Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Nice resort, but beware of the very hard beds.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent, both at the buffets and ala carte restaurants
Cons: Rhe beds were extremely uncomfortable & hard.I thought it might just be my room but I had 2 other friends in different rooms who experienced the same
The RIU resort was on the smaller side compared to other resorts in Punta Cana that I have stayed at. There wasn't as many activities throughout the day, which is ok if you plan on venturing outside of the resort, which I did a few days. The resort is nice, the staff is amazing. The only negative I can say is the beds were extremely uncomfortable. Because of this, I would not stay here again unless the beds were changed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel but some little things

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Room orientation Kabuki steak was excellent Service was good in general Good selection of food
Cons: Checkin and checkout during off hours was not a 4 star exprience
Location: We didn't leave the resort. Tried to book a snorkeling trip but their driver never showed to pick us up.
Room was perfect facing the beach and overlooking the pools and grounds. Room itself was in very good condition with exception of items below. Beautiful beach. We normally book cruise ships and this was our first all inclusive resort. After doing both, a cruise is certainly a better value unless you drink lots of alcohol. Entertainment schedules were confusing and most shows ran very late not starting until 10 pm. Pools were warmer than bathwater most days so we had to go to the beach to cool off. Internet was our primary means of communication but wireless was sketchy, often dropping connections. AC would never cool the room to a comfortable temp and service calls could not fix.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel...food is ok.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Service (air conditioning) .
Location: San Francisco CA,
We stayed for 7 days. 4 days we did not have air conditioning. That's was a terrible experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon: SICK FOR 9+ DAYS AND A HOSPITAL STA

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: The beach was gorgeous
Cons: Food, safety, bottle water quality
The staff was nice, the room was clean, but the food was horrible. One restaurant for breakfast and one restaurant for lunch. Nearly all the food is deep fried, and the salad bar is unidentifiable and covered in flies. Food is mislabeled. Chicken is actually pork and filet mignon is also pork. I began to get sick after two days, but on the third day I became violently ill. High fever, cramps, chills, and diarrhea. I spent two full days of my honeymoon unable to get out of bed, because I was so sick. After returning home I had to go to the doctor and they told me to immediately go to the emergency room for a possible ct scan to find the infection in my body. The emergency room doctor believes it is E. COLI or possibly parasites. I am waiting to hear back from more testing. I stayed for the duration of the trip, because I was too sick to make the trip back home. I only drank bottled water and ate the food at the resort. I would advice only those with cast iron stomachs to travel here. My honeymoon was ruined, I am still too sick to get out of bed, and we wasted thousands of dollars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Rooms and stuff

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly
Cons: The smell of the rooms
Location: We rented a catamaran (group of 10) we were disappointed with the vendor that we chose (right on our beach)
The rooms had a terrible musty smell. I was very disappointed and even though we changed rooms 3x the smell was still there. Also the musty smell in the casino and in the theater was so terrible that we had to leave and couldn't stay for the show. The beds were comfortable enough - I expected more from a Riu Palace Definitely an older crowd of people there - the swim up bar was small and by the end of the day felt like a hot tub.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great resort for senior citizens

Posted May 18, 2016
It was very relaxing. This was a girl's trip to celebrate my 40th birthday. The food was great, rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful and cheerful. The entertainment was ok. The downsides: It was tooooo quiet. Not a lot of music playing. A lot of senior citizens so they didn't want to hear any music. Also, the live music was so boring it would put you to sleep. I understand "Adults Only" resort but this was too conservative. We needed a mixture of relaxation and party time so this resort didn't fit us. We went to the other Riu resorts nearby (walking distance) and they were fun. More young people and things happening at the other resorts. The drinks could have been stronger but oh well. I would recommend this resort to senior citizens, boring couples, or people who just don't like music!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Punta Cana With My Cousins

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: I think the staff is what made this hotel stay worthwhile.
The hotel and staff are very nice overall. However; some of the rooms smelled a little stuffy (musty), on requiring a family couple to be relocated. One of the family found a partially consumed bottle of soda in their room upon arrival. Also the water used in the sprinkler system had a foul odor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Great location, great staff

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Beach área, lobby, pool facilities
Cons: Beds and pillows
Nice and confortable. Relaxing and entertaining days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016
This was the second time I stayed at this resort. I've been to many other countries and I love Punta Cana. The resort is perfect. The staff is outstanding, great selection of food and easy to make reservations. The staff goes above and beyond. The entertainment is great. Something for everyone. I would definitely recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
by Evelise from Caxias do Sul

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel muito bom. Quarto limpo e confortável. Internet gratuita, mas em nosso quarto havia sinal apenas próximo a janela e na sacada. Restaurantes muitos bons, mas necessidade de levantar cedo para fazer as reservas para os restaurantes temáticos e o vinho era de péssima qualidade. Isolamento acústico do quarto ruim, acordamos várias vezes devido a ruídos externos . O sistema somente para adultos proporciona muita tranqüilidade nas áreas comuns como piscina, praia e restaurantes! Grande vantagem!