Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South FL

Nice Place to relax very clean.....

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Room, Rooftop bar and pool
Cons: Some sort of barrier where you can still enjoy the view but no the wind on the rooftop bar
Location: Everything is very close.....Don't forget to visit the Muscle car museum it had a great display of cars, trucks.......
I only stayed one night. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel overall. I love the extra security of your room key to be able to use the elevator to the hotel rooms. The public can go to the roof to the bar which is beautiful and the staff at the bar were very attentive. Only downfall was it was really windy the day I was there and wasn't really able to fully enjoy my drink. I would go again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Falls, IA

5th stay at the Wyvern and maybe my last

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Replace carpets, be up front about advertised amenities that are not working.
Location: Great access to restaurants and bars. Also great views of the sunset from the roof top bar and pool.
At check in they told me that Expedia had overbook the hotel. After 10 minutes they decided I could stay and they would turn away the next Expedia member to try to check in. BTW I booked the room 2 months in advance. Once in the room we find out the WIFI wasn't working above the 2nd floor. I was staying on the 5th. On the 3rd day of going to lobby to do critical work they gave me a $25 for my inconvenience. Had they mentioned the WIFI at check in I would have felt like they respected me and were operating like professionals. I also noticed that at the carpet in the halls that the carpet needs to be replaced. The carpets are worn and stained which in my mind is not acceptable for a 4-5 star hotel. Bottom line is next time I travel to Punta Gorda I will take a serious look at staying the Sheridan.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Punta Gorda, FL

Booked Deluxe 2 dbl bed, Got 1 bed & fold out sofa

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, updated
Cons: Reservations and more helpful staff.
Location: Nice location.
2 double bed deluxe room confirmed.Their site showed 5 of these rooms available when booked & confirmed. We got 1 bed & flop out sofa! Staff made no effort to correct or reduce price. We left after one night. Only stayed that night because too late to get another hotel. The hotel actually wanted to charge us an early cancelation fee! Expedia went to bat for us and got the early cancelation fee waived and our money for the last 3 days refunded. Thank you Expedia!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Bait & Switch

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Employee training, and strict rules to adhere to honoring confirmed reservations.
I booked two hotels rooms, with two beds in each room, because I had three displaced elderly from Hurricane Irma. One of whom was my 88 year old grandmother. I flew in from Chicago and picked them up from a shelter in Ft Myers. We made the drive up to Punta Gorda and upon checking in at the front desk, I was informed that there was only one room under my reservation and that it was a suite. The cost ($800+) remained the same. When I explained the situation and showed the employee the email confirmation, he said I could take the room or leave it. He also showed me a Cubs tattoo on his arm and was far more interested in my home city than resolving the problem. Every hotel in the immediate area was also booked, and a call to Expedia did nothing to resolve the problem either. I eventually found two rooms on Sanibel Island at a hotel that had just re-opened a few hours earlier. It was a horrible situation made even worse by the screw-up with the rooms and complete lack of professionalism by the front desk employee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good views and nice quiet stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
At night, the street behind hotel can get a little sketchy with the nearby bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great hotel. True patriots in the days after Irma for an elderly woman from Naples who needed a room. Great staff. No price gauging. God bless you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Charlotte

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Stayed first night back after Irma. So didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. But from what we saw I would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

what was not there

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: clean, polite desk clerk, very convenient rear access door
Cons: fix the wifi
had to show conf. email to get second nite, hotel had for 1 nite. wifi not working,tv programming sucks, I opted to skip cleaning but ask for towels which I never got, restaurant closed??? cold shower water, key card not duplicated for second day, had to take stairs down for new card as was locked out of elevator and room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The Wyvern in Punta Gorda is a up to date, very comfortable hotel. The king room looking at the harbor is has a large modern bathroom with lovely toiletries. The rooftop pool has a nice atmosphere and the staff are pleasant and attentive. The lobby restaurant served a nice breakfast efficiently. The room service was timely but I would not recommend the sliders. Overall a very pleasant experience and fantastic value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The room was beautiful
Cons: I heard music from a nearby restaurant
Location: near restaurants and bars
Great room and staff. The room was beautiful,the bed comfortable. I wish I could have stayed longer