Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Meh!!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Haven't been to an all inclusive in a while, there was a lot of good things, but I think next time we'd step it up for a nicer experience. The food was cafeteria style and a bit bland, even at the restaurants. The beach was incredible and the views were awesome, the staff spoke Dominican (Spanish) and if you didn't it was sorry no speak English!! They work hard at keeping it clean, and also trying to keep you entertained. If you are just wanting to go to the beach and food is not a part of your whole experience it's a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that your overall appreciation of our Resort, its services and facilities was positive, but regret that not everything was perfect. Thank you once more for your constructive feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Viva Wyndham Dominicus in the near future. Kind regards, Customer care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Recommed

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The beach bungalow was perfect...just a short distance to the beach, pool, and buffet.
Cons: I paid full price for the vacation that I chose, and I do not feel that I should have been hounded to attend a vacation club presentation.
Location: Beach and water are perfect. We didn't leave the resort.
I read several reviews before booking this hotel, and even though there were some negatives...I couldn't resist reserving a beach bungalow. I am glad that I didn't let the negative reviews scare me away. I feel that many of the negative reviews are from people who set their expectations way too high. My family enjoyed the convenience of being right on the beach and righ next to the pool/bar/buffet. It is true that if you stay near the main pool, you will hear loud music nightly until 12:30/1 a.m. The food at the restaurants was very good and the buffet was OK, but certainly not terrible. Check-in was a breeze. We found that the staff was friendly and knew enough English to communicate effectively.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We highly appreciate the fact that you took your precious time to write a detailed review. Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip is greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests. Both your pros and cons comments have been forwarded to the responsible managers, and we assure you that we will bear them in mind. Best regards, Customer care
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
The walls are thin. You can hear your neighbors clearly. Entertainment at the resort is limited and cheesy. No excursions on Sunday. Little room for spontaneity you have to plan your excursions and dinner reservations in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent family vacation at Viva Wyndham Dominicus We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us as it is the most reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities. We hope that you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Resorts. Kind regards, Customer care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and amenities

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff is very friendly, food is decent, lots of things going on
Cons: Better communication in regards to hotel activities (when & where) things take place.
Location: Great zip line tour and Isla Saona tour
Not much to do when water is choppy as far as hotel amenities. Staff is well versed in English, but very few English speaking guests here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Dominicus. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, Customer care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very disappointed, just don't waste your money

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The beach is absolutely beautiful! The staff is very friendly, but speak very little English, expected given that we weren't in America! Bartender Tomas is GREAT!
Cons: Stop overbooking, give people what they pay for! Better food at the buffet, and allow people to reserve the restaurants every night, not only a couple. Get beds that aren't hard as a rock.
Upon reading all of the negative reviews, we chose this resort because of the beachfront room that we desired for our vacation. We paid extra to upgrade to a bungalow on the beach. Upon arrival, we were told that they were overbooked, and we could not have that room. They told us they had an "upgraded room" for us. They took us to a rather large room, however it was in the very front of the resort (furthest away from the beach), with a view of a burnt down building. We were initially told we would only be there for one night and could have our bungalow the next day, which then turned into we would have to stay in that room our entire stay because a bungalow wouldn't be available the entire week. We were denied any financial reimbursement. The staff at first seemed apologetic regarding the ordeal, and then seemed annoyed when I voiced my displeasure of the different room, stating "This is our best room, you should be happy." We were only allowed to make reservations on 2 out of the 6 nights that we stayed, all other nights we had to eat at the buffet (which is easily the worst buffet I've ever had). The beds are rock hard. The resort is extremely crowded, with parties all night, that can be heard throughout the entire resort. WIFI reception only works in one spot in the middle of the resort, if you want to have internet you can actually use, you have to pay for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Dominicus. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, Customer care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

The worst reception desk I have ever experienced

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The beach, the excursion, the facility, the food.
Cons: The front desk staff needs to be more friendly, proactive, and need to have more staff
Location: There is a little market right outside of the facility
The reception desk staff was horrible, was cold and not personable did not set us up with a Concierge so that they may explain how the hotels facilities worked. The bad service trickle down to the overall experienced. Because of that my husband and I had to wonder in the resort following a map that they gave us trying to figure it out on our own. The Bungalow on the beach was over booked and we were not told this until we arrive at the facility. It was a bitter sweet because the facility, the food, the beach was beautiful. If we wouldn't have been because the front desk staff we probably would have singed up for a membership there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Dominicus. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, Customer care
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Not for American Family

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Did not get the room we booked. Food made my family of four sick for most of the trip. Staff not helpful at all. Could not book restaurant but our VIP friend had no issues booking. Location is nice but that's it. Food was mostly terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for visiting our resort Viva Wyndham Dominicus We take many caution regarding the kind of service we provide to our guests and every day we are looking into every little details to make our guests stay memorable. According to your comment, we failed to impress you with our gastronomy . Our procedures for hygiene, conservation and quality of food are constantly monitored by our Department of Health and Safety, an external professional company and other organizations including Tour Operators. We also have a medical center on site that informs us of all the cases they attend and, once again, our record is flawless. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, Customer care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful Beach! Bungalows are the way to go!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The entertainment was wonderful especially the acrobats and trapeze. Amazing Beach! The dancing was great til 12:30 am. Loved the themed parties!
Cons: The Bungalows could use attention.The slippery porcelain wall tiles used for floor tiles can be very dangerous when mixed with sunscreen and lotions.
Location: We took the Saona Island cruise with Saona Dreams and it was amazing! So much food and even dancing on the Catamaran. Buggie tour was a waste of time.
This hotel does not cater to Americans or English speakers in general. There are several Europeans which was nice for our children to meet and interact with people from other countries. Speaking Spanish will make your experience more enjoyable. They may not cater to Americans, but you can capture their attention quickly by making sure your tip is visible as you order. We got friendly with a couple of the Bartenders and they made sure they remembered what you ordered and made to your specifications.Frendy and Malnoy (sp) we awesome and always had a big smile when they saw us. We had some hot nights as the air conditioner stop working and we called the front desk for which they promptly sent someone to fix it. After 3 days we were moved to a different room with a consistently working AC. No comp for the inconvenience. However, we were reminded that they don't typically do that since they were pretty full. The buffets were OK for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, but I would recommend that you make reservations for the onsite restaurants right away or you will not get a seat. The Mexican restaurant was one of our favorites for which we visited twice during our 7-day stay. Atlantis requires a $20 per person up charge and $35 if you want to order lobster instead of the main dish. We visited La Roca for dinner, but we didn't like that you had to pre-order your meal and everyone had to eat the same thing in the group. Resturant 25 was nice and a little more upscale for adults only.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We highly appreciate the fact that you took your precious time to write a detailed review. Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip is greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests. Reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. Both your pros and cons comments have been forwarded to the responsible managers, and we assure you that we will bear them in mind. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with a great stay showing that we have improved our service for you. Best regards Customer care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful property, okay food

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Beach, Excursions, Staff
Cons: Food
Location: We went to Isla Saona, Catalina Island, and Wild Ranch Zipline Canopy Tour which were all wonderful and close to the hotel.
Our room was nice, the hotel property was BEAUTIFUL, the food was okay. The saving grace for the food was the snack bar which served hamburgers during the day and the pizza bar that had great pizza and other food after 7:00pm. The buffet didn't have good food and you have to make your reservations for the nicer restaurants as soon as you get there because they are limited and usually booked a couple days out. The beach was beautiful, the bartenders were super friendly and made excellent strawberry daiquiris and mojitos, but the vodka was gross and the Bloody Mary's were awful. The hotel had great excursions, such as Isla Saona and Catalina Island. I highly recommend those two excursions. And the main pool always has activities going on. There were tons of Europeans there, I barely saw any Americans. It was overall a great deal for the price. They will try and get you to do a VIP presentation, we didn't plan on buying any VIP memberships so we were able to get out of it. Just know it's not required so you don't waste your time if you don't plan on purchasing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We really appreciate your review published on this page. We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort. We assure you that the involved departments were informed about your comments and we will do our utmost to improve the quality of our services. Best regards, Customer care
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful beach, custome service could be improved

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Pools, beaches, availability of continuous food and drinks, friendly event/social staff
Cons: More than one towel shack, provide clear guidance around hours of operation, staff could be more lenient with times as mentioned in above review.
Pros: Beach was beautiful. Clear water, plenty of seating, covered and uncovered. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping the guests involved and entertained. The majority of the staff impressively spoke multiple languages. The food at the a la carte restaurants was significantly better than the buffet. Cons: We tried to make a dinner reservation on the day we checked in and we were told we couldn't make one the day we arrived because " we wouldn't be in the computer system yet." They told us to return the following day after 8am to make reservations for the following night week. The next day we went at 3:05 to make a dinner reservation and they told us we could only make them up until 3:00pm. Therefore we had to eat at the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for two days straight. The buffet was mediocre and not conducive to anyone with food allergies. In order to get beach towels you had to walk the one and only towel shack on the resort which was roughly a quarter mile from our room. We went to exchange the towels at 6:03 and were told we would have to come back tomorrow because they are only open until 6:00pm. These time confusions would have been eliminated if any information regarding hours of operation, restaurants, reservations etc was provided to the guests or was available in the room. The room itself was somewhat disappointing. It was outdated and small. The bedding was rough and uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We highly appreciate the fact that you took your precious time to write a detailed review. Observations like yours serve to motivate us even more. Both your pros and cons comments have been forwarded to the responsible managers, and we assure you that we will bear them in mind. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with a great stay showing that we have improved our service for you. Best regards, Customer care