Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Great hotel. Definitely will return

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Great hotel with an excellent staff. Very comfortable with great perks. Very secure and lots of activities. A must see
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Riu palace punta Cana review

Posted Aug 13, 2015
The hotel was very nice and the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious and would recommend it to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 12, 2015
It was an amazing place to be at with my son. It was a beautiful place with great service. I was well satisfied so was my son.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Nightmare hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: I liked leaving the hotel.
Cons: Demolishing this hotel. Possibly asking for the USA to drop a nuclear bomb on this facility.
I do not write reviews often. I am not one to complain. But, this hotel is pathetic. The food is DISGUSTING. If you like eating hot dogs with hamburger buns or eating donkey meat instead beef, then this is your place. When you check in, your room will not be ready. When you walk into the room, it will smell like a bag of dirty tube socks. The shower in the room is like a motel. I used the shampoo provided by the hotel and my scalp started hurting after two days. I think I even got a migrane due to the shampoo. The room-safe was made in the 1900's. If I was the President of the Dominican Republic, I would shut this hotel down as it is a disgrace to this country. The pool is a joke. You might as well stay home and buy an inflatable pool, you will get more enjoyment. The beach. More like a swamp of seaweed. The drinks.... I think a couple people went blind drinking the vodka. If I was given a free ticket and hotel to come back here, I would opt to stay in Houston and spend the weekend in the county prison.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Amazing Resort Worth A Return Trip!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: We liked everything! Food, service, staff, maintenance of the property. Even check in and check out was a breeze. No complaints at all.
Cons: The only thing I would recommend is to advise new guests when they check in to make their dinner reservations in the restaurants immediately.
Location: Other resorts and downtown Punta Cana are nearby. We had a car and drove over to the Hard Rock Resort. But we didn't stay long. It didn't compare.
This property was amazing and our family's vacation there was beyond memorable. The photos on Expedia and elsewhere on the web were our initial attraction. And they did the resort justice. It is as gorgeous in person as it is in the photos. Well manicured lawns, plush and well maintained shrubbery, all right on the beach in Punta Cana. We had 2 rooms, 1 for our teenagers and one for us parents. That was the way to go. Once there, everyone was free to run around on their own schedule and we didn't have to worry about keeping tabs on the kids. We met up to eat and we hung out at the pool all together, but then went our separate ways at times. The food was amazing...the server staff were always singing, smiling, greeting, and joking around. Our conversations with many of them indicated a true sense of joy from working there. And it showed. The service was outstanding. There were always staff walking around to take drink orders, even on the beach. Or servers with trays of drinks to choose from were always nearby on the beach and elsewhere. Our family even enjoyed the evening shows in the theater. The choreography for the dancing shows was excellent, and the acrobat show one evening was truly impressive. Our room was very clean, beds made every day, the A/C worked exceptionally well, thank God! We did not have a single compliant and everyone in our group loved our experience. Just book the restaurants early upon arrival for dinner. They fill up days in advance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beach was not clean

Posted Aug 8, 2015
The people the clean the rooms left the room door open with keys on , really I will not go again to the riu place punta Cana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Had a good time.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: The fact that you need long pants for most of the restaurants.
Location: Stay in the resort, unless going on an excursion with a group.
We chose this resort based on feedback from friends. We went to the Dominican Republic to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. Using expedia you need to remember it's up to you to get to the resort and back to the airport. The hotel was very nice. Every staff member was eager and willing to help. They were fantastic. Our room was located on the ground floor. The room was nice and cool, however, we spoke with more than a few people who said their room had very little air conditioning. One of the things we found odd was that the pool bar closed at 6pm and the pool closed at 7pm. Another was that you couldn't get into 4 of the 6 restaurants without long pants for the guys. Another thing to remember is to bring plenty of cash. There's no ATM at the resort, and if using a credit card, there's a heck of an added fee. One last thing is this is a family resort, so there were a lot of small children everywhere, even around the pool bar area. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, met a lot of nice people, and had a nice relaxing week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá

Nice hotel!

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Everything was excellent. The people there was amazing (service, etc.). I would like to recommend them to change the pillows and door locks (are really old).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Joplin, MO

Great Place to relax.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Would go back. Wasn't pleased with transportation to and from excursions. Would stay again just not do the excursion travel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Horrible staff and old hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2015
When we first got to our room there was blood on our toilet seat and our room smelled. They switched our room and that room had old bed sheets that were used from the guest before us and used cups and towels. The staff speaks little to no English which is a big problem through out the stay. The hotel is very outdated