Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Javed Khan from city centre

great stay

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
it was awesome stay great location English speaking receptionist overall it was great stay
5 out of 5
by Qipeng

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great stay in a cool hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Decoration, cleanliness, service
Cons: The hotel staff could check if all amenities are provided on a more regular basis, while cleaning the room before guests' arrive and during their stay
Location: Lots of food and delicious seafood places nearby!
We read a mixed set of reviews expecting it to be beautiful but musty, but instead were treated to a lovely and creatively designed room, very clean furnishings and lovely staff! We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay of three nights here, it's in a safe and good district, and the hotel itself has a very pleasant atmosphere. Sometimes the amenities were not completely well furbished, but we only had to notify the staff and they very quickly and courteously helped us out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Great location and tries hard but needs more work

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Location is great and hotel has lots of character. Service at the front desk is nice and helpful. But their cleaning staff needs more training - details in room not cleaned well and they tried to say I used one of their lotions which I definitely did not. If you get room on the first floor, ask for a dehumidifier which helps a lot. Overall, for price and location and character I would still recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An inexpensive place to stay in Qingdao

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is interesting, but the room was small and the air conditioning did not cool the room. The bed had only a comforter and no sheet. Checking in was a bit difficult, since there were no English speaking staff, and minor/irrelevant issues seemed to be exaggerated. In the end, everything worked out OK, but it seemed more difficult than most other hotels that we used.
5 out of 5
by Gary from Saugerties, NY

One of a kind hotel.

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very unusual hotel. Almost every room is different, and the hotel is decorated and furnished in traditional Chinese style. It has a much more intimate, friendly feel than the major hotels. The service is excellent, and there is usually someone that speaks English. They have a breakfast that is about the best I ever saw in China. There is a great variety of Chinese and western breakfast food. The location is good, with many restaurants in the area. It is about a 1 km walk to the ocean near the Qingdao Sailing Center, site of the 2008 Olympic sailing events. It is easy to get a taxi by walking out to Minjiang Road. Don't be confused by the hotel address which is Minjiang 3 Road. I have stayed in this hotel six times on trips to Qingdao, and I am very satisfied.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas from Nyc

Good stay in Qingdao

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely nice staff. Most didn't know English well but a few did and went out of their way to help me. The room and hotel looks awesome and location is pretty good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Lovely place and lovely staff

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Although the exterior is a little plain, the hotel is lovely inside, with many beautiful art objects. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Someone is always around who speaks adequate English. The hotel is within walking distance of the bus line and Western restaurants. The breakfast is very Asian, so not everybody will want to buy it. The only caution I have is that my room was VERY small, with no view at all (more hotel rooms faced my window). It was fine for me, a single traveler, but even a couple, I think, would need more space. I would definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Chemi

The building looks ok, but the room isn't comfortable

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on CheapTickets
Room is small. Bathroom is small and inconvient, the water from shower is small. No air conditioner works.
5 out of 5
by academic gardener from Seoul

Chinese style

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent. Most of Chinese hotels which face streets are very noisy. This hotel is located in the complex. One complaint is that a front pond smell fish.