Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

👎👎👎family concierge

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Only saw her 3x on my 5 day vacation. The food average, the service could be a lot better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 1, 2016
This was the best vacation I have ever had. Came for my honeymoon and everyone was so wonderful, the staff were the best. Just make sure you tip them because they do an amazing job at keeping you comfortable and happy. The room service came multiple time a day and always had the room spotless and mini bar full. perfect beach and restaurants with different foods and professional Chiefs. I had a great time and so will you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great staff.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Cons: Let us deal directly with the different restaurants to make reservations and not have to go through guest service...
Location: great location. beach hotel.
Perfect location. Great staff. My son (8 years old) loved the "kids zone", didn't want to stay with us!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Second time around!!!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
My husband and I feel in love with this resort. Our first visit was in Aug 2015. And we had a great time. This year we had another great experience... The room was fabulous!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful, subpar service, not worth the money

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The resort is breathtaking, well maintained, never packed, and there are many options of pools or the beach.
Cons: The service-the service around the pool & beach was terrible. The buffets were hit or miss. Restaurants had great service. Our concierge was terrible.
Location: We did not leave the resort, but we loved how close the pool and the ocean were. You could literally jump out of the pool and be in the ocean in 2min.
We booked this place because we stayed there one night a few years ago when our plane had mechanical issues. From the little time we spent there, we loved it. We had stayed at Iberostar during that vacation and the Paradisus was definitely a step up. Well when we returned to Punta Cana, I booked at the Paradisus Punta Cana by mistake. It was not as nice a facility, but we had a great time and the staff there was great. When we returned again, I finally booked at the right place, the Paradisus Palma Real. We even got the Family Concierge Package. We were actually disappointed. The food was great most of the time. It is typical resort food that does get repetitive after awhile, but it was always very good. There was always enough options that if you made a conscious effort, you could easily find different things to eat daily. The family concierge was a waste of money. All she did for us was make dinner reservations for us, which we had to call her back several times each day to find out if we got. She did make a bubble bath for my son, after we showered him and had him dressed for dinner, and made an aromatic pillow. Other than that, all the other crap you pay for..YOU DON'T GET. Talked to 2 other guests, they had the same complaint. Don't waste your money. Service on the beach and by the pools is non existent. No one ever stopped and asked us if we wanted drinks. We always go them ourselves or had to hunt someone down. Service at the buffets was hit or miss.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from notth carolina

Great family vacation at The Reserve at Paradisus

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Vacationed in August 2016 with our two kids (ages 14 and 9). Beautiful grounds and felt very safe while on property. We had a two bedroom suite which was very spacious and beautifully appointed. Concierge very knowledgable and accommodating. Pros: gorgeous pools, plenty of fowls, scenic views from room, lobby and beach. Plenty of covered available seating on beach if desired. I loved it that people were not allowed to pester you to buy things on their beach. Beautiful spa with great service. Horseback riding excision on beach well with it as was trip to state park for zip lining and cave swim. Cons: food very average. Stay away from the hard core sales pitch to join club Melia. Dune buggy excursion with Sasuka awful...dusty, cow dung dirt fest with rude staff. Go to state park if you want to dune buggy. Off shore fishing very expensive (900.00 US for half day and my husband caught nothing!) Overall: we lived the Dominican and would love to return. The reserve is quiet and peaceful as well as beautiful. We will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Fantastic, short stay at a great resort! Couldn't have asked for better!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing trip, wish I was not sick

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Do not eat the sushi. I caught a cold going down, and got food poising the last day. Other than that the trip was great. Staff was awesome and the resort was great. We did the snorkeling/massage trip which was a blast and the cheep horseback riding which was OK. Was worth the trip but would not go back for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Möhlin, Switzerland

Traumurlaub in der Karibik mit kleinen Abstrichen

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Die Ruhe, weg vom Massentourismus und der hohe Standard beim angebotenen Service.
Cons: Die Sauberkeit in den Zimmern kann verbessert werden. Bei uns jedenfalls fanden wir Haare auf dem Teppich vor und auch der Spiegel wurde nie gereinigt
Location: Das Hotel ist etwas von Strand zurückgelegen und besteht aus einer traumhaft schönen und riesigen Poolanlage mitten in Palmen.
Wir haben eine One Bedroom Mastersuite mit privatem Garten gebucht und waren begeistert. Die Suite ist sehr geräumig und bietet Platz für eine Familie mit 2 Kindern. Das Ausziehsofa für die Kinder ist sehr gross. Das Zimmer verfügt über 3 Spülbecken, zwei Jacuzzi (innen und aussen) sowie 2 Fernseher. Insgesamt sind die Zimmer schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen, war für uns aber nicht weiter störend. Wir empfehlen die Zimmer im Erdgeschoss, da die dreistöckigen Gebäude keinen Fahrstuhl haben. Das All-inclusive Angebot ist top. Das Essen und die angebotenen Getränke sind auf sehr hohem Niveau. So werden beispielsweise bei den Getränken nicht nur das lokale Bier sondern auch 2 Importbiere angeboten (Stella und Budweiser). Bei den Spirituosen gibt es ebenfalls sehr hochwertige Brands, die im Preis enthalten sind. Das Hotel hat neben dem Büffetrestaurant noch 2 a-la-carte Lokale sowie eine Snackbar am Pool. Die gesamten Einrichtungen des Nachbarhotels (Restaurants, Pools etc.) können mitbenutzt werden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice resort, but, NOT a 5 Star.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The hotel facilities and grounds were beautiful. Most of the staff were great!
Cons: The entertainment and food was average, at best. Same with the drinks. Bar at the pool next to Blue Agave was the worst service. More kids menus.
Location: Same beach and things to do as EVERY other property, so, they need to do SOMETHING to set themselves apart.
We stayed at The Reserve section. The Reserve is simply a nicer, quieter area that is far away from the beach and main resort. You take golf carts to those areas which can be somewhat inconvenient depending on the time of day. Basically, they need to give you something nicer because you are so far away from everything else. It definitely is nicer, though. The rooms are very spacious and nice, however, they are very poorly lit. We were very pleased with the grounds and condition of the facilities. The beaches in Punta Cana are average because of the large amount of seaweed in the water and on shore. If you aren't paying for the Family Concierge, you aren't allowed in the first 3 rows of seats on the beach or in the preferred seats at the pool. That's ridiculous! We considered upgrading to the swim-up pool rooms and Family Concierge, but, that wasn't our biggest problem with the resort. Not sure it would've been worth the extra money. The biggest problem is the average food quality and lack of/poor entertainment choices after dark.