Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachuaett

Great stay

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Second time at this hotel. Great staff. Grounds are well maintained.could have a better selection on food. Last time, they had a pasta station. Now the sauce already has, ie, seafood in the red sauce. Wife does not eat seafood. All minor things with food. Wait staff, Bienvenido, was great. Still there from the last time we were there. Remembers your drinks. Always remember that even though it is all inclusive, a small tip to the employees make for greater service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments. We are very pleased to know that you are enjoining your visit to our beautiful Resort. We are also delighted to hear that you are part of our group of loyal guests, whom honor us with their preference. We are looking forward welcoming you back in a very near future! Kind regards, customer care Viva Wyndham Dominicus
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Ruined Honeymoon

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING...a place like this needs actual concierge!
Location: I'm sure there is plenty to do and see, but if you ask...all you will get is pitched a sale! Pathetic.
They have a group that they call "concierge" but they are far from it. They are pushy/annoying salesmen. If you are American you DO NOT want to go to a VIVA Resort. We were trying to enjoy our stay and could not even make eye contact with anyone or we would get pitched the VIVA VIP sales seminar. We were bothered by 6 different "concierge" and they just wouldn't give up. There was no such thing as no thank you. At one point my new wife was brought to tears because we were being pushed into a sales seminar by Danny, the concierge manager. This was by far the worst vacation I have ever been on and the timing couldn't have been worse. The food is not good, the hotel room are poor and you cannot ask anyone questions about improving your stay because they are the "concierge" and they have only one thing in mind....SALES Now Expedia isn't returning correspondence, we cannot get ahold of Delta, who left one of our bags in Atlanta... Expedia, Delta and Viva Wyndham are NOT AT ALL RECOMMENDED!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Dominicus. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, customer care Viva Wyndham Dominicus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from easchester n.y

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The guests in the hotel are mainly European from Italy or France. The hotel staff speaks these languages primarily also including Spanish. The staff is nice although you may need to ask for things twice if they are busy. My wife and I stayed here primarily because of the beach. The water is clear blue and the sand is soft and white. i would also recommend the Saona excursion if you get a chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Jennifer Tavarez, Hotel Management
Dear customer, It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Dominicus We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities. Best regards, Customer care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Horrible food, they overcharge you for everything

Posted Aug 15, 2016
They charge you extra for everything, to use the safe and Even a toothbrush, $30 for a lost towel card! NO WIFI, we had a wedding there and they didn't accommodate us at all, and the food is the worst food in any resort I've ever been to, 3 of our guests ended up in the hotel emergency room they had to get an IV . Not going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear customer, We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Dominicus. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, General Manager Viva Wyndham Dominicus
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from o

Horrible

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Beware of this resort. They want every little dime from you. If you want a tooth brush it's $2, if you want a beach volleyball just to play with it's $10. If you want wifi it's $25 for 25 hours and it doesn't even work well. The food is horrible. The staff is all rude... Worse resort I've ever been to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear customer, We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Dominicus. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations. We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort. Kind regards, General Manager Viva Wyndham Dominicus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted May 30, 2016
Cons: Majority of staff do not speak basic English. Difficult to communicate.
I like renovation and food quality improvement. Show is better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by General manager, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Dominicus as destination for your vacation. We appreciate the time dedicated to write your opinion about your stay at our resort. We assure you that your feedback will be considered in order to ameliorate our services. Please do not forget that Viva Wyndham Dominicus will be pleased to welcome you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice beach, terrible food

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Beach
Cons: food
Location: We didn't leave the resort
Check in was good, room is OK, conditioner is blowing on the bed, we had to turn it of when sleeping. Food is terrible, nothing to choose from. Only breakfast was OK. Beach and pools are nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schaumburg, IL

Beautiful hotel grounds, relaxing vacation

Posted Apr 21, 2016
If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. If you are on a tighter budget and you're looking for a relaxing, beautiful beach vacation, then I would definitely recommend this place. We just got back and had a wonderful, relaxing time. Food is ok. I've never been to another all-inclusive so I can't compare. There are a lot of Europeans, which in a way was nice as a lot of the Americans we did notice were being loud and obnoxious. The resort grounds are beautiful and well-kept.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indy

Decent for the money

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The food is okay, nothing to write home about. Almost all of the staff is very friendly. Be careful of the staff in yellow shirts. They will constantly try to get you to join their VIP club. The bed was rock hard and the room was just a little dated. I would say it is fine, you won't spend much time in there. Don't pay for snorkeling excursions. You can buy a mask and snorkel for $16US at one of the shops and see everything just steps from the beach. They expect tips from Americans and it gets you a drink a little quicker by showing a few singles. Also, a ton of Europeans. This is not a bad thing. I forgot cigarettes were still a thing. They all smoke, but it's outside so not a huge issue. It is comical to see the chubby Europeans in their tiny swimsuits. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Well laid out resort - activities for all ages.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Location, Location , Location.
Cons: Staff promptness
Location: Snorkeling was very nice but the boat to the island was about 5 people overcrowded. Horseback riding was fun....But needed to ride on some paved road
Our five day visit was very enjoyable. It was a great place for extended family to let it all "hang out" and relax. The kids can do a lot of things in the water and on the beach. The buffet food tasted okay and there was a pretty good variety. The beverages were available throughout the property but sometimes were mixed a little weak. (but that could also be considered a good thing). We had a difficult time setting up excursions through "Hotelbeds" because the representative, Christian, did not show up for the appointment time given us. We also found that our room was not locking when we left it. I called the desk and they said they would come and fix it. No one came. The next day I went to the desk and they finally did get it fixed. Then I had to explain to the desk why I wasn't going to pay for the $2.00 per day use of the room safe. He finally agreed that we had a right to expect a safe room. It was a good experience over all but I think Wyndham Dominicus needs to do some work with their staff.