Ratings based on 1,358 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2017
great people, always wanting to make sure stay great..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great place to relax.

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: It is optimally located right on the beach while other resorts require a bit of a hike to get to the water.
Cons: Facilities are a little dated.
My wife and I had a great time. The staff was great. They were very helpful and friendly. The beach was beautiful. The hotel itself was a little dated but I am told it is scheduled to under go renovation to be completed by April 2017. Very fun time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice lobby

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: the lobby
it was a very pleasant experience for me and my cousins
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Nice hotel and the staff is so kind but the beds are terrible we spent seven nights there and my wabed to go back home because of that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Jaded, needs a makeover

Posted Nov 24, 2017
We have stayed in a number of Riu hotels across the globe and have always been impressed. Unfortunately, this was the exception to the rule. While architecturally beautiful and in a gorgeous location, the hotel is in a state of disrepair and needs a major makeover. Peeling paint, mold everywhere, everything smells damp. While you would expect this in a tropical climate, this is too much.The indoor area where the nightly shows are held smelled so bad that we couldn’t sit in there, The furniture everywhere was old and dirty and the shower water ran from tepid to warm. I feel bad complaining but we paid top dollar for a great experience that we didn’t have. On the plus side, the beach was beautiful, as were the grounds and the staff were very happy and super helpful. Food was ok, although not quite the usual place standard. Frozen drinks were not very frozen. I am usually the one to ignore bad reviews but in this case, I can nit recommend this hotel without some major upgrades.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Trip from hell

Posted Nov 19, 2017
When we arrived they gave us a room for the first two nights that was wet and moldy no matter what you did you couldn’t fix this problem the door was wet the floor was wet the sheets were wet and the AC and the fan didn’t fix this. As a result me and my friend got very sick they finally changed our room which was no better still dirty . The food was completely in edible I found worms and parasites in the fruit and again as a result me and my friend got very sick . I tried to contact Expedia and the hotel and neither want to work with me .So I spent over $1000 just to get sick I would avoid this place at all costs not like the other reviews in other countries we definitely lived in subpar living conditions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las vegas NV

Exelent

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: No surprise
Cons: Room conditioning
Location: Exelent
Exelent exelent good time ;steff location service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Overall experience

Posted Nov 5, 2017
I absolutely loved my stay of 7 days here. The staff was very friendly and I had an amazing time. I would def recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,MA

Best vacation of my life!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Very happy with this hotel.Excellent service and great staff!!! Definitely coming back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A complete dump of a hotel.

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The rooms are moldy and stink like a cellar. The staff is very unfriendly and unprofessional. The food was terrible. The drinks were all made of cheap alcohol.