Ratings based on 1,297 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Not as advertised

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds and facilities, great beach location, large suites.
Cons: Truth in advertising, not fond of the bait and switch tactics.
Location: Beach walking, golf (not included),
The hotel advertises many included activities which in fact have an added cost. The $550 room credit is a complete scam. You get a coupon book, but using them cost more than paying. For example there is $50 coupon for the spa, not applicable to any specials. Using the coupon at "regular" price cost more than the special. The wait staff is wonderful, friendly and gracious. We loved Daniel at the swim up bar. The hotel practices its own class system with color coded wrist bans that segregate the guests. Exclusion from parts of the hotel is not specified in any advertising. On a positive note, the grounds are beautiful, pools are clean and spacious, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. Communication is the problem, and truth in advertising.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Monica S, Hotel Management
Thank your very much for sharing your last experience with us! Thank you for highlight all the aspects you enjoy, our grounds, our pools, our rooms but especially the dedication and hard effort made from Paradisus Palma Real team, especially your pool concierge Daniel. It is a pleasure to inform you that we have language lessons where all the collaborators can go to improve or study languages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Paradise

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Everything, cleanliness, appearance, amenities, decor, classic looking hotel.
Cons: Nothing for me.
Location: Shopping mall close by, with shuttle service to and from the hotel.
3rd time at Paradisius Palma Real and we did Royal Service, absolutely perfect, there isn’t one thing to complain about. It’s the only way to go, drinks were amaz8ng, Service was fabulous and the entire staff was professional and friendly. Will definitely be going back the same way. Spa at the Reserve was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent place to enjoy your vacation

Posted Nov 30, 2017
We were 30 people and had blast. Food, staff and room excellent. The only issue we had staff dont speak english and sometime its hard to explain
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale Fl

Disappointing Customer Service and Poor Facilities

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: sunny location, kid zone.
Cons: This place needs medical facilities - an office with a doctor or nurse, food, rooms need to be renovated and upgraded, cleaned and dried of odors
Location: many excursions - people constantly bothering you to take one thing or another.
When we first checked in, we asked for our rooms to be placed together or close by as we had 4 families joining. We waited for 45 minutes and were placed in different buildings, they made no attempt at accommodation. The food is plain and ordinary but not exceptional, and the waitstaff is helpful. You could not retrieve your own coffee or carafe, which was a little unusual. The pool area does not have enough chairs for the number of people, so you must find something down on the beach even if you only want to use the pool. Our room was somehow both moist and cold, the bathroom door and the front door were warped so badly only a stronger person could nudge them open. Very weird electrical issues in the room - not all lights worked and the master switch near the bed turned off the lights for the bathroom - which one needs when using the bathroom at night so it was either leave the lights on all night or fumble into the bathroom. We witnessed a woman have a medical issue and collapse while have dinner. The staff did not know what to do, they had no defibrillator, and so-called doctor on staff took over 45 minutes to arrive. Thank goodness someone in the crowd knew CPR because it then took another 25 minutes for them to arrive with a golf cart, no ambulance! They even told the family that it would be an extra charge! I would not subject my family to this again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excelente place to vacation

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Good place to go and good food. Nice beach Excelente Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Beautiful hotel right next to the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel right next to the beach. Everybody here works very hard to make your stay excellent. The Micheal Jackson show was awesome. The buffet is great with a huge variety of excellent food. I will definitely stay here again if/when I come back to the Dominican Republic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice facility, golf was great, ford ok

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Overall the trip was very enjoyable. The $550 credit to spend at facility was really worthless. You had to buy stuff to get a coupon book for discounts, rather than getting free stuff. I thought that was false advertising. Food at some of the restaurants was great, others Ok, some bad. I was disappointed that when I wen to make reservations for some of he restaurants, they were closed. What is that about???? Room was big and comfortable. Beach was great, pools are spectacular. This was our third time at this resort, so I guess I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama City

Nice hotel but...

Posted Nov 9, 2017
It has all the tools to be the best hotel in the area but it came up short. Staff seems lacking motivation although infrastructure not new but well maintained. Very good food at restaurants but again service not up to the level of the food. It seems as if management had reduced a bonus or something because the hotel has it all but staff just didn’t seem to care much
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Past it’s prime

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Not as good as our visits in the past. This place is not what it used to be. From moldy pillows in our room, to unifentified red stains on our room floor, unpainted surfaces, mold smells, to flaking apart finishes in the ‘restaurants,’ it might be time to pick a different place for the all-inclusive experience. Key features of the promised experience are in unapologetically ‘broken,’ toads off, or moved. The staff is mostly wonderful and kind. The food of good. The facility needs to be totally closed and remodeled from the ground up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Very comfortable to stay in and we will definitely be coming back!