Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy at all, choose somewhere else!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Cons: Needs more amenities like room service, more dining options, more pools and bars, better beds, better pest/bug control, needs a lot of improvements
It is not worth it, no matter how cheap it is. It is a tiny apartment complex not a resort, boring, has bug issues (bed bugs?), uncomfortable beds, bad food, bad service, terrible drinks, theft from rooms, and it's not accurately represented on their website. It's not a "resort"- just a glorified hotel. Most US beach hotels offer more amenities and better service than this place. We feel cheated out of the vacation we expected here. Their website says guests also have all-inclusive access to the resort next door, for a total of 5 restaurants, 7 bars, 3 pools, 2 jetted tubs, activities and water sports. This is false. We only had access to this place, and we were told that they were in the process of working out a contract with the resort next door. Why is it advertised then!? In reality, there are only two, small pools, one beach bar, one main buffet restaurant, and a tiny crowded beach. It’s only a 4 min walk through the whole place. We got tired of eating the same things all week, and most meals made us sick to our stomachs. The drinks are watered down so much that we drank all week and never caught a buzz. Service is mostly awful throughout the resort, though we found a few great workers. There are really no activities here, and the casino/night club is just a small room with 4 slot machines, a "dance floor" and a blackjack table in the corner, all always empty. Timeshare and other salespeople hound you to the point you can’t even relax. STAY AWAY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Quiet hotel with a friendly staff

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, the room, unlimited food and drinks
Cons: The buffet food could have been hotter and the locals trying to sell excursions were a bit much and quite annoying.
Location: 20 minutes from the airport
I had a great time at the Presidential Suites. The hotel is a short ride from the airport. The hotel had more of a laid back vibe. The staff was great! They were very friendly and quick to get you a drink. Our room was a lot larger than I thought it would be. The room was a large two bedroom\2 bathroom condo. I was very impressed. The two restaurants were both delicious. The food on the buffet wasn't hot enough for me. I felt like my plate could use 30 seconds in the microwave. The one thing that I did not like was the locals on the beach trying to sell you "excursions." They are very persistent. I would just avoid eye contact with them or a firm NO will do. The safe in the room did not have a lock on it. I was told that if I wanted the lock, it would be an additional charge. I ended up locking my valuables in suitcase which had a lock. Be sure to have lots of singles cause you will want to tip the staff. I would definitely stay here again. The beach was breathtakingly beautiful. The two pools were well maintained as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, Pa

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted May 27, 2017
Had great time! Better than the larger hotels cause everything was close, walking distance. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Staff was really friendly!

Posted May 27, 2017
Everything was perfect , The staff was very friendly. And the buffet had great food. Late night entertainment was fun, and the br had great drinks. Very impress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Small cozy hotel next to the beach

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Entertainment, shows & activities every day. Small hotels makes it easier to move back and forth as needed, especially with luggage and/or backpacks.
Cons: Having to tip to get good service; meaning, it's not really all-inclusive.
Location: Scape park and Outback Safari were great.
There is unbelievable pressure to attend the 'time share' presentation but once you get past that, the hotel and staff grows on you. Once you start the tipping, the service staff is unbelievably friendly and warm so, the 1st day was awkward (waited almost 1 hour for coffee the 1st day and the bartender showed me his back and did not refill my drinks because he confused me with someone else). Also, calling for service issues (safe code problem) does not work, best to walk over and speak with them in person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close tge tge beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Alot of mosquitos got got in the room,living room couch was not comfortable,beside that nice time and enjoyed the resort..minus the hagglers on beach asking for $$
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible service with beautiful view

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The room was spacious and beautiful.
Cons: Everything else except for room 3102 (?) I think that was the room. All my other friends didn't have the same opinions.
Location: Beach activities... (don't pay more than $30US!)
Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, but that's where the positives ended. The staff are hungry for $5 tips for any little thing, you need to hustle the people on the beach for any activities (don't pay more than $30). The food in this resort was horrible! I'm from the Dominican Republic and they were trying WAYYY too hard to make any food that wasn't Dominican and did a horrible job. I say, stick to what you know. The burgers and hot dogs were decent. However, received undercooked fish, fries and red meat. For a "Punta Cana" resort this place should be much better. Oh, and don't expect anything big from the night shows. Almost every staff in this establishment hates working here. You can see it in their face. On several occasions I would even say good morning... in English and Spanish and no response. Very rude if you ask me! Also, don't buy into timeshares or VIP status here. NOT WORTH IT!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice small resort right on beach

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The staff, the room, the drinks, the beach location, the service
Cons: Better cleaning of the room floors, provide basic cleaning supplies, the service at Kimonos, maybe renovate to include a mini mart on the property
Location: Resort right on beach. If you walk along the beach, there are different restaurants/stores to visit (Capitan Cook is AMAZING).
The hotel staff were amazing! Friendly, welcoming, and really catered to you! No watering down of drinks here! The buffet food as others have mention is okay, but the 2 restaurants (kimonos and basil & tomatoes) were amazing! At Kimonos, the sushi was fresh and the food was delicious. Only issue my husband and I had there was it took 2 hours to receive all food items (you get 5 dishes in all) as it seemed that no one was being served in order. Basil & Tomatoes was our favorite restaurant! It's located within the buffet and has it's own seating area right on the beach next to the entertainment show (8:30 dinner). We were upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite with a pool view which was perfect as we were on our honeymoon! The room was spacious, had it's own kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a balcony. All in all we would stay at this resort again for the price we paid. Thank you Presidential Suites for making our honeymoon special!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

It's OK for the money

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The large suite.
Cons: Get room service, people will pay extra for it.
The beautiful pool is surrounded by 8 buildings which creates the world's biggest echo chamber. So if you want quiet time, you will not get it if your room is on the pool side, which by the way is the best view (it is beautiful). So from the lovely sound of children frolicking in the day to the drunken sound of folks blasting their music and partying and all night, you will hear all of it. The Japanese restaurant had a menu of mostly Chinese food and even it was mediocre. The Italian restaurant was pretty good and so was the buffet. This hotel is missing room service. Even though we paid for the all-inclusive, I would have gladly paid extra to have a bottle of wine, or maybe the odd pizza delivered to my room. Especially when I was recovering from the worst case of travelers diarrhea in 25 years and had to walk to the restaurant just for a bottle of soda. I can't confirm if there was a source that caused my acute illness, but this is word of caution. The same elevator was out of service twice, so if this is important....get a ground floor room. The staff were kind and tried to be helpful, but if you don't speak Spanish, consider learning a bit, or select another destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great small resort with entering an embassy like propety with private beach. Loved suites accommodation, great buffet selection and quality of food that tastes like-food.Friendly staff. This is not your mega resort with a lots of noise and lot of people. If you are not the member of the Club that owns the resort they will offer it to you. We took a two year membership that has some great benefits but will see how it pans out.