Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from LaSalle

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We had stayed there years ago when it was still Jumers Chateau and remembered it to be a very charming place. We found this time that the grounds were not well kept. There were cigarette butts and beer bottle caps all over in the flower beds. As well as broken concrete on the walkways.
2 out of 5
by Laura from Chicago

German castle

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
This is a pretty hotel looks like a Castle. The knob to the bath tub was worn out and it took a while to turn the water on.
4 out of 5
by david

Gives the Overlook a run for it's money....

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
OKay.. this is a hotel you either love or hate. I was not certain that the hotel was even open when I first pulled up, it was just after sunset, there are no cars visible in the front hotel area, parking lot is cracked with short weeds popping up through. I pull up to the front lobby, the lights are on, but I don't see anyone walking around. I enter the lobby and I hear strange ephemeral pan music playing... still don't see anyone.. walk up to the front desk and the clerk comes out from the back room. I get checked in and and as I head through the lobby, I'm pretty sure I know where S. King got the idea for the Overlook hotel. The hotel just had a really interesting "vibe" to it. I may go back to Bettendorf, IA just to stay at this hotel...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inside was amazing

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Had a great time, inside was amazing. It was like taking a trip to Germany without flying, highly recommend it, the architecture was awesome
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very sketchy, it seems like it could be a nice hotel, just filled with very scary people. First floor smelled of smoke and wouldn't recommend stays there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Quaint Bravarian Old World Feel

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Cons: Upkeep of the facilities and grounds. Broken furniture in the hall, landscape overgrown, driveway entry not obvious.
Location: Closed to great restaurants and the highway.
Our family enjoyed the aged facilities. Our three year old loved his stay in what he affectionately called "the castle."
1 out of 5
by John from Wisconsin

Not a good hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel should be rated much lower than a 3.0 rating. The advertisement on line are overstated. We did not stay overnight after seeing the hotel condition. There was no sign by the road for the entrance. The parking lot had significant weed growth, indicating very little use. The lobby and hallways were dark and gloomy, and it smelled musty inside. The website listed a swimming pool, however the reason there are no pictures online is because the pool was literally crumbling apart. My family nicknamed it hotel he!!, because that is the vibe we got from it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Haunted Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Location: Not be in the hotel
This was a super scary hotel. Not just because it is very outdated with a medieval theme, but also because it reeks of smoke from years past, and a little hint of what could be rotting flesh/food. The room was somewhat clean, but everything in it was outdated and defunct. The bed was not supportive, the towels were rough as sandpaper, the furniture was scratched up. The staff was reasonably nice, for interacting with them upon check in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels