Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
If you are used to the Caribbean and the all inclusive resorts there then you'll be disappointed with this resort. There were some exceptional staff who were very helpful. The resort was clean and same with the room. The facilities were few and the resort was very small. The most disappointing thing was that the safety box, the pool towels, and even the iron had a Deposit you had to pay. It was nice to do it once but not again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for the time you took out of your day to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our Barceló Occidental Menorca hotel. With regards to the optional extras of deposit that you mention in your review like the towels or iron machine, for example, they are all refundable deposit s to use it. We want to be able to offer a wide choice of services to our guests. We established the policy of adjusting our services to meet the basic needs of our guests, whilst offering the possibility to amplify according to personal wishes and preferences. We hope that this explanation clears the doubts you may have had and we remain at your entire disposal for any further enquiries you might have on this or any other matter related to the planning of future holidays. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best Regars Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
by Martin

Great for families, ideal for couples

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, friendly staff, room was great had a superior corner room so plenty of space. Can't fault the hotel but as a couple we booked on the fact it was close to airport and had adult pools. The adult pool area was full of screaming kids every day. No where on the grounds to escape children. So this is a hotel if you don't mind surrounded by children constantly. Location is good with several restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Martin: We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on Expedia. Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló Occidental Menorca did not live up to your expectations due to we are in summer holidays and as we are a family hotel children are wellcome in our hotel at this time of the year. We are happy reading your review that apparently you liked our location and that you found it ideal for those guests who wish to enjoy the beautiful beach close to the hotel and discover the lovely city of Mahon easily reachable in a few minutes by bus from us. On the other hand, we thank you for your kind words towards our entertainment staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Once again, thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Nice hotel in quiet surroundings

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Everyone was so pleasant and helpful and the hotel and surroundings are quiet (except for the early morning pigeons!) and tidy.
Cons: In the room we would have liked some drawers to store clothes etc. a more open barrier across the balcony would improve the view.
Location: Punta Prima is a small resort with 3 supermarkets and a few bars plus a chemists. A few market stalls are on the front most days.
The staff at this hotel are outstanding in that they are always pleasant and helpful. We found the room to be adequate for our needs but the balcony at 3rd floor has a solid barrier obstructing any view when seated. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pools and the outside areas are always clean and tidy. We didn't use many of the facilities but were there if needed e.g. entertainment,spa,gym etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Michael: Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Barceló Occidental Menorca. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the view from your room, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we allocate our rooms in accordance with the room category for which you can find a thorough description in our website. We sincerely apologize for not being able to offer you the possibility to upgrade your room due to high occupancy during your stay and encourage you for future occasions to contact our call center to help you choose and book the accommodation type that best meets all your holiday requirements. Regarding the drawers to store, we are sorry if there was a problem with the capacity of storage; Please be assure that we would do our best to improve this area in the future. On the other hand, we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards Guest Experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Ebookers
Perfect location great resort hotel lovely staff helpful easy to get to other places on the island
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Guest Experience , Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for making our Barceló Occidental Menorca your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community of Expedia, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Menorca. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Guest Experience team
5 out of 5
by John

Great hotel in a superb location.

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Superb hotel which was run efficiently and the cleanliness was spotless. Food was of a high standard and a great choice of everything. Rooms were adequate in size and very modern. Great little resort a 2 minute stroll away with several restaurants and shops. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want a break away from the high rise resorts and big bustling towns and cities.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. John: First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Menorca hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our maids to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for Barceló. Moreover, It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Finally, we also would like to thank you for pointing out that you would recommend us to your family and friends we would do our best to make them feel as home, as we always strive to ensure the best experience for our guests. Best regards Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Great Hotel everything you need close by

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Good shower. Comfortable beds & very clean
Cons: Tea / coffee in the rooms would be good
Location: Plenty to do ... Caught the bus across the road from Hotel into Mahon.. Little Tourist train was good fun too ....
Had a lovely short relaxing break with my Sister.. Short walk to the beach & restaurants. Breakfast at the Hotel was excellent plenty to choose from,food was fresh, Pancakes especially good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal hotel and locatoon for families

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Hotel suitable for all generations of families great location good bus service to mahon for bus connections to other island locations including the airport
5 out of 5
by Mitchell

Fabulous family hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was a fabulous find. Yes, the room was quite small and the walls are paper thin, but this was of little consequence. Travelling with my 8 year old, this hotel exceeded our expectations. Beautifully laid out in blocks, you do not feel that the hotel is as large as it actually is. Maintenance of grounds was excellent and plenty of loungers at pool areas. Food was excellent and always hot, not sure what some other reviews are on about. Evening entertainment needs to improve but I really cannot fault the work of the entertainment team. We have had an amazing time and by the number of repeat guests we met, many others have similar experiences. Lovely mix of Eurpoean nations particularly Italian and no Russians!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family-oriented entertainment

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
We just needed an affordable place to stay while exploring Menorca's beaches and for the Barcelo met that need. It's primarily geared towards family vacation, not for an "older" couple like us showing up without children. They offered virtually round-the-clock entertainment, with music playing until around 11ish every night. We didn't mind, but it may not be everyone's cup of tea. Our biggest gripe was the food, but we're very spoiled, so I didn't include that in my rating. Overall a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Although we sincerely regret that your stay in our Barceló Pueblo Menorca hotel fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback on your overall holiday experience among us; we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your culinary wishes during your stay; at Barceló, we are fully aware that meals are an important aspect of our guests’ overall experience in our hotels this is why our talented team of Executive Chefs prepares wide variety of from ingredients of prime quality and following a two weeks menu rotation so as to cater for all diet requirements and please all palates, we sincerely regret reading that we were not able to conquer yours. Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products, so we do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with Barceló in the near future. Kind Regards, Patricia Giles Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Superb!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Nice modern decor, high standard of professional yet friendly service, and a great entertainment team for kids and adults alike.
Location: The hotel is just a short walk (5 minutes) from Punta Prima beach and resort, where there are a few restaurants and shops.
We stayed on a HB basis in a large family room: essentially two rooms, each with en-suite, flat screen tv and a balcony. We were on the first floor, building 7, with nice view to the swimming pools but not too close that it was noisy. The room decor and furniture was modern and clean, the showers were excellent and the ac system worked very effectively. The beds were made daily and towels were changed daily as well. The swimming pools were nice and clean, as were all of the hotel grounds. We spent most of our time at the kids swimming pool, which was busy at certain times of the day but rather quiet at others. We almost always managed to find sun beds and a parasol on arrival or shortly after. The dining room was nicely decorated and air conditioned, though we often sat outside, under the canopies, and in the evening there was often a lovely breeze coming from the sea. There was a decent choice of food at both breakfast and dinner; we do not eat meat but there was a good selection of vegetarian food and fish at dinner time, including a good selection of salads and fresh fruit. The food wasn't outstanding but it was fresh, kept warm where necessary and mostly tasty. The choice and standard of deserts was high for a 4* hotel. The entertainment team was great, including some truly outstanding evening shows. This hotel exceeded our expectations - with beautiful grounds, great facilities and flawless service we had outstanding value for money and a truly wonderful family holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear family, First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing such a nice review of our Barceló Pueblo Menorca Hotel. We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is great that you enjoyed our pool facilities, the food and our fantastic location. We are also pleased you found our staff very friendly. Our Family People will be very happy to know about your review. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family next year! Best regards Patricia Giles Guest Experience Manager