Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by mobin

Decent hotel at a good price

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel with a great view. The staff was great and the food was decent. The rooms were spacious and cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel close to the Marina

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Club room very ncie. Good view, good service, good food and wines.
Cons: Room showers can be improved. Water pressure low. Water temperature not hot enough.
Location: Marina a short walk. shopping center nearby.
It was as good experience staying at the hotel. The lobby design unique. The breakfast very good.
5 out of 5
by abdullah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good service

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in need of a face lift in lot of ways, but the service is always friendly. Also their swimming pool is much nicer than the Shangri-La. The only real complaints we had were 1) breakfast in the lounge is definitely not up to five star quality, and 2) the heat in the room is too much. We had it turned down to 16C and finally just switched it off because we couldn't sleep. The hotel is near the water so you do get a nice view from the lounge and take a pleasant stroll along the waterfront if the weather is nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ozhan from San Diego

Nothing Short of Excellent

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in Intercontinental Qingdao for 3 nights during a business trip and it was awesome. From the food options to room comfort there was nothing negative about this place. Staff is very friendly and helpful, lobby bar is entertaining with tasteful live music and the on premise spa/massage is a great way to relax after a long day of meetings. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect hotel in Qingdao close to the Marina

Posted Mar 22, 2016
This hotel was a step up for us, beautifully decorated and the room was clean, with lots of little extras. Hot showers, lovely bath. The dinning was amazing with plenty of choice for both traditional and western tastes. Laundry service was very good and quick, but expensive. would most definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ Mdm, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at InterContinental Qingdao for your recent visit to Qingdao. We are indeed delighted to learn that you are pleased with our hotel in general but in particularly your dining experience and laundry service. We will definitely share your compliments to the Food and Beverage team and Housekeeping team. We are confident that your positive feedback will encourage all of us to excel further. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to InterContinental Qingdao to live an InterContinental life, where new stories can be written. Regards Jimmy Teo Director of Sales and Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, UK

Good quality hotel near to marina

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Its location and general level of service and politeness of staff
Cons: Restaurant service in Flavours by the waitress staff
Location: Good sea walks along the promenade
Good quality hotel near to marina which was hosting the Round the World yacht race. Staff were very attentive and helpful, particularly the reception and foyer staff who were especially helpful with the language challenges and local advice and guidance. The room staff were also very polite, efficient and courteous. The only area I considered a weakness was the service in the main restaurant called Flavours. There were adequate staffing levels, but I felt there needed to be a little more supervision and direction. Accepting the language challenges, some of the staff in the restaurant did not appear to be adequately versed in the running of the restaurant, leaving guests and customers frustrated with the service. Incorrect orders, mis-understandings as to requirements of the patrons and a general lack of purpose of some of the staff who just walked around and appeared not to achieve much. All staff were very courteous and well presented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to pen down your thoughts. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with InterContinental Qingdao during your recent visit to Qingdao. We have noted your positive feedback on the general service and the politeness of our team members. Our location is indeed unique to many guests who stayed with us, with the ease to go for sailing, picnic by the marina or simply a nice stroll long the promenade by the ocean. We have noted your feedback on the service shortfall in Flavours restaurant which is totally unacceptable. We have since addressed these issues to the relevant department concerned to strengthen the training and supervision. To little console to us that our team members were courteous and well-presented. We do sincerely apologise for the service shortfall. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to InterContinental Qingdao, where new stories can be written. Regards Jimmy Teo Director of Sales and Marketing
4 out of 5
by Robert from Santa Clara

Good value. A solid 4 stars.

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good value. A solid 4 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at InterContinental Qingdao for your recent visit to Qingdao. We are indeed delighted to learn that you have a solid stay with our hotel. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to InterContinental Qingdao, the leading five star hotel in Qingdao. Regards Jimmy Teo Director of Sales and Marketing