Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect hotel in Qingdao close to the Marina

Posted Mar 22, 2016
This hotel was a step up for us, beautifully decorated and the room was clean, with lots of little extras. Hot showers, lovely bath. The dinning was amazing with plenty of choice for both traditional and western tastes. Laundry service was very good and quick, but expensive. would most definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2016 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ Mdm, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at InterContinental Qingdao for your recent visit to Qingdao. We are indeed delighted to learn that you are pleased with our hotel in general but in particularly your dining experience and laundry service. We will definitely share your compliments to the Food and Beverage team and Housekeeping team. We are confident that your positive feedback will encourage all of us to excel further. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to InterContinental Qingdao to live an InterContinental life, where new stories can be written. Regards Jimmy Teo Director of Sales and Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, UK

Good quality hotel near to marina

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Its location and general level of service and politeness of staff
Cons: Restaurant service in Flavours by the waitress staff
Location: Good sea walks along the promenade
Good quality hotel near to marina which was hosting the Round the World yacht race. Staff were very attentive and helpful, particularly the reception and foyer staff who were especially helpful with the language challenges and local advice and guidance. The room staff were also very polite, efficient and courteous. The only area I considered a weakness was the service in the main restaurant called Flavours. There were adequate staffing levels, but I felt there needed to be a little more supervision and direction. Accepting the language challenges, some of the staff in the restaurant did not appear to be adequately versed in the running of the restaurant, leaving guests and customers frustrated with the service. Incorrect orders, mis-understandings as to requirements of the patrons and a general lack of purpose of some of the staff who just walked around and appeared not to achieve much. All staff were very courteous and well presented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2016 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to pen down your thoughts. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with InterContinental Qingdao during your recent visit to Qingdao. We have noted your positive feedback on the general service and the politeness of our team members. Our location is indeed unique to many guests who stayed with us, with the ease to go for sailing, picnic by the marina or simply a nice stroll long the promenade by the ocean. We have noted your feedback on the service shortfall in Flavours restaurant which is totally unacceptable. We have since addressed these issues to the relevant department concerned to strengthen the training and supervision. To little console to us that our team members were courteous and well-presented. We do sincerely apologise for the service shortfall. On behalf of all of us, we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to InterContinental Qingdao, where new stories can be written. Regards Jimmy Teo Director of Sales and Marketing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Very good hotel with facilities provided at the maximum
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Fantastic hotel. I highly recommend the Intercontinental in Qingdao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Nice near the yacht Club of Qingdao

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Hi end Hotel
Big Room with nice acomodations,.very good breakfast with asian and western products.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawn from Auckland

It's a nice enough hotel.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was really nice and the reception staff were great.
Cons: The rooms are ageing and the decor in reception could use some thinking around the theme and image being projected.
Location: There is a marina and mall very close to the hotel.
The InterContinental was nice enough. The reception staff were very friendly and competent. The hotel its self feels huge to the point where it feels like the hotel management struggle to decorate the reception area with a consistent style and image. The rooms are ageing a bit and could use an overhaul in the next couple of years. The breakfast was really good with a very wide variety of food available. Dinner at Wildfire - a restaurant in the hotel - was a little expensive but the excellent quality of the food made it worth the money. The minibar and internet was not complimentary initially but he reception staff did waive the charges for both at checkout which was appreciated. Overall I'm quite happy with my stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Markham Ontario

Treated Like a KIng

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: I have stayed before and think this is one of the nicest hotels in Qingdoa
Cons: No but might watch the Shangralia as they have larger number of rooms and approached me about staying there next time because they had better deals
Check-in 13 lovely ladies took me to my room and signed me in. The staff got luggage up and from that point on everybody in the hotel addressed me by name. Anything I need was provided very quickly. The food was great in the hotel. They also arrived train tickets and other things like limos and cabs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walter from Atlanta

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2013
I stayed here for 6 nights on business in Qingdao. Every aspect from the room to the staff to the food was top quality. I will stay here every time I am in Qingdao, no questions asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Very, very good Qingdao InterContinental

Posted Oct 11, 2010
The staff are very helpful, the architecture and decoration are top class, the location is great (slightly outside the hustle and bustle of true downtown, but within walking distance). Rooms are great, but try to get in Tower A with a corner room. Try hiring the bikes, as the hotel is on the costal path that will get you to most of the most interesting parts of Qingdao.