Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge property, outdated facilities

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing really. Needs serious upgrading.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Apart from the Club. I don't have a clue.
Huge property which is not easily maneuverable and easy to get lost. Facilities are old and outdated and things are very expensive. They allow smoking in the lobby which is very unhealthy and annoying. I couldn't breath properly. Food was mediocre. Rooms were not ready for over two hours. and there is only internet access in the lobby. Staff were unprofessional asking for favors. Did not enjoy my experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Everything was good, excellent food, drinks and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Danyelis. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate that you choose our hotel as your holiday destination as well as your compliments on the quality of our gastronomy and driks, the friendliness of our staff and the service in general. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Happy holidays, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel has many pools and clubs for kids. The food is very good and the staff is very kind and friendly. The beach is fantastic! The room was disappointing. We had to swap rooms because the first room was with bad smell. House keeping wasn't the best, we had to repeatedly ask for towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination At the same time we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Happy holidays, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Somewhere else

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Umm nothing really. The all inclusive was a nice feature!
Cons: A lot. See above
Location: We didn't leave the resort.
This trip was one we will not do again. First of all, this hotel was pretty bad. We got a superior room, and it was anything but superior. I'm not sure if the other rooms (more expensive) are better, but we honestly would have been better in a tent on the beach. The paint was peeling off of everything, nice tile floors, but beds are hard as a rock. Bathroom was bad, sink was disgusting, shower was okay but shower head was like showering with a garden hose, and the dingy dirty shower curtain was only hanging on by 3 hooks (the rest were ripped). We had a problem with our toilet, and maintenance came right over and fixed it. Housekeeping was good! Except we only got two towels. And they took them everyday, then brought them back later? They must collect them, wash them, then redistribute, which was fairly ridiculous because then you couldn't shower from like noon-6:30pm, because there were no towels. No wash rags. Did have a mini fridge with bottled drinks (soda water) which was wonderful! The staff are definitely inconvenienced by you staying there. Out of the 50 people we met, only maybe 8 actually cared that we were there, and were nice to us. Don't bother to go on the beach anywhere in this country because you'll be haggled to death to buy cheap knock off sunglasses, purses and cigars. You get a card, and you have to exchange it for a beach towel. You're not allowed to have more than one. This hotel is ridiculous when it comes to towels. The beaches are beautiful when not b
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination At the same time we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Happy holidays, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Not impressed!

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff was ok, the room was in bad shape! I saw mold and the walls where not clean. Outside when it rained it smelled like sewage! The food was average, in the snake bar they never changed the food so always the same thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Rommel. Dear Pete. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination. At the same time we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Happy holidays, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice hotel.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Great expirience. Nice people, good food. I enjoy our vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Federico Espinal. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your words, hope to see you again back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent resort with top quality staff!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
We've been to several resorts in D.R. & this is most certainly the best deal that we've come across for the great quality it provides. The beach was absolutely beautiful, the entertainment staff was so outgoing & energetic...the entire hotel staff was courteous & kind. Our standard room had 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms which was awesome! The pools are very spacious, beautiful & all right by the ocean. The resort is big but not immense so it's easy to get around. All of the activities are concentrated in one section so you don't miss out on the fun. The entertainment team allowed my sister & I (Zumba certified instructors) to give a Zumba class to the guests. It was a very exciting experience to be at this resort & we will most certainly be back. My family rated it at the top of their list as well:)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Zumba Sisters. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate that you choose our hotel as your holiday destination as well as for all the compliments regarding our hotel facilities. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Best regards, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice all-inclusive but a little frustrating

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is hard to find even with poor directions given by hotel there are three princess hotels in Google maps is useless .my first room was just freshly painted and the paint smell was so strong that I immediately needed a new room This took an hour and a half to change The hotel did try to make up with that by giving me a gift at checkout but I had to wait for a half an hour for them to find it
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination At the same time we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Best regards, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Wotif
food and drinks were really good, all day access. beach was spectacular... the rest somewhat suspect. but this was a cheaper all inclusive resort. nevertheless, rooms were pretty beat up, very limited internet access just in the lobby, overall standard so so
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General manager, Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to transmit you how sad we got in the very moment we were aware about your opinions regarding our Hotel, where you can believe that our main concern –and goal – is always achieving the satisfaction of our guests, and becoming their holidays in happy experiences and memories that remain with them beyond their stay among us. We actually want to express our most sincere apologizes if we did not achieve generating in you that feeling and if we were not able to satisfy your expectations at all. You can believe that was not our intention. On the other hand, we thank you that you took some of your valuable time to send us your professional comments and points of view, because as you perfectly understand, that is the best way we have to be able to focus our corrections in the right way, the preferences of our guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Girls trip

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff, perfect location, beautiful beach1
Cons: More fans are needed in the lobby and main dining room
Location: Take the excursions.....worth every penny. Do not recommend driving yourself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by princesshotels, Hotel Management
Dear Vickie. Thank you for sharing a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess. We appreciate you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination At the same time we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any possible inconvenience you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We hope to be your host on your next trip to the Caribbean. Best regards, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess.