Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Hotel Close to the beach, nice show at night.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
It is not a very nice hotel, but I think it was a fair payment according the hotel service. It looks more like a small lodge but with unlimited foods and drinks. The staff was friendly and they try to do the best to make everyone happy. The night show was good, right price for a right hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

You get what you paid for

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Except for one staff who was a bit rude, everybody was very nice. Not much choices for the buffet but still enough to choose from. A little outdated but the hotel has a character that I liked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Smell

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The breakfast was very bad, no coffee. In the area where we stayed there was a terrible smell, and the water from the bathroom tasted like hell and smelled and was like very salty. The beach area was really messy . We paid 150.00 us toooooo expensive for that hotel. The cost should be like 20 dollars per night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eureka, Ca.

Terrible Experience

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel was ok. They were very cooperative when raw sewage flooded our rooms. Food was good. But really disappointed in the experience.
Cons: Improve customer service such that you could acutaly help me have a good time rather than make my stay so difficult. Couldn't even call out.
Location: Locaton ok but every taxi ride was exorbitant and my son was ripped off by a motorcycle taxi guy.
Took my Dominican family there because they had always dreamed of going to Punta Cana. I even booked a Monkey Safari tour through Expedia just to make sure we had a memorable family adventure. But when we arose at the appointed time--no tour. The hotel was not helpful helping me find another tour. In short, we were imprisoned at the hotel--having missed a beautiful experience. I am never again going to the Dominican Rpeublic. Never.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
This was a total misleading hotel, You don't get what you pay, this is even worst than that. For sure, you have to pay all your stay NON refundable when you check in, sure, because after you see the hotel and the room, you really want to go out of there, but they won't give you your money back. I don't really know where they took the pictures of the hotel, but for sure it is NOTHING like it is in reality(please see pictures attached), we booked this hotel for work, but it was worst than what we imagine. The water is salt water... yes, like from the ocean The food is served outside, in plastic plates, and is TERRIBLE, I even took a picture of the meat to see how bad it looked, The AC was NOT working in the middle of the Caribbean in summer, they said they will fix it, and they never did. They said it has beach chairs, to make it look it has access to the beach... BUT IT does NOT have beach access, you have to walk to beach on the street, TERRIBLE experience here, just because I think the hotel portrayed in the website is NOTHING close to reality!!!!! Needless to say, We just canceled our room, lost the money and left the next morning as fast as we could.
5 out of 5
by Norma

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Excelent, I will come back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on CheapTickets
Cheap place. Should labled as a hostel rather than a hotel. We stayed 1 night of a 5 day stay and then moved to another hotel. It is a poor representation of a stay in beautiful DR. The beach had alot of seaweed that was not addressed. Food was basic. The A/C in the room worked well. Water from tap smelled like it was treated water. We did not even shower there. Could not wait to leave even though we list all the money.
5 out of 5
by Gennene

Whala Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was a wonderful vacation..a little out dated hotel but very friendly staff and food was amazing..i plan on going back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 23, 2017
No water and when the water came on iy smell like sewer and it was white not clear and no AC people are very rude that work there the drinks and the food are terrible do not stay here the pictures are not what it is it's a lot worse The hotel is very old and very nasty bugs are everywhere due to the huge cracks in windows
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Money hungry

Posted Jul 12, 2017
These people didn't even let my guests in my room. Never have i heard of getting a hotel and u cant bring people in your room. Water was bad. The place is trash. Dont waste your time