Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

food and alcohol

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Food at almost all the restaurants is terrible. Not expecting this out of a secrets . They use cheap vodka like Sky. Locally made cheap wine and other brands that we have not even heard off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service and location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Location: The beach is very nice for the view and long walks, there is shopping near by and several activities to keep you busy if that's what you prefer.
If you enjoy relaxing by the pool/beach with a drink in your hand you will enjoy this resort. There are many activities on site and near by if you want to be more active but we enjoyed soaking up the sun. The food was good at all the restaurants however if you are looking to indulge your sweet tooth the only desserts we really liked were those at the Seaside Grill. Other desserts we tried weren't up to our standards. The staff was VERY friendly and service was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing vacation

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Excellent beach, very clean resort. Excellent resteraunt food. Great activities and excellent staff. Couldn't have been more pleased
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Secrets Royal Beach - Punta Cana

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Well maintained grounds, nice rooms, lots of staff catering to every need.
Cons: The restaurants were all nice but the chefs could use more training in the various cuisines, French, Italian, Japanese, etc.
Location: Very nice tropical country. Beautiful beaches, warm sunny weather. Santo Domingo makes a nice day trip. Lots of history.
Beautiful, adults only resort on a nice clean beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good entertainment. Select Preferred status to get rooms next to beach, private pool, beach, and restaurant and a butler. Well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for choosing us for your holidays and allow us in consequence to provide you the pleasant stay you deserve. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

Adults only

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We came here for our honeymoon and we enjoyed ourselves! No kids and pretty quiet and relaxing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear sonia, We appreciate you chose us for such special moment like your honeymoon. As yous state our hotel is focus on adult, so you can have a completely relaxing stay. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
.Nice beach.It was disappointing ,expected more from Secret.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry to read this experience was disappointed in some way. Feel free to contact us if you desire to give us more detail. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Couples Retreat--Nobody told me that!!!!:-(

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This place is for COUPLES!!!!! Went for my best friend's 30th birthday so of course we wanted a place that was lively, vibrant, and full of young single people like us........we wanted to party and have fun. This was not the place for us. This place is a couple's retreat. The accommodations were nice, along with the restaurants, beach, and pool areas. It definitely met our standards in that area. It was just full of couples, so it was nice and quiet and quaint for them. So if you are a couple I would definitely recommend this place. Or if you just want a quiet relaxed secluded vacation this is the place for you. However, if you want to party and have fun, I would not recommend this place. Hey, you live and you learn.....next time we will try their Breathless Resort which I've heard is more lively and fun! The staff was so nice and always willing to assist you in whatever you needed. We only had one issue is which our shower head break and we didn't have hot water for a few hours late at night. However, after making a phone call that night everything was fixed promptly that morning and we didn't have any problems after that. There were numerous restaurants at the hotel along with their sister hotel next door--French, Mexican, American, Hibachi, International buffet.....it was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jazzy, We appreciate you share your impressions about your experience. Let us mention we receive couple, solo travelers and groups, but the concept of our hotel tends to be a relaxing and luxury experience, compare with others brands. Let us add we are glad the team acted in time manner to solve the issues in your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was very nice with it's own pool and beach area

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The members preferred club had it's own restaurant and beach area. The beach area was welkept and has sufficient places to sit in the shade or sun. The restaurant food was good or very good depending on what you ordered. The stake kabobs and the French Toast were very good. The shrimp schankie was very good and you could order special food orders "have it your way " tranportation was allways available for distance areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Recieve our gratitude for choosing us for your holidays and remark in your comment the perks included as part of the Preferred Club experience. This will be helpful for travelers who are concern about the inclussions of the Preferred.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C

Staff were great

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Great sandy beach Fantastic employees Exceptional property
Cons: Nothng
Location: Did 1 local excursion and spent 9 days at the property.
Staff were all great. Especially the pool bartenders (Willie Mays and Carlos) were especially exceptional. They were very efficient, friendly and so so so much fun. They really made the trip special. The food was very good and the rooms and grounds kept very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the team to remark the efficiency of our team to acommodate our visitors. For us it is a pleasure to provide guests with a satisfactory experience. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greater NY area

Disappointed

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Would not return, there are much better places esp in Mexico.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Beach was great, sometimes noisy unless you stay in the Preferred Club section of the beach which I think was not spacious enough but more private.
We stayed at Secrets as a Preferred Club member. We got a room that had two full beds put together rather than the king we had asked for. Falling through the crack between the beds got annoying so we spoke to the front desk in regards to this issue. They were not helpful and there was an employee speaking Spanish through another employee who turned out to be the supervisor. We only found this out after we asked for the Manager. After spending too much time arguing about this issue they finally offered to give us another room which meant we had to repack our belongings and unpack again into the new room which we did. After we got into the new room and unpacked we found out the a/c auto function wasn't working, the DVD player was broken (again) and the fridge wasn't working. Needless to say we were very frustrated after placing a several service calls for these things. In addition, the food was not good. We left the Spanish and Asian restaurants after about only 25 minutes since the service was poor and the food terrible. We ordered room service which wasn't much better. The only restaurant that was decent was the French restaurant and the Seaside Grill which was only for Preferred Club members. Besides that there was NOT one meal in which they didn't forget something or got something wrong with our order. The only thing that stood out was the beach was nice and the weather was great. The water was also swimmable and warm which was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear KP, We are extremely sorry that we failed to provide you the pleasant stay you were looking for and deserve. Regarding to the kind of bed, it is an aspect subject to availability, for that reason is that we don't garantee it in advance, and our team acommodated you as soon as it was possible. We reiterate our apologies for the inconveniences, this is not the kind of circumstances we hope our visitors experiment.