Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Overall a clean, comfortable stay.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: It was clean and fairly conveniently located with respect to Amsterdam Centraal. We also loved the scenery!
Cons: A fridge in the room would have been nice, and maybe a hot tub or pool somewhere would have been nice. The walls of the room are fairly bare as well.
We stayed at the Hampshire Golf Hotel for 3 nights (September 2017) while visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is very plain, and there is no fridge in the room. Having said that, the hotel staff were very friendly and you can get buckets of ice from the restaurant. We did not dine at the restaurant but it looked very nice! The hotel was quiet and had a nice view from the room. A simple stay, but overall clean and comfortable. The 307 bus runs every 10 minutes during peak times to Amsterdam Centraal, which was very convenient! The bus is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it takes 30 minutes to get to downtown Amsterdam. The area around the hotel is very scenic and nice for a morning walk or run as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a short break

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The hotel was a good distance from the city centre of Amsterdam. A 30 min bus ride for us was a nice was to start our day and see the local area. However it is €10 per person per pay, so this is something to consider. The hotel is in a lovely quiet area with all facailties you need. I would say that the hotel room was not what was advertised on their website. I am presuming that they are updating the rooms and ours was not updated. It is a long walk to you room so I asked for a closer room on check in. The rooms are a great size but do lack basics of tea and coffe making facilities. Overall the hotel was perfect for what we needed, a base for our few days away in Amsterdam.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Outdated and expensive

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This has to be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Outdated Expensive No tea facilities in room No iron available Hair dryer not working Safe not working No information in room on wifi No telephone in room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Hayco, Hotel Management
Dear Reiziger, Thank you for your review. How dissapointing to read you did not enjoy your stay. The tea and coffee facilities are available for pick up at the reception as is the iron and/or ironing board. You are absolutely right the safe is not working right now. We are working hard on fixing that issue. We've decided that during this time we won't advertise it as a feature of the room on any booking channel. We apologize for the insuficient information provided to you during your stay and we will certainly try and improve on this. Kind regards, Hampshire Golfhotel Waterland
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TRANENT

Peaceful countryside

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Was only really there for 1 night and during the day was out sightseeing . We didn't really use facilities or restaurants . Room was clean and good size . Good view over gold course .very clean countryside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view of golf course and quiet community

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Quiet, beauty, huge rooms, good restaurant, excellent parking, wifi
Cons: nothing
Location: we took public transportation into the city We did a hop on hop off tour. Saw the flower market. Heineken Experience. Diamond factory, Ice bar.
We stayed in this hotel in the suburbs of Amsterdam so we would be outside the traffic of the city. It was exceptional for quiet and beauty. We were able to easily get into town using the public transportation system. The restaurant had really nice food and the room was huge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Great Hotel for Relax

Posted May 10, 2017
The hotel quite far from town but the room is big & comfortable & my 18 months old son loving it since he like spacious place to walk around. I don't usually eat in the hotel restaurant but the Magnolia’s restaurant in the hotel serve one of the best food which ended up I had my dinner in this restaurant twice during the course of my 4 night stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Hayco, Hotel Management
Dear Kong JF, Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the calming area with fresh air.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Big windows that can be opened with calming view of green grass, birds and golf players Big rooms compared to what is available in Amsterdam.
Cons: Cups and kettle are better to be in the room. Soap should be available. Some lights were not working. Discoverable email! No answer from feedback form
Location: The hotel is on the periphery of Purmerend, 40 minutes by bus from Amsterdam Centraal.
Overall we were very happy to enjoy the view of the nature outside through big windows. In the morning we watched birds walking on the green grass and it was calming and relaxing in contrast to our day walks in Amsterdam. We heard no noise from neighbours, only when somebody was talking and passing by our door. We rented a pair of bicycles and rode to Valendam, which is not so far. I wrote about minuses in "what could be improved" section, but for us they are negligible compared to the relaxing atmosphere. Also be aware that the distance from reception to your room can be quite long. I think we walked for 5 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017 on Wotif
Nice hotel. Easy parking. Restaurant has limited food options, however what they do have is nice. Rooms could be updated but they are very roomy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very average hotel, no atmosphere whatsoever.

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel lacked any ambience. The restaurant served bland food. The front desk staff, large chap with glasses in particular, were apathetic and unhelpful. I was not made to feel welcome at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Nice hotel out of the way

Posted Apr 14, 2017
From start to finish the whole experience was excellent, friendly helpful staff, spacious rooms with lower rooms having a small patio area through patio doors with views onto the golf course. Very good restaurant and bar also with good views over the course and reasonably priced too Regular buses into Amsterdam only 5mins walk away with lots of different birds (feathered ones)to spot on the way
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Hayco , Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for your review. It's great to read you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome your back soon. Kind regards,