Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful, subpar service, not worth the money

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The resort is breathtaking, well maintained, never packed, and there are many options of pools or the beach.
Cons: The service-the service around the pool & beach was terrible. The buffets were hit or miss. Restaurants had great service. Our concierge was terrible.
Location: We did not leave the resort, but we loved how close the pool and the ocean were. You could literally jump out of the pool and be in the ocean in 2min.
We booked this place because we stayed there one night a few years ago when our plane had mechanical issues. From the little time we spent there, we loved it. We had stayed at Iberostar during that vacation and the Paradisus was definitely a step up. Well when we returned to Punta Cana, I booked at the Paradisus Punta Cana by mistake. It was not as nice a facility, but we had a great time and the staff there was great. When we returned again, I finally booked at the right place, the Paradisus Palma Real. We even got the Family Concierge Package. We were actually disappointed. The food was great most of the time. It is typical resort food that does get repetitive after awhile, but it was always very good. There was always enough options that if you made a conscious effort, you could easily find different things to eat daily. The family concierge was a waste of money. All she did for us was make dinner reservations for us, which we had to call her back several times each day to find out if we got. She did make a bubble bath for my son, after we showered him and had him dressed for dinner, and made an aromatic pillow. Other than that, all the other crap you pay for..YOU DON'T GET. Talked to 2 other guests, they had the same complaint. Don't waste your money. Service on the beach and by the pools is non existent. No one ever stopped and asked us if we wanted drinks. We always go them ourselves or had to hunt someone down. Service at the buffets was hit or miss.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from notth carolina

Great family vacation at The Reserve at Paradisus

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Vacationed in August 2016 with our two kids (ages 14 and 9). Beautiful grounds and felt very safe while on property. We had a two bedroom suite which was very spacious and beautifully appointed. Concierge very knowledgable and accommodating. Pros: gorgeous pools, plenty of fowls, scenic views from room, lobby and beach. Plenty of covered available seating on beach if desired. I loved it that people were not allowed to pester you to buy things on their beach. Beautiful spa with great service. Horseback riding excision on beach well with it as was trip to state park for zip lining and cave swim. Cons: food very average. Stay away from the hard core sales pitch to join club Melia. Dune buggy excursion with Sasuka awful...dusty, cow dung dirt fest with rude staff. Go to state park if you want to dune buggy. Off shore fishing very expensive (900.00 US for half day and my husband caught nothing!) Overall: we lived the Dominican and would love to return. The reserve is quiet and peaceful as well as beautiful. We will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Fantastic, short stay at a great resort! Couldn't have asked for better!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing trip, wish I was not sick

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Do not eat the sushi. I caught a cold going down, and got food poising the last day. Other than that the trip was great. Staff was awesome and the resort was great. We did the snorkeling/massage trip which was a blast and the cheep horseback riding which was OK. Was worth the trip but would not go back for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Möhlin, Switzerland

