Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by richard

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Not a 4 star, needs an overhaul, excellent breakfast, lots of amenities, good value
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Certainly not 'love at first sight !' But !!!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
On arrival we were not impressed, externally dated appearance and not welcoming.... However, internal refurbishment brought it to a good standard. We expressed our view that the hotel was not 4 star accomodation and helpful reception upgraded us to a suite 'free of charge'.... Which made our stay so much better with clean,spacious interior. Many facilities closed as end of season. Pool was huge, also dated, but clean. Sun beds 'free' and comfortable around pool. Staff... 'Charming'.... Nothing was to much. We were able to borrow a travel kettle to make drinks and there was a fridge in the room. Breakfast offered a good selection of 'continental' items. 'Andreas' the waiter was a pleasure to meet. Bubbly,enthusiastic and a great travel guide.... Sharing his love of 'Marie Pintau' beach with us. The most beautiful, tranquil beach I have ever visited. Hotel location means a hire car is a must.... As very few places to go on foot. Local pizzeria.."Bella vista" worth a visit. Cagliari was a lovely city with many beautiful shops and restaurants. The harbour appealed to us and proved a good place to park. Our first visit to Sardinia......and still didn't try any sardines !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Guests Relationship manager, Hotel Management
Dear MJ, thanks for spending your time writing your impressions about our hotel; the recommendations and suggestions of our guests always help us to get better and to improve our job. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Sardinia!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants in my bed!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Nice appearance and location and did have all the amenities I needed
Cons: Perhaps a pest control contract!!!
Location: close to all the local beaches and beach tours
Woke up to ants in the bed and crawling all over me! switched rooms and second room had ants as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

A bit out of town

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: It was not crowded when I was tgere.
Cons: Needs a refurb up the wazoo.
Location: Near Poetta, and some flamingoes, no really. But out of town and local restaurant choices are limited.
If you only want to do the "beach" and/or swim in the pool, then this place is conveniently located. Back and forth to city is a pain however, especially at peak time. The rooms and hotel generally are very 1970's, and I do not mean just as a style choice, I mean it literally. The staff are very helpful and breakfast, included, was adequate continental fare. But youbexpect Jaques Tati to walk aroundca corner at any time. Internet was only available in the lobby, unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good value.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Pool and food.
Cons: This a dated hotel, so it could be improved with a facelift.
Location: A bit out of the way, so you need a car.
This hotel is a large 60/70s style hotel that has excellent facilities. For the money it represents very good value whilst still providing all the expected facilities and excellent food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by NISARG M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a 4 star hotel at all

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
The pictures promise to much. The hotel is not well maintained. It is never a 4 star hotel but more like a 2 star. The apartments are very small, the kitchenette can not be used and the rooms are not well cleaned. They clean the apartments only every 3 days. I can not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by G.Carranza from U.S.

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
Personnel very attentive. Breakfast good, with nice view from the last floor. Location in Quartu Sant Elena is quite far from Cagliari's city center. No restaurants, bars,stores, etc. nearby the hotel. Maintenance condition and cleanliness of bathroom was not acceptable for a 4 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by Mario from Germany

Nice hotel...20 years ago

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel Setar was not expensive and we got exactly what we paid for. I'm sure once upon a time this was a 4 star hotel but age and poor maintenance have over run most its previous shine. Of course the lobby is well maintained but the rooms look like they have not been touched in years. Faded paint, cracked shower stalls, broken furniture and burnt carpeting just to name a few things. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. Breakfast was minimul but good. All in all I cant complain to much because it was not that expensive. However; it could have been a much better experience if management would just give this hotel a little more attention.