Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great location on the Bavaro beach

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Size of the property, easy access to all amenities .Adult pool with VIP section.
Cons: There should no smoking in all restaurants.
Location: Only 25min drive from the airport , for activities and shopping you need to go out of resort with approved vendor.
Very nice accommodations for families and couples, multiple dining options especially for dinner. Grate value for the money!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: liked the shows, liked the pool bars (could go to several different ones), the beach
Cons: food was mostly disappoiinting but the dinners were decent, breakfast buffet decent
stayed for 5 days and 4 nights, went during janurary and weather fantastic 80s and sunny almost all the time, went from pool bar to beach to diff pool bar almost every day, enjoyed some of the night entertainment at the resort. didnt really have to spend any extra money at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The staff was friendly and they kept the room decent we had roaches in our room so they gave us a big can of ORO spray. Which isn’t for roaches it was for flies,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not Worth the Time or Money

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: you could walk right out to the beach and there were plenty of chairs
Cons: the attitude of the staff, be more organized and prompt when there is a need or complaint. Don't say tomorrow tomorrow etc. Better quality of food
Location: nothing really - b/c not part of Punta Cana - that is misleading it is 25 miles away, have to drive to do anything
The staff - not all but the majority are rude and don't seem to care if you are there or not. We traveled with a group and no ones phones worked in the room. Several got fixed - 1 never did, so to order room service had to go to the front desk. There aren't any blankets in the room and didn't even bother getting any until the next day. The food is poor quality and lacks in choices. You can go to the other pools within the 5 resorts, however, you are treated even more poorly. The pool wouldn't let us have towels despite the fact we had towel cards to turn in. You can't get served at any of the resorts you aren't staying at. This resort was supposed to be the "better" one - more expensive than the others. We had such a wonderful experience in the Bahamas and I guess we just too high of expectations here. The ads are miss leading, it isn't on the caribbean ocean it is the atlantic ocean. The people at the resort booking excursions for you promise things that don't actually happen at the excursions. The tour people told us flat out I'm sorry but the sales team lies to get people to come!!! The airport is a cluster and poorly ran. There is no organization within anything on the island - doesn't seem like anyone knows what is going on. The country is really poor and tourism is their main source of income, however, customer service is not top priority. We met several people who had been years earlier and had similar experiences and said they would NEVER come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great family vacation

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Beach, pool, staff
We traveled with adult children and everyone had a great time. We enjoyed the pool, beach, food, bars and entertainment. The staff is very friendly and goes above and beyond to make sure you are having a good time. The New Year’s Eve celebration was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Do not waste your time and money here

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: nothing
We booked 3 rooms for 10 days each, it was 8 people including a 7 month baby. At first impression it seemed old but we decided to give it a try to , after all we were already there. The bar had just second class liquor, the service at the bars was terrible. They serve you as doing you a favor. There was no upgrade option and when we asked for it they said it was something they could offer. The rooms had ants on a daily basis, they just cant control the plagues inside the hotel, it is really terrible. Ants in the bed, the drawers, the tables!!! The shower did not worked properly either when we opened the shower we ended with the shower control in our hand, old and bad service. We called them to fix it and they never showed up. After the second day of our so far NIGHTMARE vacations we decided to cancel the reservation asking for our money back and they just said it was something they could not do. After two days we got their answer saying that they would make and exception and just charge for the nights we stayed which was fine with us. So we decided to book a different hotel for the remaining 7 nights in Punta Cana, we needed to pay again TWELVE K USD. And after all this they have not send the confirmation to expedia to return us the money after 9 days! and it has been impossible for everyone to reach them again, they are just making this situation even worst than what it already is. Thanks to this hotel we had the worst vacations ever!! DO NOT STAY THERE OR ANY RIU
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

decent hotel near nice beach

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: the beach
Cons: the FOOD!!!!!!
Location: The location is of course amazing. We did a 3 hour snorkeling trip, which lasted 6 hours due to waiting an extra hour for our transportation
First, I would like to say that the staff at RIU Bavaro are awesome and try their very best to make theiir customers feel welcome and comfortable. However, the food is overall very disappointing and quickly becomes a bad experience after a week. The restaurants onsite are slightly better than the buffet, but they will not take a reservation, so sometimes you can wait hours for a table, which they dont seem to be able to determine wait times efficiently as well. Over half our group left with Montezuma's revenge. We were unable to even enjoy the cocktails as everything is grotesquely sweet. The beach was very nice, but you must get a lounge chair immediately in the morning, or spend the rest of the day without one, including at the pool. The rooms were kept clean, and our valuables and belongings were never disturbed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter, Fl

Riu palace bavaro, punta cana

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Beautiful hotel with great location next to the beach and amazing staff. Rooms were very clean though an occasional odor which was likely from the drains. Great entertainment and shows. An excellent choice for family or newleywed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Pool wait staff and entertainment
Cons: Ala cart restaurants
This place was awesome ! Wait staff and entertainment staff was outstanding . The beach was huge and well maintained. The ala Cart restaurants not taking reservations makes it impossible to get in unless you are there at 630. The buffets were great but do get old after awhile. Water park was great for all. Christian and Alexis at the pool are rockstars,thanks for everything!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

BEWARE of casinos on the property!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
I don't know how a reputable resort like the Riu allows con artists to get away with ripping off customers in their casino. There's a roulette-like game that's know as 2 + 2, or Progressive Roulette that lures customers in to thinking that they have a chance at winning big money, but is only designed to take your money. I was able to minimize my losses at $5,000.00, but was sickened to learn about others who fell victim to this grift and lost much more. Type "Dominican Gambling Scam" in to any search engine and and you'll see that there are plenty of others who have been taken. It's a shame that Riu takes no accountability for what goes on with the casinos on their property and for that reason I will never recommend any of their resorts...they simply don't care about their customers.