Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Erik

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you passed a good stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Conway, AR

St. Catherine Citadines

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We stayed for over a week--the room was never cleaned; the trash was never taken out; and to get clean towels after the rather thin ones were dirty, we had to replace them by carrying the dirty ones downstairs and picking up clean ones. There was no air in the room, and the location was noisy. Try somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Rhonda, Thank you for your feedback and giving us the chance to answer you. We are sorry to learn that the housekeeping service was too poor for you. In our concept, some standard services are included in the room rate (reception open 24h/24h, internet, all the linen and amenities for the accommodation and one full cleaning per week if the stay is for more than 6 nights) and some other additional can be chosen by our guest (as breakfast, parking and daily housekeeping services). Once again we apologize if this concept was not clearly mentioned during your stay with us. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by Mari Anton

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Julie, Hotel Management
Dear Mari, thank you for your kind feedback, we are happy to learn you passed a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again in Brussels. Kind regards Silvia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel with great location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Much better than a normal hotel room. Also has facilities to make your own food which is a plus. Great location as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for your positive comment, we are happy to know that your recent stay was satisfying and that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchen. We hope to welcome you again in one of our serviced residences around the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

The best stay on our trip.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Excellent room, very clean. Staf very nice They speak spanish!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, it was really a pleasure welcoming you in Brussels, we are glad to learn that you have passed a nice stay with us. Your compliments and remarks were shared with the all team of the residence. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvsnia

Close to Grand Place

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. It was clean and spacious. The Grand Place was only minutes away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Silvia, Hotel Management
Dear Deb, thank you for taking the time to write this feedback, it is a pleasure to learn that you passed a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again for your next trip to Brussels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfied but

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and information friendly. I loved the fact that they have a small business area where you can use a desktop and printer for free (in the lobby)! The room was clean and overlooked a nice garden. The apartment is located next to an Express supermarket up the same street which provides very affordable groceries and food given how expensive every thing is in Brussels. There's a park in front of the apartment with plenty of restaurants and shops. Did I mention it is located right next to the St Catherine Cathedral and subway station? Very convenient. Why a lower rating? The odors coming from the bathroom were repulsive. I mean: I know the Europeans have a very inefficient means of handling ventilation in the bathrooms. For someone who is used to a having a window or at least an electrical ventilation system, that little circular vent cover is quite primitive. The bathroom and the main room constantly smelled of mold or smoke. The curtains smelled of smoke residue even though the room was dedicated to nonsmokers. I guess it's not surprising given how bad smoking is in this city. You can't get away from it wherever you step. But the room should be better ventilated because I felt very uncomfortable given all the other reasons to be content.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Julie, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels. We have note your comment on the airing of the accommodation and sent it to the management of the property. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences. Best regards François
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Clean hotel but in the part where we stayed there was a terrible smell of toilet. No aircon in the room but windows open which means if your neighbours smoke (ours did) you will know of it. They serve breakfast. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by François - Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking to time to write your comment. We do not have the a/c on the room that's the reason why we provide fan on the room. All the property is non-smoking but unfortunatelly some guest smoke in they room. Apologies for the inconvenience you have reached during your stay. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The room is good and location amazing , but the room and bathroom not clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by François (front desk), Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for your feedback. We have contact the housekeeping department to inform them about the cleaning of your room. Best regards