantee your next experience will be far better than your last. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA.USA

Nice Service and Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Beach, Food, service and friendly staff
Cons: Music, bachata and merengue..
During one week vacation, we were 19 relatives, coming from Montreal, Canada and New York and Los Angeles, USA celebrating a 70th year birthday party. All were very happy specially with service and excellent food. We meet Andry and Santa, two of many employees that were very friendly and try that our stay were more pleasant ... Thank to all employees from Occidental Punta Cana Hotel...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Herna, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. There is nothing more important to us than to provide each and every guest with an excellent holiday experience, which is why we are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with the quality of service you received. Please know, we will share your review with the staff members you mentioned. Andry and Santos will be thrilled to know you were pleased with their service. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would be thrilled to host you again in the future. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All you could need right on hand

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, staff, eating & entertainment options
Location: Proximity to the Blue Mall, Downtown Punta Cuna, Coco Bongo, Manatee Park, Dolphin Explorer, and a couple shopping areas.
The staff and service were excellent. Plenty of activities throughout the day, food available at pretty much all hours between the 2 buffets, snack bar, pizzeria, taqueria, and 5 restaurants(Asian, Italian, Mexican, seafood, and steak house) available (at no extra cost) for dinner. There's 3 big pools, 1 with a bar in it, 2 Jacuzzis, water sports at the beach. Truly a dream and the rooms are clean and spacious. I would recommend to anyone at every age. There's even a kids club on sight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you so much for taking a moment of your time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. It pleases us to hear that we were able to offer you an excellent holiday experience. Positive reviews such as yours motivate us to keep improving as we strive to offer nothing less than a five-star quality of service to each and every one of our guests. Once again, we would like to express our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We value your recommendation and are thrilled that we will be welcoming you back in the future. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Cordially, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Pretty Nice but....

Posted Aug 26, 2017
It was actually a nice resort. Visually appealing but they did have one area under construction which was kind of a eye sore and loud during the day and it was right by the snack bar where people eat. The front desk staff have nasty attitudes but all the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and personable. Food was pretty decent. Nightly entertainment was GREAT. The beach was beautiful however the sand fleas were horrible so bring bug spray and seriously use it! The best people there were the bell men! Oh and if your a drinker the premium bar is the best bar on the premises! Thank me later!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Sharney, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana. Reviews such as your do not only help other travelers when choosing their next vacation. We are pleased to know that in some regards we were able to satisfy your expectations. Thank you for recognizing our the areas you did enjoy and please accept our apologies for being unable to offer you an entirley excellent stay, which is why we have shared your comment with the management of the hotel. Once again, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. We hope you consider returning in the future, we know we will not only to meet your expectations this time, but surpass them. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is just ok.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Went here for 30th Anniversary. I purchased a superior king room and was originally given a double bed. Hotel changed our room but we lost our superior room. Had no hand towels and had to tip the housekeeper to get some. Looks like laundry service is lacking- napkins at dinner were always damp like they didn't get a full laundry service. Food was so so.. over all would give a 3 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with feedback. Needless to say, it is very disappointing to hear we failed to offer you a pleasant holiday. We are especially disappointed in ourselves for failing you on your 30th Anniversary. Needless to say, we are honored to have your preference in such a special time. We sincerely apologize for all of our shortcomings and hope that you can find it within yourself to give us another opportunity. There is nothing more important to us that providing each one of our guests with an excellent vacation and superior service. We would like to prove this to you. This is why we want you to know that we are constantly refreshing and renewing our installations and services. We have also forwarded your review to the general management to make the changes necessary to improve in the areas you described. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future, so we can not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordially, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clark, New Jersey

Okay hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel is nice, very clean, the staff was pleasant. Drinks are bad though, their alcohols is really cheap, I guess Russians and Germans don't care, the house wine is terrible but they do offer a wine menu starting $40 a bottle for a 7bucks wine. Customer service is hard to reach. Phone service in the room doesn't exist, you try all the extensions and nobody answers, this is the worst part of our staying. Restaurants are great. Kids club are nice but the stuff makes everything harder in order for you to have your kid there. The stuff are very rude with the parents not the kids. If you think you need a brake don't go to kids club. Other then that, the place is never full, nice to walk in the resort, enough towels, chair, space, you feel very comfortable on the pool area,etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Ca, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana. Reviews such as your do not only help other travelers when choosing their next vacation. We are pleased to know that in some regards, like our facilities and the kind disposition of our staff, we were able to satisfy your expectations. Thank you for recognizing our the areas you did enjoy please accept our apologies for being unable to offer you an entirley excellent stay. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience. We hope ameliorate any difficulties our guests may currently have and prevent similar situations in the future, which is why we have shared your comment with the management of the hotel. Once again, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. We hope you consider returning in the future, we know we will not only to meet your expectations this time, but surpass them. Nothing would please us more than to welcome you back. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Not as expected

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Beach access
Cons: Cleanliness
During our stay at this hotel we had a few incidente that made our stay a little rough, many of these are concerning the hotel staff not the hotel facilites. On the good side, the hotel is quite big(several pool, restaurants, bars, etc), just renovated, most rooms have a nice view, they have a good entretainment crew, and it's front beach. The hotel provides many tours at an additional cost which gives the visitors many options to have fun and discover Dominican Republic. On the not so good side, we had several issues with the staff, which we expressed to the hotel, 1. Upon our arrival, we needed transportation from the airport to the hotel, we walked to the hotel front desk located at the airport to ask for transportation. We asked the price of the service and the man who was in charge of this service started to publicly scold us and yell at us. It was quite a scene for our first interacción with a new country and leaves a lot to say. At the end, the man REFUSED to take us and a taxi driver who saw everything told us he could give us the ride and that HE was sorry for what had happened. What a ''great'' first impression.. 2. On our first day at the hotel lights and water went out for a good 30-45 minutes.. 3. The phone in the room is a joke, if you want to contact any service you have to go get them yourself because as much as you dial ''0'' they never pick up.. 4. COCKROACHES, had to kill a few in our room during our stay 5. WIFI IS A JOKE. Never works
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by ScarlettA, Hotel Management
Dear Ita, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our hotel. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations. We apologize for failing to do so in your case. With regards to the transportation services, I will investigate further into your case, but with the exception of the independent taxi service, transportation to or from the in arranged in advance through your tour operator or our brother company vacaciones Barcelo. We are sorry in any misunderstanding or the language barrier caused you any confusion. Regarding the insects found in your room, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we do have a continuous fumigation schedule in place, meant to ensure pests are kept under control while protecting the wildlife of our resort. Unfortunately, due to the spontaneous nature of the weather in the Caribbean, sometimes the varying climate conditions make it so additional attention is required in this regard. We express our apologies for being unable to address your concerns during your stay. Needless to say I have forwarded your comments to the general management for review for review, in order to avoid similar difficulties for our future guests. We will also continue to investigate reports during your stay regarding the issues previously mentioned and the availability of our wi-fi service at that time to determine the root causes of these issues. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations on a future visit. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager