Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Overall place was good for kids and adults. We were a party of 10 with 3 kids and we all had a good time. Food was also good my only complaint is on our side of the resort there were mosquitoes. I always get bitten but even my wife had a few bites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A bit far from the beach, but excellent.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
This is a great hotel. What they sell is service. They assign you a concierge (ours was the amazing Rudelania Rincon) and they do whatever you need. Not enough fried pork? Rudy's got you. Want a private boat trip? Rudy's got you. Reservations for the restaurants or spa? She's got you. Special event? Just text her. She will even literally show up to where you are in a different part of the distantly located main hotel to chat with you about what you need. So cool. Takes the headache out of vacation. Rudelania is a pro. She made our vacation awesome. The cons were: we're in DR. Where is the Dominican food? I don't want Italian and Mediterranean food on my vaca! I came here on purpose for some good rice and beans and chicharrones. The management totally does not understand their client base and thinks Americans need burgers and fries. Ok. Maybe that's true sometimes but mostly we come to eat the local food. Wise up. Make a Dominican only restaurant, hire some grannies to make the good stuff and let Rudy hook us up with reservations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: The grounds and amenities.
Cons: The bed was a little hard.
Location: Didn't leave the grounds. Not the hotel fault but it would be nice to see fewer people on the beach trying to sell you things.
We had a great suite in the Reserve. The hotel, grounds, and people are awesome. We had a great time. We also had a great family concierge her name is Yesica Reyes. She made the stay fun and pleasant. If go ask for her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Tn

Wonderful, relaxing vacation

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We stayed at The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real in August 2017 for 5 nights. Overall we really enjoyed our trip. The grounds are gorgeous and made it easy to relax. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. We paid a little extra for the private garden and it was worth every penny. The chairs and cabana bed were great and the direct access to the pool was amazing. It almost felt like we had our own private pool! Pros: great having access to both the Reserve and Paradisus Palma Real. Restaurants ranged from average (Rare-Steakhouse) to excellent (Aqua and Fuego). Resort was very clean and staff was constantly cleaning leaves, etc. from the pool. Drinks and bartenders were top-notch. Even though the resort is marketed as a family resort, it was perfect for a couple as well. Cons: maybe it was just or concierge but things seemed a little disjointed i.e. Reservations at the wrong time, no one came to pick up luggage as planned upon departure, etc. We speak very little Spanish so the language barrier could have caused some of our issues though. We booked a king bed and it was really two full beds pushed together so there was a crack in between and it caused inconveniences with the outlets and lamps. We enjoyed the private part of the beach for Reserve guests but the actual beach here isn't great. There are a lot of boats for swimming and snorkeling aren't really possible. Overall we really had a great stay. I would recommend this resort to families or couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities, love concierge service

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We had a master suite which was a very large room with two hottubs, large shower, large living room with large pull-out bed for our daughter. We enjoyed the stay and the concierge service was very helpful in booking dinners, excursions, help with transportation etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It's good until someone in your family gets sick

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Here were the pros of our visit at this hotel: very pleasant and helpful staff, amazing swimming pools and they gave us a free room upgrade. However, our daughter got an ear infection, which of course, is not the hotel's fault. However, the medical situation at the hotel and the surrounding hospitals is shady at best. We visited the mini clinic on the resort property. They made sure to tell us that even though they were on the property that they were not affiliated with the resort. They examined my daughter and confirmed my suspicions of an ear infection, but then (this is where it gets weird), they said they had to refer me to a hospital and that she also needed to have a chest X-ray. When they said that, the hairs on my arms stood up. Something was not right. I asked to go back to my hotel room. I looked up the hospitals nearby and every one had awful reviews on google from tourists. It seems that the care people received was not good and the hospitals try to take you for every cent you have. I feel that the clinic on the resort is in cahoots with the hospitals. My daughter had an ear infection and absolutely did not need a chest X-ray. My daughter being sick and the medical care she received has really nothing to do with the resort, but it's something to consider if you plan on going there with children. And now that we are home, our daughter has been diagnosed with scabies! We never left the resort property, so our doc said she must have gotten it there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Beautiful, great food and great family vibes, close to everything, excursions were also beautiful. Staff all friendly and super helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jesup, Georgia

Awesome!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Upon check-in, we were upgraded to the exclusive part of the resort (which is highly recommended). The room was beautiful and spacious. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, though. We were assigned a concierge, Claury. She made the trip AWESOME. On our first night, she walked us right to the restaurant of our choosing and pulled strings to get us right in without a reservation. She also made our reservations every night so we didn't have to do a thing. I was sick one day and she can to my room to check on me and deliver a plate of fruit. On our last night, we walked into our room to discover rose petals leading to a bubble bath and chocolate covered strawberries! She made our trip so easy and carefree. There were shows on a nightly basis after dinner that were entertaining. The pool did close at 7pm which was a bit odd. There were a few nights we wanted to swim but couldn't. The beach is absolutely stunning. The only bad thing about the beach is the peddlers trying to sell you things constantly. The staff members in the resort were all so nice and always smiling. It was a trip to remember!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Calm and refreshing.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Very excellent resort. The staff were BEYOND courteous and inviting. Many things to do and the food and drink was delicious. Our concierge, Elvis, and one of the employees, Francisco Reynoso, went above and beyond when it came to service. Although the resort was mostly good, I wish there were do not disturb signs as the cleaning ladies would knock and come in if there is no response. It is very difficult to hear the knocks on the door. Some of the equipment did not work properly and were outdated. The staff seemed to be a little unorganized as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorado, PR

Excelent stay

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Variety of pools, excellent beach. Large property.
Our stay exceeded all expectations. We where treated excellently well at all times. Food, drink and service, all made it one of our favorites stays in years.