Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Excelent Service

Posted Aug 29, 2015
This hotel provides an excelent service and facilities combined with great entertainment and many activities in a very pleasant environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ótimo hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Wifi em todo o hotel Atendimento dos funcionários do restaurante principal Equipe de animação muito boa Ótima praia
Cons: Fechar as piscinas mais tarde, 18hs é muito cedo. Flexibilizar o restaurante ao lado da piscina, muitas regras desnecessárias.
Location: Não existe nada perto do hotel, por estar localizado em uma área hoteleira.
O hotel é muito bom, equipe muito atenciosa, o hotel é somente para adultos. O hotel não raciona bebida, os garçons são muito atenciosos e não deixam você com o copo vazio. Todas as noites tem show no teatro, os shows são ótimos e o pessoal da animação são muito bons! A praia do hotel é ótima! Notei falta de placas informativas em alguns locais como na piscina que não pode beber, o bar da piscina é do lado da piscina e você descobre que não pode beber quando vem um funcionário informar a proibição, vi muitas cenas dessa no período da minha estadia. Outro ponto negativo é as piscinas fecharem as 18hs, muito cedo. Um restaurante ao lado da piscina com muitas regras para quem está nas piscinas (ter que entrar de camiseta,não entrar descalço, não ter uma gota de água no corpo), algumas outras regras desnecessárias para um hotel de adultos a beira mar, poderia ser mais simples como outros da mesma rede (Riu).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel great room wonderful service.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Great experience would recommend it to every one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville,SC

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The hotel is older but a very well kept property. We have stayed at several of the Riu Hotels and I would have to say this one is the cleanest one yet. The staff is also wonderful! Roberto, Messes, Billy, Bermudez and Danny are wonderful and try to meet your every need. The entertainment/activity staff are the best and always have something going on for all the guest. The only thing I would like everyone to know if you are going for the beach don't expect much. Lots of seaweed and not beautiful blue water like we are used to in Cancun but we were ok with that. Just remember when you go you are in their country and respect the Dominician people. They are wonderful! Really bothers me when I see people being rude to the staff. Show respect and you will be very pleased with your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

fun, staff is amazing, they go above and beyond

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Location: take a cab and go out to the local bars or local restaurants, its crazy out there lots of fun
so much fun, staff is so cool, they work really long hours and
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Riu Macao, DR

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The swim up bar, pools, and beach
Cons: Later pool hours and an overnight manager on site to assist with customer concerns
Location: Adults only location was great. We did the "swim with the sharks" excursion and it was a great time!
The restaurant reservations are worth making. The buffet options are OK, but the Japanese and Italian restaurant food were much better. It was strange that the pools closed at 6pm and the bar tenders stopped serving which forced everyone out of the pool. It took a few days to get used to the "schedule". I was expecting it to be more relaxed and go with the flow, but instead there was a structured routine on where to be and when. Breakfast buffet stopped serving food around 10am, the lunch buffet didn't open until noon, the pool closed at 6pm, dinner reservations were either 6:30pm or 9:00pm, and the only place to order drinks in the evening were in the lounge bar. I was hoping to spend more time at the pool, especially when the sun was still out, instead of either rushing to dinner for 6:30 or waiting around until 9pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Not what I was expecting for a five stars hotel. The rooms were too old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbus, IN

RIU Macao, was very nice. First all inclusive trip

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very nice. The only thing that was nasty was the septic smells that would funk certain areas up :(
Cons: I think the communication from the staff on the different room charges could be improved. I was charged making a local call to my travel adviser. :(
Location: There were no complaints about the location. If you wanted to book an excursion, transportation is usually included. Nothing close by to do though.
My husband and I had a good experience at hotel Macao. There were a few things that could be improved like most places but overall we had a very nice time. Do not use the room phones even for a local call. You will still be charged and that was not explained to me. But then again, there was always the communication barrier. But the front desk told me as I was paying my charge that I could've come to the front to call my excursion planner but that was after the fact. Also it was not explained to us that the housekeepers would try to come into your room to check on things at like 9:30 at night. We didn't know we needed our "Do not disturb" sign on at all times when we didn't want people just coming in! They really didn't even knock. I guess it's normal there but we were not expecting it and they would've gotten a eye full a couple of times if we hadn't yelled for them not to come in! The waiter staff and activity staff were the best though! They always had a smile on their face and were always so nice:) The food was pretty decent and it was nice to be able to make reservations for a different restaurants they had and try different food other than the same buffet every night. I would say for an all inclusive week stay, overall, it went very well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Naples, Florida

Location Perfect!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Rooms were spacious and clean. The property was well maintain. Lots of activities to do at all times. The staff was very pleasant!!!!!!
Location: It was a relaxing vacation so we pretty much just chilled at the pool and beach. Next visit we hope to venture out for some sightseeing.
Everything was wonderful on our vacation!!!! Food great, beach a little to much seaweed for me but still nice. Would highly recommend this for a couples getaway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Everything You Need Within Walking Distance

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: I liked the nightly entertainment, service, casino on sight and unlimited drinks at the bar. All inclusive made it stress free.
Cons: The wi- fi connectivity was poor. Some of the foods were too salty. Advertising entertainment could be emproved.
Location: Within the resort was great. I was not impressed with the surrounding area. The mall was not to my standard.
I was there with a few family members on vacation. It was great going to breakfast, lunch & dinner together. Hanging out at the beach & pool during the day was wonderful. Transportation was provided for us when we ventured outside the resort to shop. We worked out at the gym. The adults only atmosphere was great.