Ratings based on 1,372 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

RIU Palace Punta Cana

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Overall the restaurant staff and poolside staff were great
Cons: the overall modernization of the facility-Including Scan cards to get into rooms instead of keys and updates of other modern conveniences-an overall
Location: We primarily stayed on the resort
Overall good stay. Restaurant food was probably just average with the buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner being the best choice based on convenience and available options. Waitstaff in restaurant was above average. Overall hotel was slightly dated but was an average value for what you got. Getting a spot by the pool required most mornings you needed to be out there by 6 AM to get a poolside spot. With proper funding/updating-this place could again return to a premier destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

language

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: well kept grounds , easy access to restaurants , etc
Cons: see language above
Not to sound like the "ugly American", investment in English lessons for the staff would be helpful. Most of the guests during our stay were English speaking. Investment in these lessons would take away this issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Punta Cana Dominican palace

Subpar rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Room smells musty all the time First room shower did not work
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taunton Ma

Last time at my 2nd home

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: Staff, Beach, Pools Food an Drinks
Cons: Updates
Location: Many excursions (BUY THEM FROM THE BEACH VENDORS) much cheaper !!!
Over the last 6 years we have had the privilege to stay at the Palace over 20 times. We have stayed as a couple, with friends and family and have meet numerous new friends from all over this great world. It has been a fun and relaxing place to come to get away for awhile. We have come to think of the staff as family and always look forward to catching up and spending time with them. That is front the bell hops all the way to the last vendor on the beach. April 1st the Palace will be getting shut down for a revamp and reopening in July. We will now miss our May trip but look forward to making many new memories and friendships in August at the NEW RIU PALACE PUNTA CANA. Thanks for the memories
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Islip NY

If you are gay DO NOT go to this hotel.

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Pros: landscaping location hotel structure and the view from the room i pay for room 3046
Cons: re traininfgthe hotel staff to be more knowledge about the hotel and how to treat costumers
Location: location was A +
To be fair I will say the two good things about the hotel: *The location *the landscaping and the access from the beach to the hotel was very easy. now why would not I go back: *we are a gay couple of two men with a relationship of 22 years together we had never faced so much discrimination and bad taste jokes against us and other same-sex couples in the hotel.both in the restaurants and in the pool. *When you arrive at the hotel nobody escorts you to your room in my case I paid the suite with Jacuzzi room number 3046 the staff just gave me an envelope for me to read info about the hotel there was no personalized attention *In the restaurants the waiters were not friendly they did not know about the restaurants or hotel services. they did not bring you to your table they only pointed with the hand in which direction it was. besides the food tasted terrible in all the restaurants I tried three and the buffet. *the menu was very confusing in the french restaurant we thought the food was Peruvian *we asked a waiter if we could order a tiramisu dessert and he said I do not know what that is and besides I only bring coffee. *the dishes and the thermos where the coffee was served in the morning was always dirty I do not think that the staff of the hotel is well-trained for any type of visitor and less if the visitor are same-sex couples. It's a pity because I already stayed at RIU palace Bahamas and it was spectacular. Juan Huerfano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, very clean. We loved it here. They could update the rooms a little and it would have been nice to have updated room safes with a key code so we didn't have to carry our safe key around everywhere, but otherwise very nice. I would definitely recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice staff, it is clean, but it is not a 5 stars.

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: drinks at rthe bar close to the front desk
Cons: food at the restaurants,
Location: locations is very good.
drinks at the bar close to the front desk are very good, dont expect 5 stars at restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent hotel!!

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Excellent hotel! Nice views the rooms was very clean and the people were so amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Very nice Hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Great resort, couldn’t find anything bad about it !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

needs major updating

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Rooms are old. Air conditioning in rooms doesn’t work. Beds, linens and blankets are old!! Everything in room is wet. Small bugs in bathroom. The last Night we stayed the bathrooms smelled like they backed up. Called front desk constantly and could never find anyone that cared. The restaurants were fair at best. The chairs have material on them that are so badly stained you didn’t want to sit on them. The pool was nice and the people that work by the pool area are fantastic. Actually all of their personnel were always friendly except For the front desk and managers. From the outside it looks good but don’t be deceived. We won’t be back.