Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel - Easy Subway access!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was comfortable and had everything we needed in the neighborhood. Really appreciated the amount of English spoken by the staff!!
Location: The location is away from downtown. In the evenings we walked out to watch the couples dancing and singing on the sidewalks.
This hotel is not in the middle of downtown but it has everything we needed. The rooms were comfortable. The hotel offered the services we needed. There is a full shopping mall under the hotel on the way to the Subway. The subway access was easy and we could get in to downtown easily. In the evening we took the subway in to downtown and grabbed a taxi back. The hotel did a great job helping us with getting transportation. We speak essentially no Chinese. Our son was with us and he speaks some Chinese, but in the hotel, we could get by without our son because most people spoke some English or there was someone nearby that could help with any translating that was needed. Around the hotel is a nice neighborhood. Lots of restaurants to chose from as well as convenience stores for all of the little things we needed to pick up. We really enjoyed our stay! Nice place. Great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Julia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a full score and for taking the time to share you feedback with us. The team and me are thrill that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service. I will share your feedback with all of our associates. Meanwhile, we also look forward to having another opportunity to make your stay even more memorable. We wish you safe travels and stay well.We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very nice hotel with mall & metro in same complex

Posted May 30, 2017
Hotel has upscale look and really good gym and locker room. Pool is small,nothing special. Spa looked nice but ridiculously over-priced considering the options for inexpensive spa treatments nearby. Location-wise, not much nearby from tourism perspective, but having metro stop under the hotel made that moot. Having a mall and grocery store under the hotel was even better! I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Wendy Wen, Hotel Management
Dear , Thank you for giving us a full score and for taking the time to share you feedback with us. The team and me are thrill that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service. I will share your feedback with all of our associates. Meanwhile, we also look forward to having another opportunity to make your stay even more memorable. We wish you safe travels and stay well.We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017
尊敬的客人,您好: 感谢您选择上海明捷万丽酒店并抽出宝贵的时间与我们分享您愉快的入住体验。 我们很高兴地得知您对酒店设施,服务以及早餐感到满意。 我们十分期待您的下次入住。 上海明捷万丽酒店
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
It was an utter pleasure to stay here. The room was immaculate and grand in every way. The service was unbelievably professional and assiduous. The breakfast, pool, sauna and gym were all of considerably high quality. I cannot recommend it enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay experience with us. I am very happy to hear your nice comments on our hotel by all accounts. Your feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon! Sincerely, Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value 5 star hotel in the heart of Shanghai

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
It's good value for money overall. The only downside is the pre-set room temperature making it very uncomfortable to sleep through the night. We raised it with the hotel staff and were told it's set at 17-24 degree Celsius, but it was too warm when covered with blanket or too cold without.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay experience with us. Thank you for staying at Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel and sharing your review. Your feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon! Sincerely, Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
It's a good hotel if you want to rest. No recreation or nightlife surrounding. Breakfast option was great. Consierge service was not great. Not enough door man to help with luggage which you expect in a 4-5 star hotel. Nearby Starbucks, 24/7 Family mart & a Burger King might be handy in China. Club lounge is good and open till midnight. But food service & drinks stop around 8pm. For business traveler the rate of hotel is fair. But if you want walking distance night life for various restaurants & bars....might not be the right choice. I would grade this a 3.5/4 star hotel.....definitely not a 5 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Expedia. We always stand ready to offer our customers the highest levels of service. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Best Regards, Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
The room is nice and clean. The area is a little quiet given that it is near a residential. It has a mall beside the hotel but nothing much except some restaurant and a super market. Below the mall is an access to subway which is convenient because it is hard to get a cab on weekends. The place is 20+ minutes from every significant attraction in Shanghai which includes Yuyuan, Tian Zi Fang, Shanghai Pearl Tower, Xin Tian Di etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We’ll do our best always for our guests. Thank you once again for your valuable review and we will be looking forward to see your again soon. Best Regards, Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for Putuo

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Massage not worth for the price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent for metro connection