Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Michael from Buckinghamshire

Good location for a short stay

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable stay, ideal for a one-night journey-break. The room was 'compact' and we might have wanted more space for a longer stay, though the relatively lower cost than e.g. a city hotel perhaps reflects this. Otherwise, staff very courteous and helpful, food good both for evening dinner and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay, especially after long business day

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel appears to provide nice amenities, although I did not used the pool nor exercise room, as the schedule was tight. But the offer at the restaurant was great, both at breakfast and dinner (need to reserve for dinner, so they can balance the load). I was surprised at how crowded was the - large - restaurant room. Obviously the locals enjoy the place (always a good sign when it comes to pick a place in an unfamiliar area).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in lovely village

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in lovely village
5 out of 5
by SL from Midlands

Stunning food, no aircon in room

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel has been and still is being substantially renovated with a new indoor, very small, pool being constructed on the ground floor within a "wellness" type setting to go along with treatments. This is not yet finished. The room we had was sufficient for our needs but did not have any air conditioning. Don't be put off though, the window opened and there was very little traffic noise. We had dinner in the restaurant and were, quite frankly, stunned at the quality of the food. Well worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gail from Tolland, CT

Comfortable stop on a trip through Auvergne

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel with a great garden/pool area. Good base for visiting the famous church in town and for strolling along the streets. Public rooms are charming, and although we did not dine there because we prefer outdoor dining when the weather is great, the restaurant was pretty and the menu looked good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by marmadukehussey from UK

Overall, okay; good facilities for the money backed by the consistency of Mecure chain

Posted Aug 29, 2010
Booked here on our way back from the south of France and just needed a place, with a pool, to stay overnight with our young family. Hotel, much like this small town, is all a bit 'faded glamour'. The Mecure looks to have taken over this hotel, so it's half Mecure branded, and half 1980s decor in the public areas. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. No minibar or room service though, except breakfast. All pre-booking requests were honoured (interconnecting rooms, travel cot), which was good. Lots to do at the hotel; nice gardens and outdoor pool. Also a sauna and indoor splash pool. We ate at the restaurant, but other options in St Nectaire were easily available. Next time we'd give the hotel restaurant a miss. Off-hand service and cooking, along with the flies, didn't make for a great atmosphere. Overall, fine for a place to stay; good facilities for the money backed by the consistency of the Accor/Mecure chain. Also well placed in the centre of the main street to make use of other eating options.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevers

Good hotel, bad experience

Posted Dec 9, 2009 on Hotels
Really nice and clean hotel, except we spent the night listening to the neighbor snoring or speaking. It was really anoying, and we couldn't change room since they arrived at 11pm. The hotel was clean, the but you can hear anybody......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moyen moyen

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Un service très moyen-des chambres à rénover
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel de charme

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
hôtel situé au coeur du village. Hôtel très propre et agréable