Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

False advertising

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: nice ocean view
Cons: an honest presentation of the property
The Spa, restaurant , and bar are closed and have been for some time. The advertising for this property is false. There is no phone in the room !! you have to use your cell phone to call the front desk. Finally there were cockroaches in the kitchenette ! I think this should be taken off the expedia list.
4 out of 5
by Benigno from Santo domingo

Excellent stay

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel to relax
5 out of 5
by GRACIE from Brownsville

heaven

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful ocean view
5 out of 5
by Juvenal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Alan D from Falmouth, ME

A Truly Unfortunate Stay

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
My recent one night stay was a comedy of errors. At first blush, a lovely resort in a beautiful part of Punta Cana. All that follows actually happened: when I checked in I was informed that the restaurant was not open and I would need to take a taxi to a different hotel for any food (even for a cup of coffee in the morning). And trust me when I say this part of Cap Cana is pretty deserted. Once in my room, the toilet wasn't working,and I went to call for repair but the phone had no connecting cord so I had to walk the hundred yards back to the desk to report it. The repairman told me that he couldn't fix it until the morning (he never came prior to my checking out). I tried in vain to change rooms, apparently none available. To add insult to injury, I had no hot water for a shower in the morning, not even warm. Also no internet in the rooms. Lastly, when leaving my second floor room in a heavy rain, a guest walked out of his first floor room to summon the bellman because he had an inch of water flooding the floors throughout his room. I did inform the very nice concierge, who politely offered only that he hopes my next stay will be better. There won't be one; I have never had a worse hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruslan from Moscow, Russia

Ok

Posted Mar 29, 2013
Pros: It is all new and modern.
Cons: It is far from civilization.
Location: Cap Cana needs at least 15 years more to become a resort area.
The Hotel is nice, but Cap Cana area has no life, everything is far, the project seems to be dead. This hotel is ok only if you like to play golf, otherwise you should look for other option. The property is new, rooms are nice and big.
4 out of 5
by Kate

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels
excellent and clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing

Posted Jun 27, 2012
Pros: We had an entire apartment with three bathrooms, three porches, and an outside personal jucuzzi.
Cons: The restaurant was expensive.
Location: Perfect and more
This place was beautiful and far beyond what we expected. Super good deal. Not so much for the partying kind but more so for one seeking peace and quite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Crystal from Maryland

Golden Bear Lodge

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: The services of the staff was excellent.
Cons: The menu selection of the restaurant is limited and average. This type of hotel should have a more experience chef.
Location: The hotel is located in a private, secluded and intimate area; this was what we were looking for in a vacation...peace and quite.
The Golden Bear Lodge in Cap Cana is a wonderful & comfortable hotel. The location of the hotel is away from the popular & loud hotel zone; Cap Cana is located south of the airport. If you are looking for peace & quite, this is the place to go. Cap Cana is a private area. Golden Bear is not on the beach; golf resort. You will take the hotel shuttle to get to Juanillo Beach (5 minutes) which is beautiful and relaxing. You will need to take a shuttle to get to the marina and the other hotels and restaurants within the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricky from Puerto Rico

Nice property but not for every one.

Posted Feb 29, 2012
The Golden Bear Lodge is a nice hotel for a long or short stay. A little quiet for those looking for night life. The facilities are well kept and the employees are very professional. The only two things that need improvement are the bathrooms. The shower drainage is pretty much clogged. I have seen that in different rooms at the hotel ( have stayed at the GBL three times already), therefore I am positive that all rooms have the same problem. Breakfast is good but they do not keep up with the food. I was told that the kitchen is subcontracted to another company. Besides that the Golden Bear is a nice property.