Ratings based on 1,225 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Beautiful Hotel - Elegant

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Right on the oceanfront. Beautiful, large pools.
Cons: FOOD. Very bland foods. More entertainment on the beach in the evenings. (bands....music.....) Would have enjoyed the opportunity of Jet Skis.
Location: We did not leave the resort.
Everything was TOP NOTCH, from the accommodations, to the staff. I'd have to rate the food a 5 out of 10. On this trip, there were four of us that went, two couples. All four of us got sick. One couple got sick during our 4 day stay. My husband and I got sick the day of our travel back to the USA. They wouldn't let us on our return flight due to illness. It was AWFUL. Our friends did go to the doctor & lab work showed a bacterial infection so we did contract something through either the food or water there. Although they serve bottled water, the ice, frozen drinks & foods are washed with regular water we're sure. We can't say we will be going back any time soon even though it was beautiful. If you go, take plenty of Pepto-Bismol a week before going to coat your stomachs and avoid ICE at all costs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Steubenville, Ohio

Paradise!

Posted May 26, 2017
Hospitality is awesome. We went here for our 30th wedding anniversary. Gastronomy, entertainment, ambience, gardens, beach, architecture was well thought out and stunning. So many beautiful places to sit with a cocktail and soak in the paradise! We stayed for eight days, booked our flight, resort, and airport taxi through Expedia and everything went like clockwork. Not one problem. Beware that the rooms will become very damp from the humidity unless you keep the air on. Even then, we kept our room set at 69 and the linens and our clothes always seemed a little bit damp. We slept well except for Saturday night. Loud, inconsiderate people didn't want their good time to end until 3 am. Not sure if that is typical for Saturday nights or just an anomaly. But there were simply too many positives to let that one innocent bother us. Room service cleaned the rooms twice a day, turning down our beds at night and leaving chocolate candy on our pillows. Room refrigerator was always well stocked. Definitely highly recommend this resort and we will stay here when we return to DR. For those who tend to look for something wrong, we're sure they'll find it as they always do. So if you're that type, please stay somewhere else. The resort staff deserves better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Amazing outdoor design

Posted May 23, 2017
People are friendly, beautiful beache to stay. Room could be more modern . I liked that buffet manu was slitly different every day. Overall great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great staff, Great Stay

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: pools, excursions, casinos, rooms, staff, amenities, variety, felt like singing "Everything is Awesome!!
Location: beach, casino, shopping stores, other hotels to mingle with people
Enjoyed every minute. Staff was on point with everything. Had a back issue they changed my room no problem. Best part is the pictures on the website are 100% accurate if not better in person unlike other hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Hotel Review

Posted May 9, 2017
The hotels gorgeous sprawling facility make up for its short comings, the biggest issue was the dinner reservations. Our first day I was told almost every restaurant either doesn't have a reservation or there are only 2 time slots 6pm and 930pm. Very odd cause when you do go to the restaurant they are always running at 25 percent occupancy. This was very odd as every restaurant we ended up going to there was barely any customers. Breakfast buffet and lunch were the best, a server by the name of "Wander" was one of the best and he is a big asset to the paradisus team. Beaches and rooms were excellent, we will go back....restaurant reservations need to be improved.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to the beach, ? some installation only!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Close to the Bavaro Beach
Cons: Rooms need to be updated!
Location: Water sports.
Very dissapointed with this hotel. Better hotels in area. Be carefull, they have many "hotel name" and all are almost the same , only the price increase!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to the beach. Nothing else!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Near to the Bavaro Beach
Cons: update rooms!
Location: Enjoy the beach
Terrible. Old hotel, need to be updated. TV is old, very old. Bathroom very old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel, near to the beach.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: Rooms are very old, TV need to be LED or similar
Location: Nice to enjoy the beatifull beach of Bavaro.
Rooms need update ASAP. The price too high, better hotel in zone. Even for the same company, better rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted May 3, 2017
We were greeted by the front desk upon our arrival -rude - but after check in by a concierge Trazy. Wonderful. Assisted with everything. Food was very good. No problems with reservations day of or day before. Buffet breakfast - excellent selections. Unfortunately hit bad weather, "extreme" per some employees. I would have hoped the hotel would have pulled together activities inside as all were cancelled outside to give everyone something to do that was together and fun! Bars didn't have music as we would have hoped. Too quiet - especially on rainy days. Beware of the club membership presentation - great and friendly until you say no thank you. The Oriental Gardens Spa - excellent and accommodating. Chose this over The Reserve (which is pushed). All in all had the best time we could with the weather.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach and pool are amazing, everything else so so.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Only like the beach and the pool
Cons: Food, service, adding elevators in the villas for older guests
Location: Excursions did not seem great
The beach and pool are the only reasons to go to this specific Paradisus resort. Even though the beach was awful at the Paradisus Esmeralda in Mexico, the pool there was amazing, our room was much better and the food and service were 100 times better than the food and service at this Paradisus Palma Real in Punta Cana. I would not recommend this resort to families.