Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

très bien placé, bonne ambiance

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: sa situation, sa plage
Cons: une visite/réunion d'accueil avec présentation de tous les services/ prestations de l'hôtel serait un plus
Location: excursion à Saint Domingue
accès direct plage privée, 3 belles piscines bonne équipe d'animation, dynamique et sympa personnel accueillant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Ok hotel for the money

Posted Aug 30, 2015
This hotel is ok.. Nothing really too great about it. You don't get special service or treatment like other resorts. Although there is a bar by the pool, you have to go get your drinks yourself .. Same thing with the beach! The room is not completely modern... The grounds are kept up well, and there are birds in cages and huge Iguanas contained. Very nice to look at. The staff is not overly friendly, the service is not so great.. The food.. So so!! However, if you are on a fixed income or budget.. It can work. I was surprised that the safe did not work.. I think you had to pay for it daily... Also.. You needed to use a card for the electricity. There were very few outlets to use in the room. Bring an extension cord. I think that is one of the ways they are able to keep the price low. There are many older people/ retired people at this resort. No offense, but if you are young and like excitement .. This is not the resort for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Check in time was 3pm but it took them almost 2 hours to give us a room. The room they gave us, there was mold on the wall where the glass pane connected the shower in the bathroom to the rest of the room. (Made for awkward family moments, btw) The smell permeated the entire room. After complaining, they moved us to a new room that was adequate. It was at least very clean and didn't stink. Beds were hard as a rock. Pillows were lumpy and provided no support. If it wasn't hard enough to fall asleep, every night in the "theater," they played extremely loud music until 11:30pm-midnight that could be heard throughout the entire resort. The food was the most bland food I have ever eaten. The meat was inedible, even in the "gourmet" restaurant. We ordered the tenderloin and were unable to even chew it. My father got sick from the chicken in the sportbar and was ill for a few days. The beach was unusable due to the massive amounts of seaweed on the beach and in the water so we ended up spending most of the week by the pool area. They were making efforts to keep the beach clean, but it was way too much for them to handle. Not that I would want to spend any time on the beach anyway. It is impossible to relax because you are interrupted every 5 minutes by people trying to sell you something. This even happened by the pool. So much for relaxing. On our last day they ran out of water, Pepsi, and orange soda. The staff laughed at us when we asked when it would be restocked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

This is that garbage hotel I ever see

Posted Aug 24, 2015
I don't recommend this hotel for nobody and the food it's not good at all the same Food every day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Vista Sol

Posted Aug 21, 2015
The food could have been I little better. The hotel should tell you everything that's available (free) and the worst part is that the main office never answers the phone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW, YORK

Recommend 24hr snack, more entertaining night show

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: MOST OF THE WORKERS, ROOM CLEANLINESS,
Cons: 24 HRS SNACK BAR, POOL CLEANLINESS, BUFFET SERVICES, MORE DOMINICAN MUSIC
Location: IS PRETTY GOOD NOT FAR FROM ATTRACTIONS,
MORE DOMINICAN FOOD BECAUSE IM IN THE DR, THE POOL NEEDS MORE CLEANLINESS BESIDES EVERYTHING IS GOOD, LESS SALT IN THE FOOD
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potential to be fabulous FABULOUS IT IS NOT

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: excursions
Cons: Provide nice towels and face cloths, update furniture, better equipment for workers (cutting a 100 hedges with a machete is ridiculous).
Location: The beach could be wonderful but it's full of seed weed. 2 night clubs and 2 malls one is very expensive. walk if you dear,,,,,,,DON'T. Taxi expensive
Reservation person Angel Bonella is far from an Angel. He is rude, mean and hates his job. The bed was from prison, hard as a rock and the food had you running to the bathroom. The beach was totally covered with seed weed in the water and on the sand. The pool closed at 6PM sucked. Whatever you used (coffee, towels, soap) in your room you had to replace yourself if you can found a cart ( very bad house keeping). Toilet barely flushed, Awful old towels, no face cloths. Hounded to BUY this BUY that on and off resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haverstraw, NY

Beautiful grounds, great food.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: The food was really good.
Cons: I loved everything about the hotel.
Great food, very friendly staff. Only 20 minutes away from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west palm beach florida

This hotel is very nice people are great,

Posted Aug 14, 2015
I stayed almost a month, room 6214 , ocean front and I can tell you People are friendly and always with a smile , when you read a bad review is simply because some people are low class , low level of education and most of them are alociholic, start drinking heavy duty early in the morning eat like pigs and still not happy ,, it's not a perfect hotel but employees are great people ,,never go by bad reviews ,,,make your own judgment thank you vista sol people especilally our maid Carmen and Doris from the pool bar 🇺🇸🇺🇸🇺🇸
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laval Quebec

Not enough English speaking staff

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Situated close to the hotel
Check in was o.k. - asked for upgrade gave $20.00 U.S. never got upgrade. The staff was OK except that the staff in the restaurants were very limited to English. Never got all what was ordered on menu, asked for baked potato got rice when asked for explanation why they would answer they would come back they never did , or ordered salmon it never came they served my dessert instead. Gave up at the end was not worth it. Main pool area the beach chairs were never available in the afternoon always reserved with towels even though you were not allowed to. Lastly the excursions be careful we did 3, 2 were OK but the one we did with Expedia Blue we went to Saona Island was a big big disappointment. To much time traveling to get there not enough time on the island. Hardly had time to eat and relax on the beach before we were off again to leave to come back to the hotel. The tour guide was terrible never understood anything he said catered to the Spanish only. To top the icing at the end of the trip they dropped us off a shopping center nearby and were forced to stay there for 30 minutes, which everything was tippled price. When we asked for a cab because we were fed up they never got us one and we forced back on another bus to get back to our hotel 45 minutes later, which would of taken 15 minutes max by cab. because we were fed up with all the traveling we did