Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Ignore the bleak parking lot, the rooms are great

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cons: Work on the landscaping
From the road this place looks like it belongs in a ghost town movie set -- a bleak facade, with tree stumps in the empty parking lot. But the rooms are lovely and comfortable. A motel has an outside and an inside; you come for the inside. And the gentleman at the desk was pleasant to deal with. The location is actually kind of pleasant -- isolated and green, just above the Connecticut River. There is an odd little terrace that I sat at for a bit. My room had a whiff of cigarette breath when I ran the (somewhat antiquated) AC. And I paid more than I think I should have for the experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 24, 2016
This is a great place to stay, especially if you are visiting Landmark College. The rooms have been updated/remodeled very nicely. The outside Reno and that of the restaurant continues, which holds it back from 3 star. Nice breakfast selections and overall reasonably priced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westerly, RI

Not worth a penny

Posted May 24, 2016
Place was a ghost town and in terrible condition. Full of weeds, needs an outside update to look presentable. I felt dirty just being in the parking lot so I can see why no one was there. Two people in town (at general store) told me it had been closed down so I don't understand why I could book through Expedia.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Texas

good overnight stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Inside the rooms are newly upgraded with new furniture and were very comfortable. The parking lot is rough and the restaurant is closed so that may send the wrong 1st impression. We just needed a clean comfortable overnight stay and this was a great price for a good room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Don't judge a book by it's cover

Posted Apr 12, 2016
This place is a hidden gem. Ran around the room for five minutes completely in awe. Just couldn't get over how nice it is, wish I could of stayed longer than a night. Newly Renovated, modern, and super clean. Room is massive...like you could easily stay there long term and feel like you're in a nice studio apartment. Large fridge and a microwave in room, full ironing board and iron, coffee in room, breakfast table, hair dryer...owners (super nice and friendly) seriously thought of and provided everything. Even the towels were folded in a decorative manner...which isn't necessary but who doesn't love a towel folded up all pretty? And the shampoo and conditioner are paraben-free. Huge greenspace about the size of a football field in front of the units, great space for kids to run around. The restaurant is still closed but looks like they are renovating that as well. My only recommendation is for the owners to get different showerheads or remove the restrictor...water pressure is very weak and will take forever for anyone with long hair to rinse out. Plenty of hot water though!
5 out of 5
by Gayrat from Boston

#1 Choice

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
If you happen to be in this area, make sure to check out this hotel. A+++++
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted Apr 7, 2016
New indoor renovations made this stay ok, no restaurant on premises and most local places closed during our stay
5 out of 5
by Michael from Massachusetts

Premium motel at a discount price

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Just an overnighter to continue our sightseeing in the area. Chose this hotel mainly on price and location but was impressed at how nice the place was. This place has been recently renovated and they didn't skimp on quality. Nice tile foyer and bathroom along with a beautifully tiled tub. 42" name brand flat screen TV. Lot's of room and even the bedding materials were top notch. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by Randy from Virginia

Sugaring in Vermont rejuvenating at The Putney Inn

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
I was in Vermont for the sugaring season and to see friends and family. The used the room for rest and freshening up. I was out most of the time. From this location I was able to expand my trip from Greenfield MA to Canaan NH to Bennington Vt to Keene NH with less than an hour of travel time using the motel as my hub. I found lots of Maple treats and great people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Just a mile from Landmark college that we were touring so it was convenient