Traumurlaub in der Karibik mit kleinen Abstrichen

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Die Ruhe, weg vom Massentourismus und der hohe Standard beim angebotenen Service.
Cons: Die Sauberkeit in den Zimmern kann verbessert werden. Bei uns jedenfalls fanden wir Haare auf dem Teppich vor und auch der Spiegel wurde nie gereinigt
Location: Das Hotel ist etwas von Strand zurückgelegen und besteht aus einer traumhaft schönen und riesigen Poolanlage mitten in Palmen.
Wir haben eine One Bedroom Mastersuite mit privatem Garten gebucht und waren begeistert. Die Suite ist sehr geräumig und bietet Platz für eine Familie mit 2 Kindern. Das Ausziehsofa für die Kinder ist sehr gross. Das Zimmer verfügt über 3 Spülbecken, zwei Jacuzzi (innen und aussen) sowie 2 Fernseher. Insgesamt sind die Zimmer schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen, war für uns aber nicht weiter störend. Wir empfehlen die Zimmer im Erdgeschoss, da die dreistöckigen Gebäude keinen Fahrstuhl haben. Das All-inclusive Angebot ist top. Das Essen und die angebotenen Getränke sind auf sehr hohem Niveau. So werden beispielsweise bei den Getränken nicht nur das lokale Bier sondern auch 2 Importbiere angeboten (Stella und Budweiser). Bei den Spirituosen gibt es ebenfalls sehr hochwertige Brands, die im Preis enthalten sind. Das Hotel hat neben dem Büffetrestaurant noch 2 a-la-carte Lokale sowie eine Snackbar am Pool. Die gesamten Einrichtungen des Nachbarhotels (Restaurants, Pools etc.) können mitbenutzt werden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice resort, but, NOT a 5 Star.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The hotel facilities and grounds were beautiful. Most of the staff were great!
Cons: The entertainment and food was average, at best. Same with the drinks. Bar at the pool next to Blue Agave was the worst service. More kids menus.
Location: Same beach and things to do as EVERY other property, so, they need to do SOMETHING to set themselves apart.
We stayed at The Reserve section. The Reserve is simply a nicer, quieter area that is far away from the beach and main resort. You take golf carts to those areas which can be somewhat inconvenient depending on the time of day. Basically, they need to give you something nicer because you are so far away from everything else. It definitely is nicer, though. The rooms are very spacious and nice, however, they are very poorly lit. We were very pleased with the grounds and condition of the facilities. The beaches in Punta Cana are average because of the large amount of seaweed in the water and on shore. If you aren't paying for the Family Concierge, you aren't allowed in the first 3 rows of seats on the beach or in the preferred seats at the pool. That's ridiculous! We considered upgrading to the swim-up pool rooms and Family Concierge, but, that wasn't our biggest problem with the resort. Not sure it would've been worth the extra money. The biggest problem is the average food quality and lack of/poor entertainment choices after dark.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Very nice resort. Rooms were amazing!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: I LOVED the rooms and the outdoor bathtub on the balcony. The pool was beautiful and there were plenty of chairs and cabanas. Food was amazing!
Cons: SERVICE! The service was very hit or miss. If I pay for good service, I expect it. The staff was very lax on motivation.
Amazing facilities and rooms. Golf Carts were constantly running to get us to the beach quickly. The only drawback was the service. It was very hit or miss. You may get a good waiter and be taken care of, or you may not. If you are a drinker, the drink service was very slow. But that is my only complaint. Food was amazing, and you couldn't ask for a better, more beautiful resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel I would definitely stay there aga

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Had a great experience there all the staff was very nice and accommodating the food was really good and the place was beautiful .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Amazing place! Perfect for romantic getaway!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything! Clean, beautiful, great food and drink! Wonderful place all around!
Cons: Price for golf cart and club rental make it not so included but still worth it. Just heads up on the additional expense even though we stayed at The R
Location: Make sure you fly into Punta Cana not Santo Domingo. The excursions were all great! Monkeys, zip lining, blue hole Cap Cana VIP tour were our favorite
I can't rave enough about our stay at The Reserve! The resort is beautiful, well kept, and just a tropical paradise. My husband and I were celebrating our 10th Anniversary and this was the perfect place. I am so glad we stayed at The Reserve instead of the main Paradisus resort. The Reserve was quieter and more tranquil however, we took the short golf cart ride to the main resort daily for the fun hustle and bustle of the events and restaurants. It was so nice to come back to our little slice of heaven after shows, dinner, dancing, excursions, the beach, etc. The staff at both locations are phenomenal! Helpful and friendly. The food at all of the restaurants was exceptional. If you are a picky eater you may have a hard time. There is little American fair type of food which we really enjoyed getting to try new cuisine. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The Concierge, house keeping, room service, and wait staff were all fantastic! Golf was wonderful! Definitely go on excursions. Zip line, monkeys, and Blue Hole were the best! We will definitley be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Wow! Top notch resort on great beach and service.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The service, the grounds, amenities, and food were all fantastic. Again, I can't say enough about Lilian, Lucia, Juan, and Julio and their service.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location was great. Close to the airport. The resort was huge, no need to leave. It was a great location on the beach.
This is my third time doing an all-inclusive resort and couldn't get better than this. The food, service, drinks, pools, beach, etc. were all fantastic. The pictures don't even begin to describe how great this place is. Usually the pictures make it seem nicer than actually is, in this case, it was the opposite. They don't do justice. The food was fantastic with lots of choices and high quality. We choose the buffet several nights over a restaurant because it was so great!!! The drinks were great and quality (Absolute Vodka, etc.). The amenities and amount of pools was surpassing any other resort. I can't even describe how much pool space there was and the number total. The beach was wonderful and had lots and lots of seating. You could walk for miles and never felt unsafe. I will say the trip was made exceptional because of the fantastic service. Particularly, four bartenders at Avenue Bar. Lilian, Lucia, Juan, and Julio were truly the reason I loved this trip so much. They were friendly, knew my drinks, always bringing new ones, and made this trip. If you get a chance, I highly recommend going to this bar and visiting these fantastic bartenders to make your trip wonderful too. Without any hesitation I would recommend the Paradisus Palma Real. We stayed in the Reserve section and it was great. Everything was close. Anywhere you stayed at this hotel you will love it.