Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Leah

Relaxing beach stay

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at la Viuda! We lived our room with the sea view and tub. The free breakfast was delicious and we loved that it was offered as room service any time. So close to an isolated beach, easy drive to Jose Ignacio. Several amazing restaurants close by for dinner. Would go back and recommend to friends and family!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santiago de chile

Filthy rooms, hair in the shower, refilled bottles

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Never again, expensive and dirty I would not recommend this hotel At all
4 out of 5
by Kent from USA

Good Posada, Great Management.

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
La Viuda is one of the best value Posadas in Jose Ignacio. The rooms are spacious, the prices are reasonable considering the alternatives, and the management consistently goes out of it's way to assist and make you feel at home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay during high season

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We were there for our honeymoon. It was around New Years so everything was crazy expensive, which is typical for all of Punta del Este and the surrounding beaches. The service was amazing - all the staff was fantastic and attentive and easy to communicate with. Breakfast was lovely every day by the pool. The only negative I can think of was that the room was a little sandy when we first arrived, but as it's very much a beach themed hotel, that was no big deal. It's not located in the main area of Jose Igancio but about 3km away, which is fine because they have free bikes for you and one of the best beaches was right across the street anyway (Las Arenas del Jose Ignacio). We'd definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AMAZING HOTEL RIGHT NEAR BEACH

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Location: beaches and small restaurants and towns nearby
This hotel was my favorite place to stay during my time in Argentina and Uruguay. The hotel staff was incredibly accommodating, giving us a personal cell phone to reach their staff at any point during our stay and also booking dinner reservations near by. The hotel provide bikes you can use to ride around the area and has a nice pool you can sit by. Each room is VERY comfortable with apple tv, and free movies to choose from. There are hot tubs in the rooms, high speed internet and amazing complimentary breakfast. All of their food options are fresh and made just right. one thing you should know though is that this hotel is NOT in puna del este. When i searched for rooms on expedia for Punta del este this hotel came up and i booked it not knowing it was about 45 minute drive north of there. I rented a car for only 40 dollars and was very glad that i did so. the drive to the hotel is amazing and there are stores and great sights to see along the way. The area of the hotel is way more peaceful and beautiful than the tourist areas of punta del este. When you do stay at this hotel make sure you go the the restaurant called LA HUELLA. its right on the beach and has an amazing atmosphere and food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spot to relax

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels
Nice people, nice place and good food. Very relaxing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, don't miss Jose Ignacio!

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels
Great hotel with great service. Breakfast is outstanding. Rooms are comfortable with large jacuzzi tubs, Apple TV, wi-fi, and you can see and hear the ocean from the large balcony! Staff offered to make dinner reservations for us and were attentive to all needs. Jose Ignacio is a fantastic area. The hotel is not in the town of Jose Ignacio - about 5 minutes away by car. You could walk 5-10 minutes to get to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ótimo Hotel, equipe excelente

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Gostei muito, ótimo café da manhça, quartos bem arrumados, um charme de hotel.
Cons: Este hotel é tão charmoso, que não precisa de melhora. Adoramos!
Location: fica a 1 quadra da praia.
Adorei ficar neste hotel, a equipe é muito atenciosa, eles tratam as pessoas com muita atenção e carinho. Fica a uma quadra da praia vale a pena se hospedar!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente atencion

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel es muy lindo, muy cuidado, la atencion es inmejorable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels