Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from chicago

Close to family museum and 10 minutes to john deer

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Staff was all super including lady in charge of breakfast area switching TV channel to kid cartoon while they ate. Liked having microwave and fridge .
Cons: Pool area needed updating and a clock. Pool could of been cleaner
Location: Family museum less than mile and john Deere pavilion 10 mi
Staff was very helpful with directions and also rebooting a tablet to get a signal. Knew places to eat .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Jerry W., Hotel Management
thank you for your review. I am happy Paulette was able to make your breakfast special. Sometimes it is the smallest things that we do that make a world of a difference. I will pass on your Thank You to her. Our Pool Area is being renovated in the next few weeks. We are looking into a clock for there also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Good for business meeting site. Good location. Favorable rates. Good rooms. Close to interstate. Restaurant nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Jerry W., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. I am happy my staff were able to accommodate your needs. We are looking forward to welcoming you again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bettendorf, ia

Hotel full of mold.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Manager ruined my son's birthday party and didn't care one bit. He kicked us out for no reason and refused to refund our room. I now have to take him to small claims to be reimbursed for my room. He is a sorry excuse for a man. Pool was disgusting, nothing worked, paint was chipping off the walls. There were 4 other people that complained​about the conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Rica P. District Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that it took so long to get back to you but we had to look into the matters a little more. What we have found out was you arrived at the hotel with the intention to have a pool party. Unfortunately, we can't allow those in our pool area due to liability issues and also for the traffic it causes in the hotel. As you have probably have noticed, none of the area Hotels allow those. You were informed of this, prior to check-in by both the MOD and the sign clearly posted at the front desk. You were offered a conference room (free of charge) and asked to keep your party contained to that area. Instead, you had approximately 5-10 kids change into swim gear in your room and head to the pool area, unsupervised by an adult. This again causes a liability issue. This rule is clearly noted on the door to the pool area. Therefore you were asked to leave. Thank you again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It was a decent hotel for a decent price. Everything was broken that we wanted to use so that was disappointing but we might be back sometime. Once the hot tub & ice machine are back up and running it will be an 5 to me! Great hotel staff, very friendly & I loved the continental breakfast! Yum! Old Chicago was close so we got to go there too!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Jerry W. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are currently working on a remodel for the pool area. It should start sometime end of April/ Beginning of March.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from QC

Used to be a decent hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
New ownership a couple years back has turned this hotel into a sinking ship. Water damage holes in various places, wall in aquatic area falling down, hot tub has had caution tape around it for over a year. Guests do notice these things. Pool was freezing... Like, extremely cold. Booked here to take my children swimming. Swam about 10 excruciating minutes. Breakfast wasn't bad. The lady stocking the food was very nice. They need to put some profit back into maintaining the building. I probably wouldn't stay here again, sadly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Jerry W., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Many of the problems are being worked on. We are starting our first project beginning of April with a complete install of our Hallway carpet. Following that will be the pool area scheduled end of April/beginning of May. The Summer we will be also adding a new touch to our exterior. The pool is heated to 72•F. However with the outside temperature being around and below freezing, it is hard for the HVAC to keep up. This issue is being addressed with the renovation of the pool area. I hope that once all these projects are completed you'll stay with us again and see all the great improvements we have made. Thank you again for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Virginia, IA

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Quiet and our bed was very comforable.
Cons: Wasn't clean around the edges and a few things needed to be fixed, but otherwise it was great.
Location: Mississippi River.
We were travelling for business, & it was a great stay. The staff were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Jerry W., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and letting us know about your room. This helps us get better at what we do. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Close to interstate, shopping and dining options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Jerry W., Hotel Management
thank you for the review. We are are happy we were able to meet your needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Dirty, pool was too cold to use, I hurt my ankle and was unable to do anything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Jerry W. , Hotel Management
We are sorry about your stay here at the Ramada. We were able to get you a refund for your stay here. We hope that maybe in the future you will stay with us again and we are able to accommodate your needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Bad pool issues

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Hot tub was broken and pool was ice cold and there was black mold behind some of the pool wall paper that was totally peeling and falling off the walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Jerry W., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are scheduled for a total pool makeover and are planning on starting it NOV 1st. We are hoping to reopen it March 1st 2018. thank you again for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.
4 out of 5
by Jamie from Bettendorf

good stay

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed the room except for not having a chair to do business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.