Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice little motel on the road in VT

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I had driven past this motel in the past and had wondered if it would be any good. This time we were driving in this area, and decided to take a shot and stay at this motel. The room was very nice, recently renovated. The breakfast is nothing to call home about, roughly what you'd expected in a motel of this quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel is much nicer than it appears

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: nicely appointed room, friendly staff
Cons: New bathroom door, instructions on heat/ac.
Much more than the motel appears at the outset. Surprisingly pleasant stay. Heat/ac is a little temperamental, and there are no directions on how to work it, but we figured it our for the most part. Bathroom door will not close all the way, which isn't too bad when you're with your immediate family, but could be a problem if you are staying with a group!! Staff responded when I mentioned the issue that all the BR doors were scheduled to be replaced soon. Other wise, quite nicely appointed. New carpet, bedding, mini-fridge, micro, and bathroom fixtures.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Along Patel Way

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly owners. Cleanliness. Comfortable beds. Quiet.
Cons: Cable TV system is minimal and unnecessarily clumsy to navigate.
Location: Putney- an old VT village with artists and crafts-people sprinkled all over the area. Several good eateries ranging from high-end to classic diner.
Good for visiting the area. Not too expensive. Cable TV system is not very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bosotn

Good location in a pleasant town.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: They are renovating a large old building on the property which I'm sure will be a great place to stay.
Location: We made a visit to the general Store and the thrift shop. Many thrift shops and coffee shops in the area.
The inn is comfortable and convenient for a visit to Brattelboro. Putney is also a pleasant town. The breakfast is not great but it is free. I would have liked to see more healthy options. The rooms are comfortable and clean with coffee-makers, iron, and blow-dryer in the room. The owners of the inn are pleasant and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Don't let the exterior appearance fool you!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: I travel in Vermont weekly, and this was my first time at the Putney Inn. When I first drove in, I had serious concerns because the entrance faces the rear of the rooms, and the landscaping is pretty dull. However, before checking in I asked a housekeeper to show me a room, and it was actually very nice inside! Not luxurious, but spotless, brand new furniture, fridge, flat screen and fast WiFi. I would definitely stay here again, as all I need for work travel is a comfortable, clean room in a fairly quiet location.
Cons: Breakfast was cleaned up when I came back from my bike ride(9AM)
Location: Putney is a nice town, and close to Brattleboro, which has additional dining options, etc. If you want to stay in town, check out McClements Pub
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

More than it appears

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Rooms were excellent and good staff. Owner went out of his way to contact us to assure our stay.
Cons: Breakfast area could be better set up and Danish was hard but eggs were good
Location: Visit the Putney Coop
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Super convenient and completely new and remodeled!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: clean and comfortable
Cons: curb side appeal
Location: right off freeway, other main roads, and stores
As reviewed by previous posts... this place seems weird at first because there is an unoccupied restaurant with overgrown shrubbery next to it (which the owner is working on finding the right person to lease to) and the front entrance to all the rooms is BEHIND the building. When you pull up you are looking at the back of the building... and the doors to the rooms are around the back. BUT don't let that deter you. Rooms are completely remodeled and SUPER clean and comfortable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Renovations In Progress

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location, quiet, room and bath amenities, parking convenient, price. Good location near Putney, lots of area things to see.
Cons: Room had a repetitive vibration coming from new AC outside of window from floor above. Asked for different room, which was done. Breakfast marginal: bacon very good, sausages so-so, powdered scrambled eggs bad, no yogurt, mediocre pastries. Food warmer not hot enough. Juice machine broken. Coffee good. People vacationing in a nice town in VT want better food than this. Gentleman behind the front desk was polite but not what Id call warm, welcoming, or very friendly. Main Inn bldg is being renovated. I'd go back after that's completed.
Location: Lots
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice updated clean room. Very easy check in/out

Posted Oct 10, 2016
It seems dicey when you first pull in but the office manager was very nice and helpful, efficient. The entrance to the actual rooms are (quick) a drive around to the back of the hotel which is rather unpleasant looking. All in all though I would come stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely redone. Close to 91.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Recently redone. Nice furniture and fixtures. Restaurant not open during our stay.